We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place”
Review of The Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Churchville B&B and Inns
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Place”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Some of our extended family (16 of us) celebrated our dad's 80th birthday and a brother's 40th birthday by staying 2 nights at The Buckhorn Inn over a Maple Festival weekend. Even though it was a busy time, (the Yoder's hosted an all you can eat breakfast and later a supper buffet on Saturday) we were given lots of special attention. Sylvia even baked a delicious, surprise homemade birthday cake. This place has a warm family atmosphere, the entire Yoder family works together to make guests feel welcome. We would definitely recommend staying at The Buckhorn Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very clean, and spacious. we had a family reunion and had the secondfloor to ourselves. The rooms were big. The family that runs the place is very personable and wants to know your name. I slept better than I did in my own bed. Food is delicious. location is convenient to hikes, historic Towns, and harrisonburg or Charlottesville.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at the Buckhorn the owners made us feel welcome and in good hands. The full breakfasts were AMAZING and prepared as we entered the dining room: freshly cut fruit salad, eggs to order, pancakes and French toast put on the griddle upon ordering. They bake their own breads and muffins, farm their own eggs and purchases their meats from local organic farms. AND THEY TRY TO GIVE YOU SECONDS!! (their mantra is "Don't leave hungry"). We were impressed that they asked us what time we'd like to come down for breakfast each day, so we were able to relax and sleep in.

Silvia and Garland are friendly hosts who like to share their building's 200-year history. They offer ideas for local activities and dinner spots. We genuinely felt like treasured guests during our stay.

I highly recommend Buckford Inn to anyone passing through the Staunton area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Buckhorn Inn while hunting in the George Washington National Forest the first week of deer season. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. We have been coming to the area for over forty years, always camping near Ramsey's Draft. This year we decided to treat ourselves to a less demanding adventure. The inn is very comfortable and the hospitality of the proprietors was first class. They have three young children which made the stay even more enjoyable. We had evening meals with the family, what a treat! Our breakfast was always waiting for us no matter what time we requested it. If you have an occasion to go to the area, I highly recommend the Buckhorn Inn for your accommodations.

Room Tip: Book far enough in advance that you can have your choice depending on your needs or desires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely accommodations, very friendly hosts (and dog!), and the ambiance of the mountains in the fall? Priceless! Would recommend a light on the sign for finding our way after dark. Otherwise, great place and will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank czthrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I went up for the weekend and left the 2 year old home with the grandparents. The owner called the evening prior to confirm the approximate time that we would be arriving just to make sure the room was in order. We arrived around 9:30 pm on a Friday and were greeted at the entrance by Garland. He gave a little history of the place and showed us the common areas, phone, computer, and finally our room (the Sunset). You can name the time that you will be down for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday you will need to be down before 8 am as the family goes to church. We spent some time with the children of the house (two lovely daughters and one adorable younger son) who were full of personality, but very polite. The fireplace near the breakfast table set the mood for the day. In my opinion, the showcase of the house is the porch (day or night) with hundreds of hummingbirds chirping and battling over the feeders. Take a hike up the ridge behind the house or explore some of the nearby attractions.

The only issues I can really ding is that the water is very soft and adds a bit of time for getting all the soap off. The mattress was brand new and was a little harder than what we were used to. Other than that, we were very pleased with our stay. We look forward to next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garlan Y, Owner at The Buckhorn Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We're glad we could make your get-away special and relaxing. The 'hundreds' of hummingbirds might be a bit of a stretch; there are quite a few though and they certainly are fun to watch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I thought of the ad where the guys drive around until they lose cell service. Well, they could go here and that is just one of the great things about The Buckhorn Inn. It's not that it's in the middle of nowhere, it's just in the shadow of the mountains, a beautiful, cool valley that we visited in early September. Nearby Staunton, Va., is one of our regular stops when we head south because we enjoy the American Shakespeare Theater (Blackfriars) and we stayed here following a lovely opening of "Twelfth Night."
The Yoder's are great, down-to-earth people with two charming daughters and a dimpled, smiling son who can't get a word in edgewise with his two older sisters! The kids had breakfast with us - and a great breakfast it was with freshly gathered eggs, just shredded hashbrowns and toasted homemade wheat bread - and our fellow travelers. I smiled the whole time.
Great historic building. My wife LOVED the big clawfoot tub in the Hummingbird Room and the only thing softer than the water was the bed. This was our first B&B experience and while we're seasoned travelers who kinda enjoy the anonymity of a hotel, the experience here might bring us over and will definitely bring us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchville
13.3 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
18.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
13.7 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 12 in Staunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
MiddleRidge Bed and Breakfast
24.9 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
13.3 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckhorn Inn

Property: The Buckhorn Inn
Address: 2487 Hankey Mountain Hwy, Churchville, VA 24421-2816
Location: United States > Virginia > Churchville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Churchville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If only these walls could talk...this 1811 stagecoach stop in the Shenandoah Valley could tell stories of Stonewall Jackson to traveling gamblers. Private baths, WiFi, satellite TV, wrap around porch. Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing