We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Dennison Street Inn(Colonial Beach)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Riverview Inn - Colonial Beach(Colonial Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(King George)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
34
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm hospitalitybed and breakfastgreat place to staybathbedroompillows
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 41 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I took a long weekend to explore Colonial Beach and stayed at Monroe Bay Inn. It has a great location between the bay and the river, about a 10 minute walk from the center of town. The house itself is very comfortable, with plenty of space inside and out to spread out and relax. Shirley, the hostess, was very welcoming and provided much useful information about good places to eat and what to see.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms seemed no less attractive than the larger ones.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_P715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It was great fun to meet you and talk about Colonial Beach, my favorite place to be. Come back soon to see the changes in the Inn, different dining room furniture and an encaustic art studio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My second trip to the Monroe Bay Inn was just as delightful as my first experience! The innkeeper made my stay as pleasant & comfortable as before which is always appreciated when your expectations are high. I was not disappointed but enjoyed my stay even more this time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

The third stay will be even better! I look forward to your visit in February for the Explosion of Creativity workshop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My cousin and I spent a long weekend at the Inn. My cousin is from MD and I am "local", matter of fact VERY local. I live less than 10 miles from this delightful B & B. I never have time to enjoy the great things the area has to offer, so I decided to take the time to chill out and enjoy the local scenary and the Monroe Bay Inn B & B was a great choice. Very relaxing, good food and a wonderful Innkeeper, Shirley. I would highly recommend a stay at this incredible find in the Northern Neck.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

What fun to have you stay at the Inn! The best part of my job is meeting people like you. You are always welcome to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Shirley was a fantastic host. She served a great breakfast and made us feel at home. She has a fantastic space and a great location. It's just off the main drag of Colonial Beach (less than 2 mins) so you're close enough but far enough away that you can relax. She is active in the local art community and offers her B&B as a place for local artists to display their work.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MgrahamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thanks for your review! The Inn with the glider on the front porch is a great place to relax and enjoy the quiet neighborhood. I'm glad you liked your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

In just two days, my wife and I had the experiences of a normal week anywhere else. Thanks to the recommendations and referrals from our Inn Keeper, Shirley Hinrichs, we sampled the excellent food and sights of this very interesting and comforting area of the country. Shirley has managed to display a beautiful variety of local Art that can be viewed, enjoyed and even purchased. The very creative Art extends even to the Flower beds and yard with very colorful and unique Yard Art. The MBI is extremely comfortable and clean destination center, managed by the affable, effecient and knowledgable Inn Keeper, Shirley. The food is excellent, the beds very comfortable, the Inn spotlessly clean and the atmosphere fun, friendly and warm.

Room Tip: Room # 1 is # 1.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeJo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you so much for staying at the Monroe Bay Inn. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time at the Inn and in Colonial Beach. I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews