We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Place Staff lies repeatedly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee
ColonialHeights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value Place Staff lies repeatedly”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

0i moved into the Value Place in Colonial Heights Va. in Feb. with the promise of being to my favorite room 401, that I stayed in for six months during my previous stay. Since then the room came available twice. Both times they rented it to someone else without honoring their agreement with me. I asked about renting another room on the fourth flour, room 433. I was told when it came available I would get that one. When I asked it the guest moved out yet the supervisor Casey told me no. 45 seconds later I went back to the front desk again to ask it 401 was available yet. Markell was at the front desk and said 401 didn't move out but 433 was available. I reallly didn't appriciate being lied to but I was. Casey said I would get 433 as soon as they cleaned it up. That was another lie, they rented to someone else. I was told friday that sunday night when I came back to pay my rent I would be given the keys to 401 so I could move in. Saturday I drove to Martinsville and spent the night at home. So I left my wife in Martinsville and came back early so I could get moved in. I was told by Markell that he rented the room even though he knew I was supposed to get it. He then lied to me and said the guest would be there for only one week. I called the guest in 401 and he said that was not true and that he would be there for a long stay.There have been other troubles too long to get into. Bottom line is that if I could find a hotel in the area with a kitchen for even a little more money I would take it immediately. Stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodSpringHotels, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
We are sorry to hear you experienced a few inconveniences during your stay. We hope you will consider giving WoodSpring Hotels another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
10
5
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colonial Heights, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great place to stay for the price! Great location and wonderful staff! I would recommend this place to any of my friends and if I ever find myself needing something like this again I would go back. The laundry area was clean and every morning when I left they were cleaning the halls and floors. The wireless connection does leave a little to be desired there but other than that it was a great place to stay and I felt very safe being there with my children. I was amazed that the entire staff knew our names.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope that you will consider Value Place if you ever need a place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore of Virginia, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Being a commuter college student this was in great location and definitely affordable! There is access to a variety of food and they are all near by, some even in walking distance. Staff was very friendly and helpful in every way possible. Only sad thing wi-fi never worked for me. The laundry facility was very clean and never crowded.

Room Tip: First floor rooms to the right side of the entrance door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieD895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We take all guests comments very seriously and will investigate why the wi-fi didn't work for you. We are very happy that the rest of your stay went well. We hope that you will consider Value Place again if you ever need a place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After booking online at $319.00 we arrived after an 11 hour drive. The attendant said all Value "hotels"Are independantly owned and said the price so would be $450!!!!!!! Outraged they agreed to lower the price to $327.00. So we get in the room, there are no blankets, No pillow cases, No towels and no shower curtain! !!!!! The room is a pit!! So we demand a refund and after as brief exchange they agree to refund the money.. in 3-5 business days! !!! Grrrrrrr IT'S A FLOP HOUSE, NOT A HOTEL AVOID AT ALL COST!!! P.S.They also said they were going to run me and my wife's name to make sure we were not sex offenders! !!!!!!!
Avoid! !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc19682k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodSpringHotels, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
We apologize you had a bad experience during your stay, but glad to hear we were able to accommodate you and your wife to some degree. We wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colonial Heights hotels

Colonial Heights
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The staff is both friendly and helpful. The key-card entrances make the stay so safe. Very enjoyable experience. Recommend it to anyone near or in the Colonial Heights area. Convenient location to Petersburg and Richmond area. Laundry facility in the building is clean and makes life easy...limits the work needed after the vacation when returning home. Any type of food that you may wish for is also convenient and some are within walking distance. With a nearby Walmart, you can save money by cooking in your own kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodSpringHotels, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
We are glad we were able to provide you with an extended stay hotel you enjoyed. We love hearing from customers about their stay. We hope you will stay with us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

As far as my limited experience with extended-stay hotels go, this one met all my expectations. Positives: It is in a great location, shopping and restaurants galore. As for cleanliness, the room wasn't perfect but overall it was acceptable. Common areas were very clean--in fact I came in several times to see the staff cleaning which was appreciated. Staff was very friendly and willing to help. On-site security/after hours person was fairly visible. Appears to be fairly new. Overall I felt safe.
Negatives: There was a stain on the sheet, and when I went to change it, it appeared the mattress cover hadn't been washed (hair--this being the reason I gave it "average" rather than "very good"). They only gave out one small roll of TP and two towels at a time, which was annoying since I had a double room with 2 adults and 2 children.
Basically, be aware of what you are getting. No there is no hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee pot, housekeeping. Not even trash bags in the cans when you get in the room. There's a stove top and full size fridge but nothing to cook or eat with. You can pay extra for some of that if you choose. Bring your coffee pot and some paper products and at least you have a place to prepare some cereal or sandwiches.
Overall, I think it was a good value and I would go with Value Place again for an extended-stay hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunargirl218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodSpringHotels, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
We appreciate your feedback and we are glad, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you will choose WoodSpring Hotels again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed here during the holidays visiting my grandchildren. My son and his family are stationed at Fort Lee and I found it extremely easy to go back and forth from the base. I loved the idea of having a kitchen in my room because morning coffee is a part of my daily routine. My room was very clean and anything I needed the staff went above and beyond. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina0058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We really appreciate you lodging with us and we are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience! At Value Place we promise a truly affordable, incredibly clean, much safer experience that's always simple and flexible to fit your needs. We wish you well in your future travels, come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonial Heights
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
493 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield - Colonial Heights
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield -...
#4 of 8 in Colonial Heights
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heigh...
#6 of 8 in Colonial Heights
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
382 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee

Property: WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee
Address: 255 Jennick Dr, I-95 & Temple Ave, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-4908 (Formerly Value Place Colonial Heights)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Colonial Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Colonial Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. Kitchens in every room. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Free wi-fi and access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. WoodSpring Suites. It's Simple. Done Better. Extended stay hotels are different in amenities from traditional hotels. • A front desk opened and staffed 24/7. • Daily housekeeping included in nightly rate. • Private bathroom in each suite (ADA and ADA w/ Roll-In shower available) • Guests can book by the night. Weekly and extended stay rates also available. Call or visit our site to learn more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee Colonial Heights, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing