We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitebarrel Winery

Whitebarrel Winery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Whitebarrel Winery prides itself on distinctive wines, each made on-site, in a variety of styles. Our wines range from award-winning dry whites and reds to delightful semi-sweets, and unique dessert wines too. You can extend your experience beyond tastings to include light fare food items from our kitchen menu, and a glass, tasting flight, or bottle of wine overlooking the vineyard. Wine Tastings start at $5.00, Wine Flights at $8.50, as well as glasses, bottles, and food purchases between $6.00 and $26.00.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
506 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“New Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've visited about 25 wineries in VA so far, and I would have to say this is our new favorite. The grounds are nice, and the tasting building is awesome. More like a restaurant, and they do sell some food and have a little kitchen. The tasting room is actually more like a dining area and they let you sit at a table and bring the wine tastings to you. Novel idea. We really liked all of the wines we tasted, and they had a very good variety. The staff who helped us was very friendly. They also have tables on a patio area, so I'm sure this would also be a cool place in the summer time. It's just too bad that we're from Richmond and it's almost 4 hours away!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice to have it so close, but not quite what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The wine is hit and miss-with their award winners seemingly always sold out. Food is also hit and miss, some great, some inedible. Atmosphere inside the tasting room is odd....can't decide if they want to be the cool wine spot or country flea market.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small Winery with a family touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had Valentine lunch at Attimo Winery, the food was very good and very fairly priced. We did the wine tasting and liked the way they brought the different wines to your table.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great wines AND great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The wines at this place are great - especially the reds. The food they offer is tasty too! Service is nice and you can do a tasting while sitting at your own table, instead of having to stand the entire time. Nice place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have been to the winery several times for tastings, a glass of wine and a light lunch. That you can sit at a table for a tasting is very relaxing as opposed the feeding trough style of most tastings. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Wines are quite good and reasonably priced. Food enjoyable. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pickytraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitebarrel Winery also viewed

 

Been to Whitebarrel Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing