We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway from DC or Richmond!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A friend from Chicago & I wanted a quiet overnight getaway. Monroe Bay Inn was the perfect solution. A seafood dinner at Lowery's in Tappahanock, meandering through the Northern Neck, an Arts walk in Colonial Beach, all topped off with a hot cup of tea and a visit with our hostess, Shirley. The three of us talked about international relations, international experiences, and what to see and do in and near Colonial Beach. The following morning, we enjoyed coffee and a delicious breakfast. Shirley has made an art gallery of the Inn, and it was fun to see the collection before heading off to see the sights. You cannot miss with this Inn and this hostess!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of the Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and be able to talk to you and your friend, especially about our international experiences. A special thanks for posting the workshop flyer in Richmond. I look forward to seeing you again and continuing our discussions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I took a long weekend to explore Colonial Beach and stayed at Monroe Bay Inn. It has a great location between the bay and the river, about a 10 minute walk from the center of town. The house itself is very comfortable, with plenty of space inside and out to spread out and relax. Shirley, the hostess, was very welcoming and provided much useful information about good places to eat and what to see.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms seemed no less attractive than the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_P715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It was great fun to meet you and talk about Colonial Beach, my favorite place to be. Come back soon to see the changes in the Inn, different dining room furniture and an encaustic art studio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My second trip to the Monroe Bay Inn was just as delightful as my first experience! The innkeeper made my stay as pleasant & comfortable as before which is always appreciated when your expectations are high. I was not disappointed but enjoyed my stay even more this time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

The third stay will be even better! I look forward to your visit in February for the Explosion of Creativity workshop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My cousin and I spent a long weekend at the Inn. My cousin is from MD and I am "local", matter of fact VERY local. I live less than 10 miles from this delightful B & B. I never have time to enjoy the great things the area has to offer, so I decided to take the time to chill out and enjoy the local scenary and the Monroe Bay Inn B & B was a great choice. Very relaxing, good food and a wonderful Innkeeper, Shirley. I would highly recommend a stay at this incredible find in the Northern Neck.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

What fun to have you stay at the Inn! The best part of my job is meeting people like you. You are always welcome to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Shirley was a fantastic host. She served a great breakfast and made us feel at home. She has a fantastic space and a great location. It's just off the main drag of Colonial Beach (less than 2 mins) so you're close enough but far enough away that you can relax. She is active in the local art community and offers her B&B as a place for local artists to display their work.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MgrahamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thanks for your review! The Inn with the glider on the front porch is a great place to relax and enjoy the quiet neighborhood. I'm glad you liked your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

In just two days, my wife and I had the experiences of a normal week anywhere else. Thanks to the recommendations and referrals from our Inn Keeper, Shirley Hinrichs, we sampled the excellent food and sights of this very interesting and comforting area of the country. Shirley has managed to display a beautiful variety of local Art that can be viewed, enjoyed and even purchased. The very creative Art extends even to the Flower beds and yard with very colorful and unique Yard Art. The MBI is extremely comfortable and clean destination center, managed by the affable, effecient and knowledgable Inn Keeper, Shirley. The food is excellent, the beds very comfortable, the Inn spotlessly clean and the atmosphere fun, friendly and warm.

Room Tip: Room # 1 is # 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeJo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you so much for staying at the Monroe Bay Inn. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time at the Inn and in Colonial Beach. I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just a great spot to unwind and use as your base to see the area. We did the local restaurnats, Washington's birthplace, a winery and a walk along the Potomac. Shirley is a wonderful and interesting hostess.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremiahF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonial Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Dennison Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Colonial Beach
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverview Inn - Colonial Beach
Riverview Inn - Colonial Beach
#2 of 2 in Colonial Beach
1 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Edge Inn
River Edge Inn
#1 of 2 in Colonial Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 306 Hamilton St, Colonial Beach, VA 22443-2613
Location: United States > Virginia > Colonial Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Colonial Beach
Price Range: $147 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful inn was built in 1905 and used as a summer home for children from Washington, DC. Enjoy comfortable rooms with private baths, full breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. Walk to the public beach and pier. Visit antique shops, restaurants and art galleries. Go fishing, boating or bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing