We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean & pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our son is a new Hokie, and our most recent stays have been at the Holiday Inn University location in Blacksburg. We moved him in and found we needed to stay an extra night, the HI in Blacksburg and the one in Christianburg (less than 5 miles from campus) were booked, but I was able to get a room here (which is less than 10 miles from campus)

There is free wifi, which worked fine and breakfast was included. It was held in a good size dining area, included eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and a pancake maker. It was a typical HI Express breakfast and well maintained.

Even though this isn't as close to campus as many other hotels, it's not a bad ride if you can't get a room closer and the hotel is worth staying in. I would stay again and the only complaint I have is that the price higher than I would have expected, especially further from campus. I even paid less for the previous night right in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiBune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear SkiBune,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I am happy to hear that we meet and exceeded your expectations! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Rebecca Gabris
General Manager
hiechristiansburg@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
83
38
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express twice this past week, one night on our way to our destination, and then again on our way back. We were traveling with our two children (ages 4 months, and 3 years, and knew we were going to be getting in later at night (10pm), and with tired/crabby children to boot.

Check in was easy, with no wait obviously, since it was so late. We decided to get two adjoining rooms, both with queen beds. We stuck our pack and play in the bathroom of the first bedroom, and set our 3 year old up in the main bedroom area. Then we opened the doors that connected the rooms, and set ourselves up in the second bedroom.

It seemed to work really well, we were able to move around in the first bedroom and read and relax from the long drive without disturbing our little ones, and they were still close enough by that I felt safe. The pack and play was too large for us to close the door to the bathroom, but it was great for a small dark quiet space for our 4 month old, and it kept the baby who is a very noisy sleeper from waking up our three year old who is a very light sleeper.

Bathroom was clean, and provided the usual shampoo and conditioner, as well as a makeup remover towelette, which I thought was a nice addition. We had plenty of hot water, and towels were decent.

I was slightly nervous about the noise levels, because the first night we stayed we were placed fairly close to the elevator. I don't know how crowded the hotel was, but we never had a problem with hearing noises from the hall.

In the morning we got up, had breakfast, which was reasonable and hot, though not of great quality. But it was exactly the sort of fair that one would expect at a holiday inn. There was a little pancake machine, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, muffins and bagels, cereal, and some apples and bananas. I would have loved to see some fresh fruit salad, but we certainly survived without it.

We also took our daughter into the pool briefly. It was a bit cold, but otherwise just fine. The pool area was clean, and chlorine levels in the pool seemed to be good. Towels for drying off were provided at the pool.

All in all our stay was great, especially for the price. Very reasonable all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRyles07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear JRyles07,

Thank you for letting us know of the experience you had while staying at our Hotel. We do try our best to provide the best of service and quality. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our breakfast and pool area. I hope to have you stay with us again when visiting the area.

Rebecca Gabris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCormick, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here a few years ago and found it as clean and fresh as It was then. The rooms are very large, with the usual desk and chair plus a couch and upholstered chair. There is also a refrigerator and table and chairs. Being located in a college town, there are many restaurants in the area. It is conveniently located near 81. Good price, if not HOKIE Football Season.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Barb S.,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our location. We do try our best to have the best of service and quality. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Rebecca Gabris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I just completed a 7-state trip driving up the east coast from Florida to Pittsburgh visiting colleges with my daughter. Of all the hotels where we stayed, this one was the cleanest and most comfortable, complete with contemporary decor and a terrific staff. It beat out the 4 star hotels we stayed at in many respects. I would not hesitate to stay here again and, in fact, I will definitely return if my daughter chooses Virginia Tech! You can't beat it for the price, cleanliness, comfort, and cute decor!

Room Tip: Be sure to get Google or Mapquest printed directions if you are visiting the university. My Garmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Erin C,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We do strive to have the best of service and I am happy to see that we exceeded your expectations. I hope to have you stay with us again on your way through the area.


Rebecca Gabris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 7-9 June 2013, at the start of a touring vacation this being our first stop driving south out of Dulles Airport.

Hotel amenities and staff were fine. The room was clean comfortable and in good repair.

Good location for visiting Roanoke and Blacksburg.

Breakfast was the usual self service buffet. However there were a couple of large parties of school kids that were attending sporting events in the area, meaning breakfast time was crowded and having to wait for some foods to be replenished.

Overall a pleasant place to stay and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Can't go wrong with this hotel. Its right off of interstate 81, only 10 minutes from Virginia Tech and Radford University and only 40 minutes from Roanoke. There are plenty of places to eat, both fast food and sit down all within a quick drive. Hotel itself is really clean and the cleaning staff does a great job. Front desk staff was great as well. The rooms are very spacious and even though its close to 81, the hotel is very quiet. If I'm back in the area for business, I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-Man09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We changed our usual stay on our trip to see family from Salem to here. (If you read our review of Salem, you would understand why we decided to change our plans and try another HI Express. We always try to stay "Smart" as they say. Anyway, the desk service was great - professionaly attired (a nice change from Salem, Va !). They had everything set for our room request and were polite and helpful. Everything was great! The breakfast room was clean and breakfast was what we always expect at HI Express. A decent cup of coffee! Horray!!! All in all, a good stay and will stay again next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinmountpleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#11 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Address: 2725 Roanoke St, Intersection I-81 & Exit 118C, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Christiansburg is nestled in the beautiful Virginia Mountains along Interstate 81. The hotel is located minutes from Virginia Tech and Radford University. Blacksburg, Roanoke and Salem are easily accessible from the hotel. Enjoy the Southern hospitality of the area without sacrificing business conveniences. We have a very friendly staff that will make your stay feel like you are right at home. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Christiansburg, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Christiansburg
Holiday Inn Christiansburg
Christiansburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing