We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times @ Comfort Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Southpark
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Wow...The staff is really nice...check in was a breeze. The rooms are wonderful...lots of space and a sofa bed. The pool is lovely. Breakfast was mmmm...good. Great location near the mall and other stores...gotta love Walmart!!! I had a fantastic time!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank what180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 196 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is in bad need of a renovation. Carpet and wallpaper was stained and worn, air conditioning in the hallways didn't work, mildew in the bathroom, etc. The free breakfast was mediocre, with powdered eggs, an unidentifiable meat mix, and canned fruit served in a warm, loud breakfast room right off the front lobby. Lumpy pillows on the bed and windows weren't even clean. This could be a nice hotel -- there's a lake with lots of wild geese on the same property -- but even the area aound the lake was littered with trash and uncared for. I don't understand the rave reviews... good service can't make up for the negatives here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CafeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I reserved a jacuzzi room for me and my husband on 5/2/2009. before arriving we decided to go to Williamsburg va and get the same room for almost 90.00 cheaper. When i called and cancelled i dident get a cancelation # as i was driving to the other hotel. on 5-5-09 I noticed my checking account was over drawn $252.51 they charged my cc for the room of $193.14 which cause my account to overdraft to 252.51. When i finally spoke to the manager 3 days later in which she didnt return my calls she was rude and very unprofessional as if it was my fault and said they were not giving me my money back.I have called the corp office got no return call so i am left with no other choice but to file a warrent and pay $53.00 to take them to court. But i want everyone to know i have a reciept showing from the hotel that i checked in this hotel at 11:08pm and checked out at 7:36am. Please be aware they knew i wasnt coming did they give the room to someone else and let them stay for free. or did another guest pay in cash and they pocketed the money. i guess i will know for sure on the court date. BE AWARE SHADY PEOPLE WORK AT THESE PLACES!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imasgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We were pleasantly surprized when we stopped for the night on our way back North from Georgia. We picked up a travel coupon book at the rest stop a couple exits before it and they honored their coupon for @ $75 with no questions asked at 1 in the morning! Have had plenty of hotels using the bait and switch with these coupons, but happily not this one! We wish we had been able to use the pool as it looks very nice from the pictures and will try to stop there again some time. I chose to sleep in other than go to breakfast but the rest of the family was pretty satisfied until the afternoon.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
Thank aguamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

The maids and staff of the Comfort Suites made my lenghty stay (November 08-March 09) very comfortable and enjoyable. I would definitely stay there again. The receptionist Kerwin was an especially great help to make my stay a success.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2006

My husband and I travel to the Colonial Heights/Ft. Lee area of VA a couple times a year and thoroughly enjoy staying at the Comfort Suites. It's right next to the (Southpark) mall, a 4 minute "highway" drive to Ft. Lee, and encircled by countless restaurants and strip mall shops. We stayed in a balcony suite overlooking the man-made lake--it was small but serene! The bathrooms were new looking, clean, and tastefully decorated. We loved the heat lamp! The king bed was comfy and spacious w/ good pillows (but nothing like home). Our non-smoking room did NOT smell of smoke, and the housekeeping personnel were so friendly that they'd call us by name and chat us up while they cleaned our room daily (no turn down service).

The leather executive office chair and couch/coffee table were great for relaxing after work, as we stayed there for a full month. The microwave, fridge and counter were invaluable for storing leftovers from eating meals out and prepping quick lunches. The wireless internet didn't work in our room, but we plugged our laptop into the cable modem line easily. As a side note, the computer in the lobby was painfully slow and crashed many times, although the printer worked long enough for us to print out a coupon to Red Lobster from the internet. The pool was large, cold and clean: perfect for short laps. The sauna was converted into a small gym w/ a recumbent bike and treadmill (just okay), but the HOT tub was amazing. We met some lovely people in the jacuzzi, and the pool towels were nice, too. The on-site laundry was easy to use also (although I don't remember if they sold detergent). Breakfast was nice, but the eggs were "powdered" and I looked forward to the one day a week they offered fresh waffles or pancakes. Bagels, pastries, cereal, toast, yogurt and fresh fruit were also offered, as well as cold juice and coffee w/ flavored creamers. Mornings were nice b/c you could take the coffee cups w/ lids to go for work. The room keys were cards and you needed them to access the back parking lot. The elevators were quick for 4 floors and a full-house.

I almost gave the rating 4 circles/stars instead of 5 because of the mediocre breakfast, small gym and hardly functioning "business center," but compared to hotels in the surrounding area we've stayed at (the Hilton doesn't even include breakfast and their pool is TINY), this place was awesome. I felt safe, comfortable, happy, and at peace. It almost would have felt like a mini-resort vacation if it hadn't been for work. We loved it and we're returning in Feb 2006 for another week-long stay.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bostonsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortaturservice, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southpark, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonial Heights
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield - Colonial Heights
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield -...
#4 of 8 in Colonial Heights
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - F...
#6 of 8 in Colonial Heights
81 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
4.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heigh...
#5 of 8 in Colonial Heights
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Southpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Southpark

Address: 931 South Ave, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Colonial Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Colonial Heights
Price Range: $97 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Southpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Southpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Southpark Hotel Colonial Heights
Comfort Suites Colonial Heights
Colonial Heights Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Southpark Colonial Heights, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing