We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee
Indio, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Better places to stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Book early and stay at a better place. Because of the proximity to Fort Lee these hotels seem to book up early on weekends. This place was lacking in service. Requested a room with no adjoining door. Took three tries to get us into one, after schlepping luggage all over the hotel. Never realized it was so difficult, but then you would need a desk clerk who cared. I am told that comments you enter on line when making a reservation do not come through to the hotel. Then why do they have a place for them? Once we finally got into a room it had less than a quarter roll of toilet paper for three people. Took two phone calls to have someone bring us a roll. The room key would allow access to some areas (pool) but not to others (fitness area). The room was in typical condition and reasonably clean, though the sheets were very worn. All in all, the stay could have been worse, but the lack of customer service would prevent me from staying there again if I had other options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glrsandldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear glrsandldy,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as the room accommodations you received. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
5
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester NJ
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Foa $134.00 you'd expect to get a tub right? Wrong...just a shower. Disapointed but room was clean and everyone accomodating. Tip, dont be lured by the discount offered when booking the room for the hotel resteraunt. Its still pricey and there are loads of places to eat within a mile of the hotel. There is a small gym and indoor pool that was very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Id try the two other chain hotels right next door for a comparison price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinsocialworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear robinsocialworker,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuujjuaq, QC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Hotel was clean, the room was clean, and the staff were fast and efficient. We did have a small issue with our room, but the staff were very fast to solve the problem and did give us discount due to the inconvenience. No Suites at this hotel. No free breakfast but the breakfast in the restaurant was good and not to expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Checked in Saturday, on Sunday it appears their housekeeping does not work, our room was not cleaned.Frontdesk advised me he"does not clean rooms" and offered some clean towels. The next morning the GM did a "apologize"-nothing else! Hotel needs new cacuum cleaners, floor of room and hallway had debris even after a housekeeper "vacuumed" the floor.
Restaurant is excellent fro breakfast and dinner, AM front desk great, trying to help, PM desk clerk needs lessons in how to communicate.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor-less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUTCHANDFREE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for your time to post a review and I am glad to hear that your food and beverage needs were satisfactory. We have purchased new vacuums and have shared this review with housekeeping to ensure they understand the importance of this process. I am also glad and have passed on your comments to Ashly the front desk agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Very nice hotel. Staff is very friendly although the front desk needs more staffing during busy hours. Those poor people were handling 10 things at once and with a smile! Friends said breakfast at restaurant was VERY slow, however. Many stores and restaurants nearby. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I agree with other, the place is very well maintained and the staff is friendly. However, absolutely no thought went into location. It is located on the backside of the county landfill and downwind from a sewage treatment plant on the river. It makes me think twice about booking any hotel (there are a couple) in this area ever again. We just couldn't seem to get rid of the terrible smell that permeated the place on that 90º day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanNYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
I apologize for your issue at the hotel, There is not a landfill near the hotel, as a relaunched Holiday Inn we do have brand Hallmarks such as scent machines thru out the public areas. I do hope you return as I am positive your next stay would be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colonial Heights hotels

Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2009

The front desk staff was nice and checked us in very fast. My wife was able to check in without me being there. Upon walking in the lobby was very clean and staff was friendly. The rooms have a decent amount of space but do need a more decorative touch. It felt like they just stuck some things on the wall and called it a day. There was no sink or counter space other than the restroom. Also we were disappointed that they didn't even offer a free breakfast bar. Most smaller chains offer these and have lower prices. It was a nice night otherwise and the kids loved playing in the pool. It is an indoor pool with a door that leads to an outside patio.

The small restaurant in the hotel could have used a little bit of seperation from the lobby. There was no privacy when dining. The food was good but was definitely pricey. What can you expect from such a convenience though? It comes with the territory. There are a lot of options around the local area to dine at or a local Walmart if you prefer that.

The parking lot and surrounding area definitely felt safe, which was important to my wife with the kids. There was however a strong smell outside. It was either a waste water plant nearby or a sewage leak. It might not always have that smell but it was definitely not noticable inside the place.

All in all it was a very nice retreat. There were just a few things that could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we value all input from our guests, We strive to ensure all guests have a memorable stay. We have added some specials to our menu at a value price. We are a full service hotel which is why we do a cooked to order breakfast as opposed to a standard buffet at other chains, Holiday Inn does offer a Kids eat free program for breakfast and dinner that may be of value to you as well. I hope we see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonial Heights
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
1.4 mi away
The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee

Property: Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee
Address: 401 E Roslyn Rd, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-3625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Colonial Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Colonial Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee Hotel Colonial Heights
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee Colonial Heights, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing