We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Douthat It's Awesome”
Review of Douthat State Park

Douthat State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this colorful state park will view rolling hills, birds and a beautiful lake.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't Douthat It's Awesome”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The park was wonderful- just what you would expect in a Virginia State Park - clean, maintained, full of activities, good signage, and superbly friendly/helpful staff. We were able to hike, bike, fish, and relax by the fire.

The cabins (2 bedroom) were clean and comfortable - the necessities (coffee filters, bedding, utensils) were all provided. We brought food and bought firewood. The bathroom was standard, but clean. This park is pet friendly, so our dogs enjoyed the cabin and romping outside. Couldn't have asked for a better stay!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    45
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Forge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place just to walk around”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A natural setting (no gocarts, no TV) that is very relaxing and close to home. they have a lovely beach and great outdoor events throughout the summer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serenity”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just a beautiful place to take the family...A little hard to find but worth the drive...Camping picning and fishing something for everyone

Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely park, but limited common sense”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a lovely park, but I have to express my frustration at the way they treated our Scout group. Apparently, an impending hurricane, a declaration of emergency by the Governor and the safety of a Scout group (that wished to drive home to the coast before flooding and tropical force winds) are not sufficient reasons to leave the park early without being charged for the unused night. Does anyone really think that we prevented the use of the site by someone who saw the hurricane coming and thought it would be a great night for camping?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JJWLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“just missed the fall color!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went on a quick 3-mile hike in late October 2012. We just missed the fall color! The leaves covered most of the trails. We could hear the rustles of leaves when they fell. Very beautiful and extremely quite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Douthat State Park also viewed

 

Been to Douthat State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing