We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great for dogs”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you're looking for some place fancy or you're particular about your hotels, this place is not for you. However, if you're easy going about your hotels, the only real thing that's wrong with this place is its proximity to a busy rail line.

The pluses?

- AWESOME for dogs. The hotel is very dog friendly, has plenty of exits for emergency bathroom breaks, big rooms with plenty space for a crate/pet, proximity to a big open field for off-leash exercise, a pet-friendly staff, and very reasonable pet fees. The rooms are well insulated so even when my dog was yelping and crying, I could BARELY hear it from the hallway. Trust me... I checked.
-Reasonable rates. This hotel was about the same price as gross hotels like Super 8, and $30/night cheaper than other area hotels of comparable quality. The government rate is really low.
-Proximity to the expressway. The highway is only a couple minutes away; far enough to not cause noise but close enough not to get lost
-Big rooms. For the price, the rooms are comfortable and large and perfectly adequate. Each room has a kitchen and a big bathroom with plenty of space to stretch out, especially if you'll be in your room for more than a night or two.

I'm active duty military so I've slept in worse conditions... but even among hotels, Candlewood was a solid 2.5-3 stars. They get an extra star for being awesome for traveling with pets.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel are away from the train tracks and might be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navia Q, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Brandon B,

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you found our hotel to be a great value and that you and your dog were able to comfortably enjoy your time spent here. We want our guests to consider us their home away from home, so thank you for pointing out all the ways we make your travel experience less stressful. I hope you will come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,

Navia Quan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
15
11
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I couldn't ever imagine staying anywhere else now that I stayed here. It was home away from home. Most pleasant and helpful people ever. Very aafe location and I never even noticed the trains. It was a very nice place to relax after a long day out and about!!! Thank you everyone who I had the pleasure of talking to there!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navia Q, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear VirginiaForbes,

I would like to thank you for your 5-star review of our hotel. Our team is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our amenities are designed to provide our guests with all the comforts from home, so I am glad that you found us to be well-suited for all your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This Hotel is a very nice place to stay. Very comfortable rooms. Very helpful staff. Great value. Close to highway and grocery store about 5 minutes away. Definitely plan to stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmom0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navia Q, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We are pleased that you had such a great stay here with us in Colonial Heights. It is important to us that guests feel comfortable and find the value in staying with us, so thank you for recognizing all that we do to keep you happy. We hope to see you and your family soon!

Sincerely,

Navia Quan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
766 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Clean and convenient but nothing special. Close to I 95. No breakfast of any kind. Prices are reasonable. At checkout the clerk had to call come one to get the printer to print a receipt. I would look around before settling on this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusdriverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BusdriverPhil,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I wish I would have read the reviews before booking. Got to the hotel (looked nice), room was very nice, but then I saw a letter on the desk and on top of that was a plastic bag containing two ear plugs. The letter basically said they apologize for the train. I thought, oh boy, this should be interesting. I looked out my window and there were train track about 300 feet from the hotel. One train or two trains would have been ok. Ha! I was there 16 hours and counted 15 trains in that time. I was woken up by them several times during the night. Made my business meeting the next day interesting. I don't care if you put a Ritz Carlton on this site, it still won't make up for these trains. NEVER AGAIN! Priority hotels should be ashamed. They should fire the people who decided to build this here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEF7864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colonial Heights hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I choose to stay here over the cheaper "value" hotels because I was hoping for a better experience. WRONG! When I checked in it took a few minutes for the front desk to wake up enough to help me. I had reserved a double room non smoking. When we got to the room it was one of the worst smelling smoke rooms I had ever encountered. Called front desk to which he scoffed and said "....yes" and when I explained the issue he said that's all we have. This is after I saigned the form that I would not smoke in the room? Bed was horribly made and sheets were obviously not clean. Bathroom was filthy. So much for spending twice as much and getting a cleaner and better experience. Oh yeah the trains! Holy cow. Should have read reviews and planned ahead. Oh well this is on the never again list.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffbrowne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I spent 2 weeks (3-14-12 to 4-2-12) in a two bed suite at this hotel and was very happy. I had some trepidation about staying here because of the train that runs next to the back property line. However, our room was in the front of the hotel, and I never heard the train while in our room and I am a light sleeper. The hotel is clean and rooms have full kitchens with granite countertops (Microwave, Cook top, and Dishwasher). The beds are WONDERFUL! Bathroom has great water pressure, but skinny tubs. There are grills and a covered eating area in the back. Our room had a free DVD player so we were able to go to Redbox and enjoy a movie. Also the front desk has some free DVD's that they loan out. Wireless internet is free; they also have 2 computers downstairs for use and a workout area with good cardio equipment and some weight equipment. Downtown Richmond is 20-30 minutes away. Easy access to VA Beach, Yorktown, WIlliamsburg,etc. Fort Lee and Southpark shopping mall are 5 miles away. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the front on the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtopiaSearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonial Heights
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield - Colonial Heights
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield -...
#4 of 8 in Colonial Heights
28 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
382 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
4.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites at Fort Lee
Sleep Inn & Suites at Fort Lee
#2 of 2 in Prince George
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights

Property: Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
Address: 15820 Woods Edge Rd, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-6059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Colonial Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Colonial Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Colonial Heights Ft. Lee, Virginia Consider Us Home at the Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Colonial Heights - Fort. Lee, Chester, Petersburg, and Richmond, VA. The Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights Fort Lee is a member of the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in extended stays, Candlewood Suites are the perfect choice for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary or corporate housing needs. Our Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at exit 58, off I-95 near I-85 & I-295; minutes from Fort Lee, Chester, Petersburg & Richmond, VA business & real estate districts. Our location offers access to Wathal Industrial Park, Meadowville Technology Park, Honeywell, Dominion Power, Phillip Morris, Dupont, SRMC, Xymid, Sunchem, Northrup Grumman, LMR, Fort Lee and Defense Supply Center. The Candlewood Suites hotel offers apartment-style suites with all the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short-term hotel, real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio or one-bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TVs with DVD players, free high-speed, wired & wireless Internet access. Other features include Candlewood Cupboard, business center, free self-laundry facility, a fitness center & BBQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing