We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Christiansburg
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Christiansburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Christiansburg(Christiansburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
73
7
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
7
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 84 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

First of all, the Inn keepers at the Inn at Hans Meadow have obviously traveled before. All the little comforts from home are in your room. Q-Tips, body lotion, more than enough toilet paper, they have you covered! The grounds are beautiful!!!! And as an animal lover, I was thrilled to see that they are caring for the two cats who "came with" the Inn. Next, my husband was sick when we were traveling (head cold) and the owner offered to take him breakfast in bed!!! I was afraid that with him sleeping in he would miss breakfast, but there is no set time and no set menu!!! That woman is a whiz in the kitchen!!! Name it, she'll make it, if she doesn't know it (which I don't know how she couldn't) she will find it. I wouldn't let her take him breakfast in bed, I didn't want him to get that spoiled. And to my title...scones. I am not a fan of scones (well, wasn't) but bananas Foster scones!!!! WHO DOES THAT!!!!! Mrs. Swope (sorry...Lisa) does that's who! I am so spoiled now that I don't want to try scones from anywhere else!!! I have never stayed anywhere else before that made you feel like family. For as beautiful as the Inn is, for as lovely the antiques, you don't feel like you can't touch anything. It has the charm but not the museum feel. It just feels like you are coming home. I am now finding myself looking for reasons to go to Virginia. I am not a native of the area and it was a fluke that we ended up at the Inn, but I need to go back! I feel like I have left a dear old friend and I need to get back to visit. Lisa and Pam (yes, first name basis with the owners, that is how they treat everyone) understand the weary traveler, they understand that you are far from your own home, and they go out of their way to make you feel at home without seeming to be going out of their way. You are not their guest being at the Inn, you are a friend that they didn't know they had until you showed up. And you leave knowing that they will remember your name when you come back. And there will be a when, this is not the kind of place that is just a quick stop or a random place to rest your head. This is the kind of place that you plan your next trip around to make sure you go back! There are a ton of stories that Lisa and Pam have yet to tell, and I really need to hear them all. They are not just inn keepers, they are not just business owners, they are friends, friends that I'm so happy to have met. So to all other B&B's out there, visit the Inn at Hans Meadow, see how having an Inn is done right!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at the Inn at Hans Meadows Bed & Breakfast in Christiansburg, VA! I spent the evening chatting with hostess, Lisa, sipping wine & watching Dancing With the Stars finale, while my husband watched football in the bedroom close by. Our early morning breakfast was fit for a king, Best Ever. Our stay will remain an unforgettable memory.
They made us feel like we were at home and not in a hotel. Dick & Bev Saylor

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This rating category is definitely not enough for this place. I would like to give 10 instead of 5. Excellence in all categories. Many B&B places and many high prize hotels could learn from The owners of the Hans Meadow Inn. This place is magical, professional, fun, cosy, historic, clean... and much more than any guest could expect. Not only is the standard quality higher than in any 5 star hotel (complimentary robe, water, coffee, wifi), but on top of it the owners (who have a great humor btw) add more and more to it. They invited me for a bottle of beer, I had the most interesting and fun conversations. It was like meeting your best friends after 20 years: A big hello & warm welcome. You can have your privacy - if you like. But I preferred spending some time with the owners which turned out to be such valuable , precious moments. Every detail is perfection. Even the highest quality of bed sheets, I have never slept in something like this. The breakfast was made with love and was extraordinary delicious! This place would be perfect for a honeymoon couple. There are two cats in the house who also take care of the guests: one of them sat on my lap right away. But if there are guests with allergies, the owners don´t mind putting them away for the time. I could go on and on. This 1850 built place is special, the energy in the house is amazing, and the owner are treasures. Warning: You might leave your heart there! It is worth driving a few hundred miles extra just to stay there!

Room Tip: All rooms make you feel like a royalty :)
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It starts with the chickens and cats that greet you in the driveway, then it's the beautifully restored rooms and comfortable beds, and finally the ultimate reason to keep coming back to the Inn is the amazing breakfast. Served at a time convenient for you (not the case in most B&Bs) and made to order, it's the best part of our trek to Virginia Tech. To set the bar even higher, the owners Lisa and Pam also offer evening home baked goodies and wine on the porch or by the outdoor fire. This whole package is wrapped up in the warmest hospitality ever offered by owners. Lisa and Pam take the time to visit with guests and make you feel as though you are part of the family. It's like visiting a well loved relative and having them cater to your every need. The Inn at Hans Meadow is more than just a place to sleep, it's a place to gather with good friends.

Room Tip: Choose the main house or the carriage house. The carriage house is a little less cost, but just as nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staying at bed and breakfasts you come to expect certain things. A cozy environment, comfortable. amenities, beautiful outdoor spaces.. and often times good company. This gem of the new river valley has all of tthese things. We had a great stay and the hosts were fun and enjoyable. Whether looking ffor a place to stay in the area or somewhere to escape for a night out of the house the Inn at Hans Meadow is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews