We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
58
21
1
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
21
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable tv living room sized bed stagecoach room virginia
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 85 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2017

My two teen daughters and I were heading to Lexington, VA from PA and wanted to stay somewhere more interesting than hotels on the Interstate. Buckhorn's location at the edge of the National Forest seemed perfect. It's a bit off the beaten path, but well-worth the effort. Garlan was a perfect B&B host - friendly, helpful, hospitable, but not overbearing. The Stagecoach room was great - two queen beds and a large, clean bathroom providing more than enough room for the three of us. The living room is large and well-stocked, providing a comfortable place to sit. The grand porch provides a beautiful view.

Breakfast was well-done, with eggs, hash browns, fruit, french toast, and coffee (bacon and sausage was available, but we did not partake). Garlan said that the only rule is "nobody leaves hungry". My girls really enjoyed. Our only regret was that we did not have time to explore the area, but Garlan did give us some very good advice on a truly beautiful route to Lexington. Should we ever have the reason to be in the neighborhood again, we will definitely stop by.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hshoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarlanYoder, Owner at The Buckhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Thank y'all for staying with us. It was pleasure getting to know you. Once small correction - that room actually has 2 full size beds rather than queens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

There're so many wonderful things to say about The Buckhorn Inn and the proprietors that I don't know where to begin. Very homey, very comfortable, and incredibly accommodating. If you want someplace to land other than your comfortable bedroom then head out to the porch. Too cold to sit outside? Not a problem - there's a very comfortable living room that's well stocked with tv, coffee maker, snacks and books galore. Do you like to hike? There are trails close by. Are you a history buff? Then this is the place. Two civil war generals stayed here. Check it out!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michimaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarlanYoder, Owner at The Buckhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

It's always encouraging to hear when folks have had a good time here. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Perfect stopping point after a day at the Highlands maple festival. The Inn was cozy and warm after being outside in freezing temps all day, very clean and well kept. The Yoder family was very welcoming and just all-around good people. We had our 9 year old with us and the Stonewall Jackson suite was the perfect choice for accommodations. Food was delicious and our family enjoyed some very needed R & R. Thanks!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank VTBAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I found this place when searching for accommodations near the Monterey Maple Festival. Convenient location. 30 minutes from Staunton, less than an hour from Monterey. The Inn is rustic and very charming. The hosts very friendly . All the comforts of home and an excellent full breakfast to boot. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank MaryKay23192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Our family of four stayed with the Yoders on New Year's Eve. We were greeted warmly and treated to the exceptional hospitality. The Inn is in fantastic shape considering its age. We had plenty of comfortable space to relax and spread out after being confined in the car for many hours. All our needs had been anticipated!

Room Tip: Garlan was painting and making improvements on some of the other rooms, as I imagine he does continuously.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2MyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews