We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect lunch spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery

Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charlotte
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped in to the Mockingbird Cafe and Bakery after going to the antique store that is in the same building, and wow did we get lucky! We shared a bowl of lentil soup, a chicken salad croissant, and a pumpkin scone. All three were absolutely delicious! The chicken salad croissant was killer - and the scone was perfect - just enough pumpkin flavor without being overpowering.

If we lived in Christiansburg, I would be a regular here for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ewfickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I drive approx. 20 minutes to eat here. Everything is made from scratch and is fresh. The prices are reasonable, too. I've had a few of her sandwiches and they're all good but my favorite is the pulled pork on a moonshine roll. My sister had a scone which was the best she's ever eaten, her words, not mine. The cinnamon rolls with icing are large and sweet! I've not had everything she makes but I'm working on it. Come see what's new in Christiansburg, VA.

Wait! I forgot the chicken salad on croissant. That may be my favorite or maybe it's a tie with the pulled pork. See which one is your favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kareen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Tried for the first time and we weren't disappointed. One of the few places my husband and I can agree on. Was able to find a good lunch on my low-carb diet, but was tortured by the amazing looking deserts and homemade breads. Brussels sprout salad, vegetable soup, and iced chai were amazing. My husband loved his jerk pork sandwich, especially the moonshine roll. Friendly service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24073
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food... nice atmosphere.. nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a great meal here. The oat bread was fabulous! The muffelatta was good according to my husband. Really nice people running the place & a cute ambiance too... tablecloths & things that make it cozy.. sweet tea wasnt overly sweet ... it was just right!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank candicegaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a lovely find in Christiansburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My dear friend and I were surprised and pleased to stumble upon the Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery for lunch. I had egg salad on sourdough bread and it was perfect. Tea was freshly brewed and I had a peanut butter cookie that had to be shared! It was really big and scrumptious, Lunch was so good that I had to try it 2 days in a row and was only disappointed that they had sold out of almost everything on the shop!! People were very pleasantly waiting in line. Nice to see freshly prepared items and the service by a young man was excellent. So glad to have this cafe open and so alive!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiwassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 
Christiansburg, VA
 
Christiansburg, VA
 

Been to Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing