We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay--would return in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifton Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lantern Inn
Save
You added The Red Lantern Inn to your Saves list
314 Jefferson Avenue, Clifton Forge, VA 24422   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful stay--would return in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Had a great 2 night stay, it was just like being at home! Beds were comfy, rooms and house was spotless! Staff couldn't do enough for you. Brand new washer and dryer for your convience as well as 2 beautiful living rooms. Well equipped kitchen area! Beautiful furnishings thought out the home and located right in the heart of the town!
Al G.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I just spent one night here. The rooms were clean and the snacks and breakfast offerings were perfect! The bathrooms were very large and wonderfully stocked! If you are ever in this area, you have to stay here! Woof-woof-woof.......even our dog, MacGregor loved it here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great two night stay at the Red Lantern Inn. Just like being home. Friendly and helpful in every way. Full kitchen and two nice living rooms. Will stay again next year while visiting Clifton Forge. I would highly recommend for a pleasent stay. NDL

Room Tip: all rooms are great. Room #1 has a private math. Rooms 6 and 7 are downstairs, 1,2,3,4,5 are on sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is the place to stay. Great Experience and helpful staff. They will bend over backwards to make you comfortable and take care of your needs. The Inn is one of a kind and so beautiful and comfortable, it makes you feel like you are at home. I will definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend Room #1 as it has a private bath. Room #6 was great as was #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I came here with our 13 month old and spent two nights at the Red Lantern. We could not have asked for any better accommodations. The Inn was always clean including the rooms. Additionally, there was always a stocked fridge with essentials for breakfast and snacks during the day; a HUGE plus that we were not even expecting. From the Inn Keeper to the entire town, everyone was as friendly as could be. Whenever we come back (and we will), this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is the king room it is on the street and has great views of the mountains and the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield area, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent four nights at the Red Lantern Inn, as we were volunteering at the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. In addition to the wonderful, welcoming staff, the other guests were most enjoyable!

The accommodation exceeded our expectations; Joann has done an exquisite job making the inn a classy, yet comfortable place. The muffins are second-to-none, and the coffee met my high standards! :)

We have already made reservations for the same time, same place next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snead-Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were going to the PGA Classic at the Greenbrier and with a very bad storm the place we were going to stay had no power and The Red Lantern had 1 room left and we were able to get it. The room has very clean an comfortable the owner was nice and had the cutest bull dog. There was one other lady that was cleaning the rooms and she was very freindly and was nice to talk to since I spent the day at the hotel by my self. The inn has a great kitchen with coffee and muffins in the morning. All updated and spacious and we had 3 people and with one room they provided an air mattress for our third. It was reasonably priced and there were restaurants within walking distance. I would stay there again when I need to go that way in the future.

Room Tip: The king room has its own private bath so I would get that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Forge
8.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
0.8 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lantern Inn

Property: The Red Lantern Inn
Address: 314 Jefferson Avenue, Clifton Forge, VA 24422
Location: United States > Virginia > Clifton Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual overnight accommodations in downtown Clifton Forge, VA within walking distance restaurants, shops, C&O Heritage Center, Arts & Crafts Center, Clifton Forge School of the Arts, Masonic Amphitheater, and the Amtrak station. Guests can take the Amtrak to Clifton Forge for the weekend and enjoy a quiet weekend in a small VA town. The Masonic Amphitheater has events every weekend from May until October. Outdoor activities in the area include: hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, swimming. A short drive away is Douthat State Park which has miles of stream fishing, a 50-acre lake stocked with trout, a sandy swimming beach with snack bar, boat and bicycle rentals, more than 40 miles of hiking and mountain-biking trails, an amphitheater, playgrounds, picnic areas, tent and trailer camping, a restaurant overlooking the lake, and nature and history programs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing