We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“What a Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at the Inn at Hans Meadows Bed & Breakfast in Christiansburg, VA! I spent the evening chatting with hostess, Lisa, sipping wine & watching Dancing With the Stars finale, while my husband watched football in the bedroom close by. Our early morning breakfast was fit for a king, Best Ever. Our stay will remain an unforgettable memory.
They made us feel like we were at home and not in a hotel. Dick & Bev Saylor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
26
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This rating category is definitely not enough for this place. I would like to give 10 instead of 5. Excellence in all categories. Many B&B places and many high prize hotels could learn from The owners of the Hans Meadow Inn. This place is magical, professional, fun, cosy, historic, clean... and much more than any guest could expect. Not only is the standard quality higher than in any 5 star hotel (complimentary robe, water, coffee, wifi), but on top of it the owners (who have a great humor btw) add more and more to it. They invited me for a bottle of beer, I had the most interesting and fun conversations. It was like meeting your best friends after 20 years: A big hello & warm welcome. You can have your privacy - if you like. But I preferred spending some time with the owners which turned out to be such valuable , precious moments. Every detail is perfection. Even the highest quality of bed sheets, I have never slept in something like this. The breakfast was made with love and was extraordinary delicious! This place would be perfect for a honeymoon couple. There are two cats in the house who also take care of the guests: one of them sat on my lap right away. But if there are guests with allergies, the owners don´t mind putting them away for the time. I could go on and on. This 1850 built place is special, the energy in the house is amazing, and the owner are treasures. Warning: You might leave your heart there! It is worth driving a few hundred miles extra just to stay there!

Room Tip: All rooms make you feel like a royalty :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It starts with the chickens and cats that greet you in the driveway, then it's the beautifully restored rooms and comfortable beds, and finally the ultimate reason to keep coming back to the Inn is the amazing breakfast. Served at a time convenient for you (not the case in most B&Bs) and made to order, it's the best part of our trek to Virginia Tech. To set the bar even higher, the owners Lisa and Pam also offer evening home baked goodies and wine on the porch or by the outdoor fire. This whole package is wrapped up in the warmest hospitality ever offered by owners. Lisa and Pam take the time to visit with guests and make you feel as though you are part of the family. It's like visiting a well loved relative and having them cater to your every need. The Inn at Hans Meadow is more than just a place to sleep, it's a place to gather with good friends.

Room Tip: Choose the main house or the carriage house. The carriage house is a little less cost, but just as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staying at bed and breakfasts you come to expect certain things. A cozy environment, comfortable. amenities, beautiful outdoor spaces.. and often times good company. This gem of the new river valley has all of tthese things. We had a great stay and the hosts were fun and enjoyable. Whether looking ffor a place to stay in the area or somewhere to escape for a night out of the house the Inn at Hans Meadow is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place run by beautiful people! Luxurious feel in such a friendly and warm atmosphere.. The house and grounds were clean and inviting. A wonderful experience with the two best hosts ever had at any stay. An absolute must stay, but one night leaves you wishing for more!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great football weekend at the inn - GO HOKIES! Innkeepers (and cousins) Lisa and Pam are the new owners of the inn and were wonderful hosts. The inn is beautifully decorated and our room was so cosy, comfortable, clean and quiet. The bed (all new beds) was incredibly comfortable and we slept better than we've ever slept away from home.

Breakfast was amazing! Delicious pumpkin waffles drizzled in homemade maple pecan syrup, made to order omelets with fresh local goat cheese, fresh vegetables, local sausage and bacon, fresh fruit, lots of great loose leaf teas. Coming back to the inn after a long rainy day, drenched from the torrential downpour the entire game, we were greeted with homemade red velvet and chocolate chip cookies and warm tea! Just perfect!

The best part of our stay was talking and laughing with Lisa and Pam, and although we just met, we feel like we've been friends for a long time.

Looking forward to our visit next month!

Kathy B.
Reston, VA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

From beginning to end, this B&B experience was amazing..first off, VERY military friendly! We were greeted by Lisa and Pam and immediately given a tour of the beautiful garden and inn. They gave us great dinner recommendations (BBQ down the street) and even upgraded our room since the room was not in use. They welcomed us to wine and hors d'oeuvres and we had a great evening talking with guests, Lisa, and Pam! The next morning breakfast was phenomenal. Custom omelets, bacon, French toast, juice, and coffee were excellent! The whole experience was great and we can't wait to go back and just spend time there relaxing!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyeyes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
250 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1800 Depot St NE, Christiansburg, VA 24073-3267
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 163 year old mansion is one of the areas finest Bed and Breakfasts. Located in Christiansburg VA, the heart of the New River Valley, the inn is close to several area attractions such as the Blue Ridge Parkway, Blacksburg VA (home of Virginia Tech) and Radford VA (home of Radford University). The Inn is the perfect place for romantic weekends, corporate meetings, receptions and the wedding of your dreams. Corporate and extended stay rates available. Offering free high speed wireless internet service, flat screen LED televisions, deluxe breakfasts and afternoon goodies all help make The Inn at Hans Meadow the perfect place to stay while in Virginia! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing