We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like family in this historic home...fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Churchville B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Felt like family in this historic home...fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

This was our first stay in a B and B and it was lovely. The historic home was warm and comfortable and the friendly owners Sylvia and Gerald made us feel like family. The beautiful location is convenient to downtown Staunton and local wineries. The rooms were clean, comfortable and a good size. Guests have the use of the home. In the morning you eat your breakfast prepared by the host family style in an inviting dining room by a roaring fire. What more could you ask for! We will be returning:)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momssharecare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

The Churchville Buckhorn Inn is everything you'd want a bed and breakfast in this area to be- full of character and charm, with nice owners in a quiet location. It's an older property, well-suited to those who value history and basic comforts more than luxury and frills. I stayed there with my boyfriend during a hectic time for the owners- they had just had a baby boy, and were in the middle of some repairs- but we still received excellent care. The ower was happy to talk with us about the history of the place, and personally cooked our breakfasts to order, as much food as we wanted. It's located about a fifteen minute drive from Staunton, where you can do a little shopping and eating, if desired, though we preferred day trips through the beautiful countryside to the Natural Bridge, hiking, and the Hot Springs Mineral Bath (a very rustic experience). No cell phone service for most, but we were happy to get away from it all. But don't fret- they do have a computer for guests to use to check email and look up directions, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12ChaChaCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Buckhorn Inn is a quaint, historical Inn originally built in the early 1800s, and has a lot of character. The owners, a lovely couple with two cute daughters, were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast was yummy and we loved that they grow their own veggies and gather eggs from their hens! We even bought some to take home. The location is great--nearby vineyards, historic Staunton, the Grand Cavern, and great hiking. We definitely recommend it for a weekend getaway to the beautiful Shenandoah Valley!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gomette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

If you're planning on spending time in the Shenandoah Valley, give serious consideration to the Buckhorn Inn for your lodging accommodations. Garlan, Sylvia and their two delightful daughters made us feel welcome right from the start. Rooms are spacious and clean. The homemade breakfast's were fantastic. We found the location in the National Forest to be very relaxing yet convenient to the area's attractions. There's a computer for guest's use and wireless internet access as well. Don't expect cell phone service (not necessarily a bad thing); however, a house phone is available for guest's use.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbseely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Solon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Buckhorn Inn. The innkeepers went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. We slept in the Stonewall Jackson room- and were very confortably situated. We had a queen sized bed, a living room area with satelite TV, a jacuzzi tub and there was a little side room with a day bed for our two daughters. We also had acess to another living room with a high def TV, snacks and internet.
The food was fabulous. The Innkeepers (and their family) were very friendly and hospitable. The bed was SO comfortable. The atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed. The Inn was impecably clean- yet a homey enviornment where our young children felt welcome. We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

This B&B is located in the perfect rural setting. The history of the house is amazing. The price is unbeatable. The rooms and big, clean and beautiful. But...the best thing about this Inn is the hosts, Garlan and Sylvia. They made you feel truly like family. Their charming kids were so loving and adorable. They truly went way out of their way to make us comfortable including a home cooked breakfast that takes you back in time. My wife and I are making this a regular get away. Go back in time and escape the pressure and pace of the world today, but if you need to plug back in there is an HDTV and internet access, but who needs that when your lost in time in this wonderful Inn. Thanks Garlan and Sylvia we will see you soon you can bet on that!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgottselig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjemoy, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

I have visited several B&B's in my time, the Buckhorn Inn ranks up there with the best! Garlan & Sylvia Yoder, along with their beautiful children, took incredible care of my group. The home is historic, built around 1811 with an addition more than 100 years later. Set in the Shenandoah, and just inside the George Washington National Forest, will take you back to the days of old, and appreciate the vast beauty and history of the area. I highly recommend a stay at the Buckhorn, it will be a visit not soon forgotten.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchville
13.3 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
18.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 12 in Staunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
24.8 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
19.7 mi away
Silver Lake Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckhorn Inn

Property: The Buckhorn Inn
Address: 2487 Hankey Mtn Hwy, Churchville, VA 24421
Location: United States > Virginia > Churchville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Churchville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If only these walls could talk...this 1811 stagecoach stop in the Shenandoah Valley could tell stories of Stonewall Jackson to traveling gamblers. Private baths, WiFi, satellite TV, wrap around porch. Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing