We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn - A Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifton Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lantern Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Green Cove Springs, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Inn - A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely inn rich in history! We felt welcome immediately at this charming inn. The owner was very gracious and hospitable, giving us a brief tour before getting settled in. The furnishings were extra comfy, the snacks were delightful. The bed was theist comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Excellent restaurant recommendations, some within walking distance. First class, very charming place. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverbreezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
17
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had many people stay at the Red Lantern for a recent wedding and even the bridal party decided to stay on the eve of the wedding because it's so nice! We enjoyed having a large social area to relax and prepare for the wedding. Our guests enjoyed mingling over coffee and muffins. We were able to do laundry, make fresh coffee and hot chocolate whenever we wanted, chill our champagne, and socialize. The bed was extravagantly comfortable with plenty of blankets and pillows, the bathroom was well stocked with soap, shampoo, and big soft fluffy towels. The location is perfect right in the middle of town. The owner is so nice and accomodating and made sure we had everything we needed. Some of the guests were wary about shared bathrooms, but informed me later that they didn't have the first problem despite our stuffing the inn till it was full. The bathrooms are HUGE! (That's why we chose to prepare for the wedding here) nice showers with good water and water pressure, and great lighting. Nobody had to wait for a bathroom either, there are plenty, even with two families and many friends preparing for a wedding! I can't say enough great things about red lantern inn, whatever you may be considering I assure you this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: There is 1 room with a private bath, but I preferred the two downstairs rooms with 1.5 baths to them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We got in Clifton Forge at around 8pm, and two other guests let us in. We grabbed our key to the room and settled in. The Inn was beautifully decorated, very clean, and to my surprise, a lot of goodies for the guests in the kitchen. We went on the hike next morning at the Douthat State Park, came back, and had breakfast in the kitchen. Never got to meet Jo Ann, and we checked ourselves out.

We felt like we were at home. A lot of common areas, magazines, and books. We felt very comfortable to walk around, and explore. We loved the upstairs sunroom. Very reasonable price for a semi B&B too. We will definitely come back if we have another chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Convenient to anything in Clifton Forge, this is a comfortable place and a good value. The rooms are fairly spacious and the beds comfortable. It's not far from the railroad but that isn't a problem (and besides, nothing in Clifton Forge is far from the railroad). The internet works well and is free. There's a serve-yourself continental breakfast in the kitchen and plenty of room downstairs to relax and socialize. I frequent the area and am happy to return every trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blw_at_longwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Had a great 2 night stay, it was just like being at home! Beds were comfy, rooms and house was spotless! Staff couldn't do enough for you. Brand new washer and dryer for your convience as well as 2 beautiful living rooms. Well equipped kitchen area! Beautiful furnishings thought out the home and located right in the heart of the town!
Al G.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I just spent one night here. The rooms were clean and the snacks and breakfast offerings were perfect! The bathrooms were very large and wonderfully stocked! If you are ever in this area, you have to stay here! Woof-woof-woof.......even our dog, MacGregor loved it here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great two night stay at the Red Lantern Inn. Just like being home. Friendly and helpful in every way. Full kitchen and two nice living rooms. Will stay again next year while visiting Clifton Forge. I would highly recommend for a pleasent stay. NDL

Room Tip: all rooms are great. Room #1 has a private math. Rooms 6 and 7 are downstairs, 1,2,3,4,5 are on sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Forge
8.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
20.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
9.6 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lantern Inn

Property: The Red Lantern Inn
Address: 314 Jefferson Ave, Clifton Forge, VA 24422-1749
Location: United States > Virginia > Clifton Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual overnight accommodations in downtown Clifton Forge, VA within walking distance restaurants, shops, C&O Heritage Center, Arts & Crafts Center, Clifton Forge School of the Arts, Masonic Amphitheater, and the Amtrak station. Guests can take the Amtrak to Clifton Forge for the weekend and enjoy a quiet weekend in a small VA town. The Masonic Amphitheater has events every weekend from May until October. Outdoor activities in the area include: hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, swimming. A short drive away is Douthat State Park which has miles of stream fishing, a 50-acre lake stocked with trout, a sandy swimming beach with snack bar, boat and bicycle rentals, more than 40 miles of hiking and mountain-biking trails, an amphitheater, playgrounds, picnic areas, tent and trailer camping, a restaurant overlooking the lake, and nature and history programs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing