We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifton Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lantern Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly people”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were going to the PGA Classic at the Greenbrier and with a very bad storm the place we were going to stay had no power and The Red Lantern had 1 room left and we were able to get it. The room has very clean an comfortable the owner was nice and had the cutest bull dog. There was one other lady that was cleaning the rooms and she was very freindly and was nice to talk to since I spent the day at the hotel by my self. The inn has a great kitchen with coffee and muffins in the morning. All updated and spacious and we had 3 people and with one room they provided an air mattress for our third. It was reasonably priced and there were restaurants within walking distance. I would stay there again when I need to go that way in the future.

Room Tip: The king room has its own private bath so I would get that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
18
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just got home from a wonderful vacation at The Red Latern Inn. Joan, her staff and Bella were warm, welcoming and wonderful. Our stay meant traveling to the Greenbrier Classic but the 30 minute drive everyday from Tuesday through Sunday wasn't bad because of the wonderful accomodations. Most people staying at the inn were all volunteers for the Greenbrier Classic so it was a great group of people comparing notes of their days adventure in a wonderful comfortable inn. The beds were great for a good nights sleep. Don't forget to check out the J.Mason Tavern, Vic's and the Cat and the Owl Restaurant. I would definitely go back. I think it would be a great place for a girl's weekend or family weekend with the 7 bedrooms in one big wonderful home away from home! The inn and Clifton Forge have great character! Will recommend the trip to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deana-DavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clifton Forge is a sleepy mountain town tha is coming alive again after many years. The inn is a perfect addage to this re-awakening. Nature abounds in the surrounding mountains. It's a 35 minute ride over the Clifton Forge Mountain to go to the Jefferson Pools near the Homestead for an amazing minreal soak. The Dauthat State Park is one of the most beautiful, scenic place n the USA. It is an amazing combination of beach, lake, and forest with boating and swimming, hiking, etc. It is a great acitivity adjunct to the staythat we had.

The Inn itself is a beautifully arrayed and decorated small Bed and Breakfast. It is actually somewhere between a B & B and a very nice hostel. You serve yourself a continental breakfast and snacks as you are free to use the generously stocked kitchen. There is a lovely famiy-style decorum of antiques from americana to asian--and everything, including the renovation is nothing short of top class. They really outdo themeslves during your stay and are helpful in every way imaginable.

Quiet--Country--Helpful--Heartfelt--True "InnKeepers!!" Two nights felt like four!!

Very reasonably priced for the generous offerings...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nansy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

.....than the mountain highlands in spring. And no better "base of operations" than the Red Lantern. It's a combination of staying at your aunt's place and a well-run, efficient, small hotel. As operated by JoAnn Gideons, it is a clean, warm, friendly place to stay, and at a very competitive price. From the Red Lantern, one can enjoy all that Clifton Forge and the mountains have to offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms - all seven of them (get your reservation in early - Clifton Forge has a lot going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Two friends and I arrived in Clifton Forge to research the C&O Railroad Archives, and to visit the "Congressional Bunker", at the Greenbriar Resort, in nearby White Sulpher Springs, WV.The Inn is owned byJo Ann Carter Gideons, who was a wonderful host to the three of us. The Inn is located in downtown Clifton Forge, and not hard to find. Just look for what looks like a former funeral home.

The Inn is spotlessly clean, and VERY comfortable. Breakfast is continental style, with a wide variety of breakfast foods available for self-service in a large and cheery kitchen. The Inn is well maintained by Ester, the housekeeper.

The Clifton Forge Area has a number of pleasant delis, pubs, and restaurants with good food, and VERY friendly employees, who will make your stay enjoyable. Thank you, Jo Ann for making our visit wonderful!

Room Tip: Of the 10 available rooms, one has a private bath. It's on the second floor at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHHerndon_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Forge, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The location, price, and management of this Inn make the Red Lantern Inn the perfect place to stay for a short or longer-term visit. Walking distance to the C&O Historical Society, biking distance to Douthat State Park, a short drive to Lexington, Roanoke, Warm Springs, VA - even West Virginia (with the Greenbriar and Lewsiburg) is within striking distance of this lovely little Inn. JoAnn Gideons runs a great establishment, bringing a wealth of local information as well as an international flair to her business. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and great coffee to boot!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but the front room with private bath would be perfect for a honeymoon/an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvos159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Red Lantern Inn in April for my 40th. This B&B is like a home away from home. Fortunately for us, we were the only ones booked in for 3 nights, so had the whole place to ourselves. The service was wonderful, everything you could possible need and more was avaliable to use. The furnishing were interesting and comfortable. We spent our 4 days mountainbiking at the nearby Douthat State Park, and the Inn was a welcome retreat after a long day of biking. It is also conveniently located downtown. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a place to get away too but still feel like you are in your own home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Forge
8.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
22.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
44 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lantern Inn

Property: The Red Lantern Inn
Address: 314 Jefferson Ave, Clifton Forge, VA 24422-1749
Location: United States > Virginia > Clifton Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual overnight accommodations in downtown Clifton Forge, VA within walking distance restaurants, shops, C&O Heritage Center, Arts & Crafts Center, Clifton Forge School of the Arts, Masonic Amphitheater, and the Amtrak station. Guests can take the Amtrak to Clifton Forge for the weekend and enjoy a quiet weekend in a small VA town. The Masonic Amphitheater has events every weekend from May until October. Outdoor activities in the area include: hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, swimming. A short drive away is Douthat State Park which has miles of stream fishing, a 50-acre lake stocked with trout, a sandy swimming beach with snack bar, boat and bicycle rentals, more than 40 miles of hiking and mountain-biking trails, an amphitheater, playgrounds, picnic areas, tent and trailer camping, a restaurant overlooking the lake, and nature and history programs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing