We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and tasty”

Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are an intimate bakery/cafe in the heart of the New River Valley and Blue Ridge Mountains, a stone's throw from RU and VT as well as Floydfest, Mountain Lake and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Our specialty is chicken salad on a house-crafted fresh croissant and our other sandwiches include turkey club, reuben, Cuban, house-made pimento cheese and egg salad, and the caprese with fresh mozzarella, tomato and basil pesto. We make a fresh salad every day and the case is full of cupcakes, cookies and pie/cake selections.
Bethesda, MD
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique and tasty”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Tried for the first time and we weren't disappointed. One of the few places my husband and I can agree on. Was able to find a good lunch on my low-carb diet, but was tortured by the amazing looking deserts and homemade breads. Brussels sprout salad, vegetable soup, and iced chai were amazing. My husband loved his jerk pork sandwich, especially the moonshine roll. Friendly service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
24073
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food... nice atmosphere.. nice people”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a great meal here. The oat bread was fabulous! The muffelatta was good according to my husband. Really nice people running the place & a cute ambiance too... tablecloths & things that make it cozy.. sweet tea wasnt overly sweet ... it was just right!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank candicegaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a lovely find in Christiansburg!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My dear friend and I were surprised and pleased to stumble upon the Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery for lunch. I had egg salad on sourdough bread and it was perfect. Tea was freshly brewed and I had a peanut butter cookie that had to be shared! It was really big and scrumptious, Lunch was so good that I had to try it 2 days in a row and was only disappointed that they had sold out of almost everything on the shop!! People were very pleasantly waiting in line. Nice to see freshly prepared items and the service by a young man was excellent. So glad to have this cafe open and so alive!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiwassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are honestly able to walk away from this cafe thinking that you will find a better blueberry biscuit covered in icing, anywhere... then you are kidding yourself! The food is wonderful and so is the staff. I'm lucky enough to live a few blocks from this place. That's not good news for waistline.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deweysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another wonderful lunch at the Mockingbird Cafe and Bakery today, I can't stay away!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The atmosphere is casual and inviting and the food is fabulous, fresh every day made from scratch. We have needed a gem like this in our area for a long time, thank you Donna for making it happen.

The chicken salad is my favorite and you have to try the jerk pork on a moonshine roll with lime mayonnaise, you won't be disappointed. And of course I love ALL the sweets, I am hooked and a regular!

Do yourself a favor and go to Mockingbird for a fantastic meal.

If you like Mockingbird Cafe and Bakery on Facebook, everyday you will see what Donna is preparing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mockingbird Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing