We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly Good for a Denny's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Denny's

Denny's
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.dennys.com/#/location - Also on Yelp: http://www.yelp.com/biz/dennys-colonial-heights This Denny's is located in a 50's diner type building, inside and out! I've never seen a Denny's with this decor :) We loved it and it's just off an exit of I95. Will definitely stop again while traveling! Please put this restaurant on here, people will love it.
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shockingly Good for a Denny's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This Denny's looks a lot more like a classic stainless steel New Jersey Dinner than any cookie cutter chain family restaurants. A traditional older dinner waitress was professional, efficient and earned a great tip. Service was prompted, the home made hash was first rate and I was impressed. When the manager rang me up he checked on how I found things. There was nothing not to like.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

While in the Colonial Heights area we stopped by Denny's for a late morning breakfast. We decided on the $2 meal from the $2-4-6-8 value meal list and we were very pleased. I had the biscuits and gravy and my wife had pancakes, we both got hash browns. We were both impressed with the great taste and fairly large servings. With our AARP card we got our coffee for 99 cents so for $6 we had a very nice breakfast. Establishment was very clean and the service was great. We'll definitely go back again and suggest anyone in the area to give them a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I typically enjoy coming here. The food is always good and the proportions are pretty big. Service is nice and friendly. I don't recommend going late on the weekends because of the large crowds of teenagers, but other than that it's a good spot for families.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank greenehalltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, and 50's Nostalgia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Loved this place! My daughter, who lives in southern VA, said that we (my 82 yr old mother and I) had to stop here when we went down to visit, since it is like an old 50's diner, (plus there is an added attraction of a geocache across the street, lol ;) So, we stopped and we certainly weren't disappointed!
The food was good, service was excellent, everyone was pleasant and, above all, we loved the atmosphere! 50's type diner decor, inside and out! If you get a little nostalgic for the 50's and times gone by, this is a great place to bring it all back to you, as well as grabbing a great burger, fries and shake!
So now, we stop here every time we come down this way, wouldn't miss it :) EASY on/off of I95, both Northbound and Southbound!
I've added a couple of pictures, enjoy :) (sorry, my Mom's in the photos, didn't have any without!)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrammieMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Colonial Heights, VA
Colonial Heights, VA
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing