We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryan's Christiansburg - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ryan's Christiansburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Fairlawn, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We go there about once every 2 months for lunch......great place to eat. Plenty of variety of food for adults and children. Family atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonLynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant in Christiansburg!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We heard that Ryan's was under new management so we decided to give it another chance. (They had had a bad reputation for the last few years for poor food and service). When we walked in, another customer was getting a refund for his meal. He turned and advised us to leave before we wasted our money. I wish we had listened. The restaurant was dirty, apparently there was a water leak at the ice cream machine with rotten water running out over the floor. I never saw anyone trying to clean it up, there was just a wet floor sign sitting in the middle of the water. The odor was so bad that people were moving to one side of the restaurant to get away from it. The food was terrible. The fried foods were inedible because they had burnt the oil and the food was dark brown and burnt tasting. We had to eat salad and vegetables. Several food trays were empty when we arrived and still empty when we left. The waitress never asked why our plates of food were still half full when she picked up dirty plates, I guess she knew the food was too horrible to eat. We have been to other towns and they had great Ryans. Why can't Christiansburg get a decent Ryan's or change out to Golden Corral. Don't waste your money here. There are plenty of other restaurants in Christiansburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CarnanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hate this place”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I hate Ryan's but I love my family so I am forced to go there a couple of times a year. It is awful. It is by far the worst restaurant in the new river valley. Unclean, unkempt, uninspiring cuisine matched with horrible service in a crowded setting better suited for a NASCAR race or a billy ray Cyrus concert. Don't go here. Ever. I dread my next visit :(

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imhapi2bme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“No Way......Never Again”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have heard that other Ryan's are very good...this would be the exception...poor food quality...unclean...poor service...I even found a piece of blue plastic in my food one time....We really need a Golden Corral....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bluelava99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Disappointing”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were visiting Blacksburg this past weekend and my husband wanted to take me out for Mother's Day breakfast. We chose Ryan's because we've eaten there before. BIG MISTAKE! We arrived at around 9:50 and were told breakfast would be over at ten, even though the sign (only about five feet away from the hostess) said breakfast was served until 10:30. Right away the hostess was extremely rude. She would reply to my husband with "What?" multiple times (this just seemed so inappropriate). The food was awful! The French toast was so hard it probably would have knocked a hole in the wall if I'd thrown it. The eggs looked like they had been out for hours and the grits were crumbling the whole time I was trying to scoop them (anyone who knows anything about grits knows they are not supposed to crumble when cooked). We ended up eating a couple biscuits, a few slices of bacon and one pancake for $19+. We left incredibly disappointed and will never go back to this place. The only plus to the entire visit was that the waitress was very nice and kept our drinks filled. I highly recommend you find somewhere else to eat breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's Christiansburg also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing