We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
59
21
1
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
21
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stonewall jackson national forest wrap around porches living room cable tv sized bed front porch next morning stagecoach room fireplace virginia
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 86 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2010

If you're planning on spending time in the Shenandoah Valley, give serious consideration to the Buckhorn Inn for your lodging accommodations. Garlan, Sylvia and their two delightful daughters made us feel welcome right from the start. Rooms are spacious and clean. The homemade breakfast's were fantastic. We found the location in the National Forest to be very relaxing yet convenient to the area's attractions. There's a computer for guest's use and wireless internet access as well. Don't expect cell phone service (not necessarily a bad thing); however, a house phone is available for guest's use.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbseely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Buckhorn Inn. The innkeepers went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. We slept in the Stonewall Jackson room- and were very confortably situated. We had a queen sized bed, a living room area with satelite TV, a jacuzzi tub and there was a little side room with a day bed for our two daughters. We also had acess to another living room with a high def TV, snacks and internet.
The food was fabulous. The Innkeepers (and their family) were very friendly and hospitable. The bed was SO comfortable. The atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed. The Inn was impecably clean- yet a homey enviornment where our young children felt welcome. We will definately be going back!

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This B&B is located in the perfect rural setting. The history of the house is amazing. The price is unbeatable. The rooms and big, clean and beautiful. But...the best thing about this Inn is the hosts, Garlan and Sylvia. They made you feel truly like family. Their charming kids were so loving and adorable. They truly went way out of their way to make us comfortable including a home cooked breakfast that takes you back in time. My wife and I are making this a regular get away. Go back in time and escape the pressure and pace of the world today, but if you need to plug back in there is an HDTV and internet access, but who needs that when your lost in time in this wonderful Inn. Thanks Garlan and Sylvia we will see you soon you can bet on that!!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjgottselig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I have visited several B&B's in my time, the Buckhorn Inn ranks up there with the best! Garlan & Sylvia Yoder, along with their beautiful children, took incredible care of my group. The home is historic, built around 1811 with an addition more than 100 years later. Set in the Shenandoah, and just inside the George Washington National Forest, will take you back to the days of old, and appreciate the vast beauty and history of the area. I highly recommend a stay at the Buckhorn, it will be a visit not soon forgotten.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast has all the eminities of a hotel but still with the charm of a bed and breakfast. If you are looking for a charming and relaxing place to get away from the hectic pace of the city,this is the place for you. My wife and I stayed there for a night and it was great! Very nice folks that run it with two charming daughters. The owner even gave us a tour of this very historic building! We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson room. Very nice and roomy with a gas fireplace,small jacuzzi and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good. Cooked to order too! The dining room is beautiful with a huge fireplace and a crackling woodfire going. They also have a very comfortbale living room area with HDTV,computer/Internet access or you can just sit and relax by the huge fireplace. A very highly recommended place to stay!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews