We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HGI Redux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“HGI Redux”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

After a reservation glitch soured my first visit to this HGI on 11/5, the property's GM quickly & professionally rectified the matter, making our second stay on 11/15 "glitch-free." Her approach to customer service and friendly staff, the least of which is their vibrant breakfast crew, will have me coming back often on my frequent travels throughout the region. Note to Hilton: You'd do well using their AM restaurant staff as a model for your other properties, whose service frequently resembles a wake vs. awake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    137
    40
    18
    6
See reviews for
130
96
35
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was a stop overnight on the way to Reedville, VA. Typical Hilton Garden Inn. When we got to our room, the toilet was leaking. We notified the front desk and they had someone up within minutes to fix it. They have their own resturant and bar. We did not eat there, but we did have a couple of glasses of wine. Our bartender was very nice and personable.

There are a lot of resturants and stores (Sam's, Walmart, pharmacies) close by. We ate dinner at a Mexican place which was horrible, but it received rave reviews. I can't remember the name of that resturant, but it was less than a mile from the hotel. We ran next door to Panera's for breakfast which was nice and convenient.

We went to the Walmart the next day to pick up a few items. There were tons of seagulls flying overhead, so many that we ran to the car so as to minimize our chances of being christened by a gull. Turns out there is this huge landfill right behind the Walmart. There was no smell that we could detect, but it was a cold, rainy day when we were there.

Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snggglbnnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this newish hotel for 3 nights during a visit to the local Civil War Battlefields, having originally only intended to stay for one night. The location is excellent offering all manner of nearby restaurants and shops and is convenient for both the Richmond and Petersburg areas.
The service was generally very good and friendly and the room clean and comfortable.
We thought is was rather expensive compared to its sister-company, Hampton Inn Suites, which we also used during the trip. However, the availability of the restaurant was a definite benefit, offering good quality and reasonably priced food.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al-k-traz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel itself, as most Hilton Garden Inn's are, was pretty nice overall, but we thought it was a bit overpriced. The hot tub was broken which was a disappointment; especially since the hotel we stayed at the previous night was half the money and all-in-all a much better stay. If it weren't almost twice the cost, I probably would have been happier with it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee032569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Traveling back from South Carolina to NJ, my family and I (me, hubby and 2 year old) decided to stop here and stay the night. We were looking for something that was convenient to I-95, clean, free parking, free internet, microwave and fridge in room and a pool. This place looked perfect and we saw it had good reviews. We quickly learned why! Compared to the place we stayed on the way down to SC, the Hilton Garden Inn was heads above. The lobby was big and nice looking. There was a restaurant and bar (they even do room service until 9pm!) The staff was nice. We stayed on the 5th floor in a King room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. In fact, the whole room felt very comfortable. They even have a special internet connection for HHonors members, so that was a nice perk. We didn't get a chance to go in the pool, but it was very clean looking and small, but nice. Our room was towards the end of the hall and far from the elevator, so it was super quiet. Breakfast in the lobby restaurant was so much better than the free continental breakfast most hotels offer. It was fully worth the $10.95 they charged (kids under 3 were free and 3-12 were like $5). You could order something to be prepared fresh or take advantage of the hot buffet. The wait staff was attentive and our son never went without juice or anything else he needed. The hearty breakfast was just what we all needed to get us on the road again for the trip back to NJ. This place is a great bet if you are looking to stop somewhere overnight with the family.

Room Tip: We stayed closer to the end of the hall (away from the elevators) and never heard a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KNKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for a one night stay (this was our 2nd time, 2 years in a row) and i must say.... once again this year.... a very clean, comfortable , convenient stay. Stayed in room with 2 queen beds. Traditional size hotel room with 2 queen beds and microwave and small refrigerator. Very clean, and comfortable beds . Very convenient off I95. Near to mall with several restaurants and general stores if you are in need of anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJerzeyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very convenient location, clean rooms and good food in the restaurant. Starbucks and Panera right next door for the morning. We would absolutely come again on our trip from Florida to the Northeast. The laundry room was a nice bonus as we had to wash out the baby's car seat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlhesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonial Heights
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - F...
#5 of 8 in Colonial Heights
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
1.8 mi away
The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Address: 800 Southpark Blvd, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Colonial Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Colonial Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark Hotel Colonial Heights
Hilton Colonial Heights
Colonial Heights Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark Colonial Heights, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing