We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor and terrible personalities of employees.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clarksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Motel & Efficiencies
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clarksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor and terrible personalities of employees.”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my dad and his girlfriend there witch she has a handicap sticker. We had our boat and vehicle parked side by side one in handicap and one beside well the staff got to throwing a fit saying we was taking up 2 spots and it had to be moved well we moved right down the road to southhill and stayed at america economy inn it's econo lodge's old hotel. Rooms cheaper more amenities in the room and a lot cheaper. It's located where all the best restaurants is at. So never stay at lakeside drive down the road to southhill and stay. We r finished with the so called group at lakeside motel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buck2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I had a nice getaway next to the lake. I was peaceful and quiet, just what the doctor ordered. Now, the hotel is old (they still have metal keys for entry), but the entire staff was nice and helpful. There are a few restaurants in the area, McDonalds is right across the street, there is a chinese food place up the street and several pizza joints, Not to mention the quaint little restaurant next to the hotel.
The grounds were clean, the rooms were clean, but like I said it is an old hotel so there was a little dip in the carpet in the room. The view was awesome! I plan on visiting again asap.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the lake on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divah58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Had viewed some reviews for Lake motel and we were not expecting much, but we were going on a fishing trip and didn't plan on spending much time in the room, so we thought since it was inexpensive, we would just try it. It was not bad at all!! The room was clean, beds slept well, and the air was ice cold, which was very important since it was extremely hot outside. Pool was nice size. Staff was friendly. We will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Bring some extra towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank terlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were lucky enough to get a room at the Lake Motel the weekend of Lake Fest. I did not know anything about Buggs Island, Clarksville or the Lake Fest. For those of you who like to boat on massive bodies of water that are underdeveloped, thus avoiding the crowds and rough waters...this is the place! If you like to fish...again, this is the place.

The Lake Motel is an older motel that sits right on the water. Don't go in there expecting a top of the line, over priced chain motel. I loved this place. We were able to watch the fireworks from our balcony. We docked our boat at the public dock and was never concerned.

You launch your boat across the bridge at the park and then you can pull your trailer and vehicle back over to the motel and park. Make sure you get any bait before you get to the lake. There is only one marina close to Clarksville and they very limited supplies and gas. That's it! Keep in mind, this is NOT a State Recreation Area....it is an undeveloped reservior that encompasses 50,000 acres. If you are not going for the lake, then don't go because you will be disappointed.

Clarksville is a very small, sleepy little town. Hardee's is the most happening place there. There is a great restaurant across from the motel that has a lounge, great staff and the best omlets anywhere!!!

We loved this place and have made reservations for the boat races in September. We are on the waiting list for a room for Lake Fest next year.

One other bit of advice...Friday and Saturday during Lake Fest are CRAZY!! It is one big party at the motel. Sunday morning....a ghost town.....

Room Tip: 2nd floor lake front rooms are great but do not have elevators. King rooms are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbm1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

All I can say is TRASH Most of the people were trashy, hallways trashy, room trashy, grounds trashy. We were to stay for July 2,3 and 4th. Left on the 4th and didn't care that we payed for a day we didnt use. It was worth it to leave!! Pool and half the hotel was filled with what seemed like some Baptist church group gone wild. We never attempted to get in the pool because it was full all day and night. This was not some romantic hotel on the water. It was far from it. And smoke.......If you did not smoke, you were in the 1 percentile. Every body smoked every where. The rooms reeked! The mattress had stains all over it! The cleaning lady came on the 3rd and brought new towels..Thats it! Never made the bed, Trash still in all cans. Nothing done but bring towels. Decks are right next to each other so you cant open your dark as hell blind to let any sun in cause the neighbors can see right in!! The view was nice (I would look at it at 6 am when all was quiet). Could be a gold mine for someone who wants to fix it up and bring in the right clientele. As for now, it is the pits.
Steve and Jodi N. News Va.

Room Tip: Stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bassack42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clarksville hotels

McKees Rocks, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed from Friday to Sunday, for a family wedding. Our stay was awsome, the cleaning while we were away was prompt & well done (my wife is so pleased). Staff treated us with kindness & hospitality at all times. I am a sportsman and I plan on going back for Fishing in the future. " Thank you" Lake Motel & Efficiencies, Hope to see you all soon. Ken M.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

If you are looking for some serious peace and tranquility, the Lake Motel is the place to stay in Clarksville, Virginia. We stayed in a lakefront room on the second floor. The motel is two stories with outside entrances, and the walkway is covered. Each room has a balcony with chairs, accessible only through your room.

The lakefront rooms overlook the pool which overlooks the lake. Your view out your windows is due east so you can enjoy a beautiful sunrise on the lake.

The motel has icy cold air conditioning, for which you will be very grateful after a day of fishing or boating in their summer temperatures. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are well insulated for sound. You only get two bath towels (I really need two just for myself) and there are no toiletries besides the usual bar of soap. My only other complaint would be that you have pay for ice...as in the ice machine outside of the rooms requires money to get ice.

Each room has a refrigerator and microwave, and the motel provides a free continental breakfast every morning from 6 to 10, which consists of bagels, english muffins, mini-danish, coffee, juice, and apples. A toaster oven and microwave are provided. There's a cozy little kitchen with tables in it for you to enjoy your breakfast.

We rented a pontoon boat from the Clarksville Marina for the duration of our stay. The people at the marina are wonderful and the boat was great. The lake is quiet and has minimal boat traffic. The motel has it's own boat docks to tie up at night, and there are fish cleaning stations for your convenience.

Clarksville, itself, is a VERY quiet town. Not much going on. Don't expect chain stores or crowded, noisy restaurants. There are a variety of places to dine, mostly "mom and pop" types of eateries. At 6 pm on a weekday, I could stand in the middle of the main street and not even come close to being run over!

If you are looking for a getaway that is tranquil and relaxing, and you like to swim, fish, or boat, AND you love beautiful sunrises and sunsets, I'd highly recommend the Lake Motel and Efficiencies.

  • Liked — The cold a/c and the sound insulation of the rooms.
  • Disliked — Not enough towels, and having to pay for ice!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksville
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
19.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
19.3 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
22.3 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
21.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Henderson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Motel & Efficiencies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Motel & Efficiencies

Property: Lake Motel & Efficiencies
Address: 101 Virginia Ave, Clarksville, VA 23927-9227
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > Clarksville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clarksville
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Lake Motel & Efficiencies Hotel Clarksville
Lake Motel And Efficiencies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing