We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really good.”

The Club Car Shop & Deli
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in an old drugstore in downtown Clifton Forge! We offer a wide lunch menu with Boar's Head meats & cheeses and homemade deli salads, soups & desserts. In our shop you will also find a unique gift shop, a fine wine corner and the friendliest staff you will ever meet!
central Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really really good.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This eclectic-looking former drugstore houses a good restaurant. Feature meals on the menu are local and railroad-themed. The town is/was a train hub. Featured beverages are CocaCola products (we are NOT a fan) and the CocaCola theme is carried out at each table with accessories. The very pleasant and knowledgeable waitresses definitely catered to us, and answered each question and request promptly. Our sandwiches were excellent and the coffee is good. It's near the C & O museum, and both are worth the stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djlovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous service and good food.”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We were just passing through town and stopped in for a meal at the Club Car. The food was good, and we thought the prices were very reasonable. I ordered a half-special: a pimiento cheese burger and a cup of soup, and my husband ordered the whole special, minus the pimiento cheese. They have a varied soup-and-sandwich menu. Everything came out quickly, and it was hot and just as we ordered it. The atmosphere in this restaurant is pleasant. It's very clean. The best thing about the place, though, was the service. The women who waited on us were genuinely friendly and made sure that we were satisfied with the meal. We enjoyed chatting with them about Clifton Forge. We'll go back again next time we're in town!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very interesting lunch”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Delightful spot. Extremely friendly, helpful wait staff. Very interesting decor on a railroad theme. Simple but delicious menu. Portion sizes were on small size but delicious. Average priced. Would recommend for at least one visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stop here for lunch when I am in the area. They have a varied menu, wonderful salads and sandwiches. I had a delicious strawberry and dried cranberry salad with a tangy raspberry vinaigrette. The staff is fun and friendly and you can do a little shopping while there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sailhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy Food!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My fiance' and I went here to lunch with his father and it was great. We had the club sandwich, roast beef sandwich,a cashew salad, and it was very good. The atmosphere is great to and the ladies that work their are always friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RumCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Club Car Shop & Deli also viewed

 

Been to The Club Car Shop & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing