We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really cool railroad stuff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C & O Railway Heritage Center

C & O Railway Heritage Center
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really cool railroad stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Fun little park setting with several pieces of railroad equipment, including a steam locomotive. Several reconstructed or refurbished railroad structures. Also, small scale steam railroad, museum and gift shop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LDSIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honaker, VA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best rail musuem you will see...train rides for the kids too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The charm of Clifton Forge, VA is wonderful. This museum has a guide on site and brings it to life for the visitor. A small train is available for the kids too, check operating hours. Dining on a one of the train cars is sometimes available. Downtown Clifton Forge is within walking distance too. Amtrack stops down from the museum also.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Havefun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise visit for husband to C&O Railway Heritage Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I surprised my husband with a visit to the Railway Heritage Center. We were the only folks on the tour at the time and had the most delightful guide who was so knew everything there was to know about the railroad. We enjoyed climbing up into the engine and I really enjoyed the dining car...restored impecably. I look forward to them restoring more railroad cars in the future.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Step back in time and enjoy railroading history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were fortunate that our visit coincided with the visit of the historic Greenbriar steam engine. What luck to see this jewel up close and wander through the cars! We also enjoyed the Center's regular exhibits--this is a true labor of love. Ask all the questions your heart desires.

You will have to climb some steep stairs to get into the railroad cars, and you should watch your footing at all times. You will be walking on loose gravel, stepping across rails, and threading through narrow car passages.
There are just a few places to sit down; you will be on your feet a lot. There are restrooms available but no vending machines--bring your own snacks and water. Nice bookstore/gift shop for railroad buffs.

You will get to see and hear trains coming through, and there are beautiful mountains in the background. Pay attention to the weather and dress accordingly. It's a great outing--eat at Jack Mason's Tavern across the street.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Perkypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stop on the way to Washington DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I am a travel agent with JFF Tours, INC. I escorted a Motor Coach trip to Washington DC. We had a stop in Clifton Forge VA, just off Interstate 64, at the C & O Heritage Center. I had pre arranged a lunch with a local Deli, The Club Car Deli and Shoppe, which was fantastic. We were served in an old dining car on the Heritage Center property. My guest are still talking about what a wonderful time they had while at the center. Great for all ages. Guides were great, very friendly. A wonderful step back in railroad history.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Judy_JFF_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C & O Railway Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to C & O Railway Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing