We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed & Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooper's Landing Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Clarksville B&B and Inns
Clarksville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My favorite room is the Sage Guest Room; I love waking up feeling like I am in a nest in the trees! The room is spacious and lovely! The service is the BEST! Whether sitting by the pool or under the lush arbor - you feel like you are in a special hide-away from the world. Do eat at the Traverler's Tavern - you will be delighted with the fare! Cooper's Landing is very special.

Room Tip: The Lavender Room is special too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narah_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirtz, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

From our very first visit in spring of 2010...to our wedding the same year....to last month. We go whenever we possibly can! Nichol and Les make you feel like you are the only guests at the Inn or restaurant. Nichol is absolutely the sweetest thing and makes sure that everything is taken care of with a quickness!! I would HIGHLY recommend getting married there as she will handle every single detail for you and produce the most incredible day of your life. I also would recommend them for any sort of couples or family trip. The Inn always seems like your own private getaway and you rarely even see another couple. The food is out of this world and the rooms are spectacular. Les and Nichol (and the baby Coopers) are the most amazing B & B owners/Innkeepers you will probably ever find. Kudos!!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Suites are the best....but EVERY room is magical!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenThere58323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Les and Nichól are the dearest hosts. They always make us feel welcome and important no matter how busy they are. We have stayed in four of the guest rooms and have enjoyed each of them equally. The rooms are charming as well as comfortable with period details.

The food--well, I don't think there are words. My husband and I do a lot of traveling and love to try new restaurants. I can honestly say that I haven't had a better filet mignon anywhere! The crab dip is to die for. We haven't ever ordered anything that disappointed us.

On Friday nights through the summer live entertainment is featured on the patio which has a lighted, wisteria-entwined pergola. The atmosphere is almost magical. I often take off work on Friday so we can make the five-plus hour drive just to get there in time for dinner and entertainment.

We are already looking forward to our next trip!

Carmen B.

Room Tip: The Vineyard suite is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clbbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Accommodating, Accommodating, Accommodating!!
My husband and I found Cooper’s Landing through a Google search in 2010. We were searching for a bed and breakfast to host our wedding in June 2011. From the first email we sent and every email after, Nichol (inn keeper and owner) answered promptly. She made us feel at home from the moment we contacted her to our big day! Everyone told me that weddings are stressful, expensive affairs. After seeing many friends tie the knot, I would agree; however, our experience at Cooper’s Landing was different. THEY TOOK CARE OF EVERYTHING!! I never felt so relaxed and carefree.  Nichol took care of everything. We didn’t have to worry about the set-up or clean-up. Les (chef and owner) made sure all of our taste buds were satisfied from the crab cakes to the stuffed mushrooms! My husband and I were able to truly enjoy our wedding day along with all of our guests. Our parents, siblings, and grandparents filled all of the rooms in the inn for the Wedding. We were able to enjoy the rehearsal dinner and breakfast together in their dining room (Of course, you also have the option to receive breakfast in your room). On the day before the wedding, we were also able to enjoy the hot tub, pool, and patio behind the inn (As well as a few drinks!). They also have a full bar available for guests to order drinks.
Since our wedding, we’ve returned and enjoyed their anniversary package. OH MY…what a treat!! In our double Jacuzzi room, we were greeted with a bottle of wine to toast our first anniversary and a VERY comfortable bed. Nichol’s staff made sure we had everything that we needed. If we wanted to enjoy our crab dip (a MUST have) in our room, they delivered it…no questions asked. They never made us feel like we were a burden. Our anniversary weekend was spectacular from the moment we arrived to our wine & cheese picnic basket to our romantic four course dinner! We cannot wait to return. We send everyone that we can to Cooper’s Landing. We recommend them for the perfect wedding, perfect dinner party (YES, they have a full service kitchen…I recommend the crab cake or lamb), romantic weekends, and more. They are the perfect getaway for anyone! I hope you visit them soon. Your time and money will not be wasted.
-Two very satisfied customers

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay for the patio/grilling cooking class that included private lesson with Les Cooper (owner & executive chef) of the Inn and then the evening class we were joined by the sous chef John and 16 attendees by the pool are for more fun learning. We checked in on Sunday (my birthday) around 3 p.m. and we were met by Sara. She was upbeat, so nice and escorted us to our room which was the Midsummer Night's Dream upstairs in the main house. We had aprons, a notebook full of information with schedule, recipes, menus, etc. There was a cozy landing area outside of our room with fridge full of drinks, snacks on top, coffee station, port wine, etc. Very nice touches! that evening our package included a 5 course wine dinner and we were the only ones staying at the Inn for the cooking class so how nice to have private formal dining with baked brie topped with pecan copote, crab bisque soup, salad with arugala topped with golden raising, asiago cheese and light dressing, ahi tuna over sauteed spinach with soy glaze for main course and cream brulee for dessert - all paired with some wonderful wines for each course. The food was GREAT! We had amazing breakfast of crepes with fruit and I had a crab omelette for breakfast that was yummy with fresh fruit cup and oj. Then our a.m. cooking class was scheduled and we cooked mint basil pesto lamb chops, italian sausage stuffed green peppers and strawberry ice cream - oh my - what lunch and Les was so relaxed, patient and informative for our session. We had a lazy afternoon after the morning of cooking and dining and then met up at 6 p.m. for wine/cheese reception to meet evening class attendees and headed out to the pool to cook chicken, pork loin, corn salad, grilled scallops - it was all so great! The service, property and town of Clarksville, VA are all so nice and we enjoyed every relaxing and informative minute of our trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I, along with our 1-year-old son, stayed at Cooper’s Landing Inn for two nights in June. Because it was a busy weekend at the Inn, we were told that we could stay in the Sunshine Cottage. As described over the phone, this was supposed to be a quiet cottage behind the Inn, which we found appealing because of our son’s early bedtime. The space was supposed to include a loft and a Jacuzzi tub, which we thought would be nice and relaxing for our young family. According to their website, the amenities were supposed to include 24-hour access to “coffee, dessert wines or sherry, herbal tea, soda, bottled water, granola, biscotti, fresh fruit, and seasonal delicacies,” as well as “an afternoon cocktail upon arrival”, which all sounded perfect and lovely to us.

This was NOT our experience.

For starters, the cottage is not a cottage. It is an addition to the innkeeper’s home. The only division between the “cottage” and the house is a locked door in the bathroom. The yard space in front of the “cottage” entrance is the backyard to the innkeeper. One should be prepared to like dogs – which, fortunately, we do – because the dogs will be in the space surrounding your cottage.

A few “minor” things of note about the place that charged us $175/night ($192.50, with tax!): 1) the plants all around the cottage were dead and the outdoor furniture had not been cleaned; 2) there was no bathroom door (only a sheer white curtain); 3) the linens were stained and disgusting; 4) there were no lamps in the space, so there is no possible way to read while in bed, and the only lights in the room are attached to the ceiling fan, which are operated by a remote control unit (something that was not explained to us upon arrival); 5) the smoke detector was pulled from the wall; 6) there was no phone in the room; the innkeeper actually expects you to use your personal cell phone and minutes in order to communicate with her staff; 7) the “loft” is not accessible, unless you’re a Smurf, or one of the Seven Dwarfs; 8) the mirrors are hung at a level for people under 5 feet tall to use; 9) our room was never cleaned during our entire stay; 10) the television was broken; we had to actually unplug it in order to turn it off because the power button no longer works; and 11) there is no separate shower; one must stand in the Jacuzzi tub to access the shower head sticking out of the wall.

Although this laundry list of issues was enough to ensure that we would never return to this Inn, the true “lowlights” of this stay include: 1) there was a wedding and reception held at the Inn that we were never told about when we made our reservation; the DJ did not stop playing until 11:15pm; 2) we were not able to enjoy the breakfast and supposed "24-hour access" that was supposed to be included with our stay because we were locked out of the main house, and we were never given cocktails upon arrival; 3) we never met the innkeeper; and 4) there was no clear checkout procedure…we were never even given a receipt!

I have never written a bad review of a lodging experience in my life, so it goes without saying that this place was horrible. If you’re in need of a place to stay in Clarksville, VA, I would recommend saving yourself some money and a headache by renting a cabin at Occoneechee State Park or getting a room at the Best Western. Do not stay at Cooper’s Landing Inn; it’s a complete rip off.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any type of cottage they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank reaganmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We had been driving a while, traveling to Raleigh, and decided to stay in Clarksville. We happened upon what looked like a charming place for the night and asked if they had a room available. The hostess was friendly enough and showed us the rooms that were available. We chose a room and brought in our bags. Outside of the house we noticed the windows, inside and out, were covered in spider nests!!!! LOTS of them! We walked up the stairs and into our room. I got into the shower and noticed that shower curtain had black mold on it! GROSS!!!! The quilted bedding smelled is if it had never been washed, the corners of the room had cobwebs and the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off!. The whole experiece as not very relaxing or charming. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tnkerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksville
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
21.9 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
18.9 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 9 in Henderson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
20.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Landing Inn

Property: Cooper's Landing Inn
Address: 801 Virginia Ave, Clarksville, VA 23927-9170
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > Clarksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooper's Landing Inn & Traveler's Tavern is a part of Virginia's only lakeside town. Originally built in 1830, the home is surrounded by beautiful grounds and original outbuildings, including a working smokehouse which houses a hot tub for Bed & Breakfast guests. Boasting the recent addition of a 20' by 40' inground pool, Cooper's Landing Inn provides guests with a cool retreat during summer months. Surrounded by a brick patio, the pool area is complete with bistro tables and loungers where guests can savor a frozen cocktail or indulge with an item off our delicious pool menu. We also have a casual fine dining restaurant onsite where we offer farm to table gourmet cuisine and an outside patio where we serve dinner al fresco and have live music during the summer months. Because Cooper's Landing is truly a Romantic Getaway in Lake Country, many guests never leave the inn and enjoy a romantic small town escape and INNdulgences such as in-room massage, chocolate covered strawberries, and a glass of wine by the fire in winter or in the hammock during spring. Whatever your pleasure, Cooper's Landing Inn will make it memorable! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing