We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stays - helpful front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Nice overnight stays - helpful front desk staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of a traveling trip and again the last night of that same trip. The location is just off I-81 and very convenient for an overnight stay. Everything was fine. Our room with a king-size bed was not as large as some other Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed at, but adequate for our needs. The bathroom had a granite counter top with lots of room for toiletries. The hotel was clean, and the staff was pleasant and helpful with restaurant recommendations. But most restaurants are in downtown Christiansburg, about 10 minutes from the hotel.

The hotel has a side entrance very close to the elevator, which is very convenient. The room key is required to open this door from the outside, making security of this entrance good. A business center with one computer is located near the lobby, but this was in use when we wanted to use it, so we used our laptop with the wireless Internet connection in our room. The room connection worked fine.

Our breakfast was O.K. and met our needs. It included two hot items, pre-made cheese omelets and sausage, plus the pancake maker mentioned by previous Trip Advisor writers. And of course the sticky buns found at all Holiday Inn Express hotels.

This hotel fully met our needs and we definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    66
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
94
42
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel before without problems so maybe we just hit them on a bad day.

First, let me say that all the staff were very nice and helpful. So there was no issue with them. The condition of the room was the problem we had. We noticed the microwave was unplugged and when we plugged it in we discovered why. We were heating a cup of water and it worked fine - once. Then it started beeping out of the blue and had unintelligible codes appear on the display. We went ahead and unplugged it like the guests before it must have done.

We then noticed that the sink in the bathroom would only turn off completely when you turned the single lever to a certain position. That was true the night we checked in. By the morning, it didn't matter which direction you turned it, a trickle of water continued.

We reported both issues when we checked out and they were very surprised to hear of the problems. We also noted that the molding around the tub was rather stained. They didn't really affect our stay there, but they seemed like they might have been symptomatic of a larger issue of lack of attention to detail.

One other good thing to end the review on...in the breakfast room they have a really neat automatic pancake maker that makes six really good pancakes.

Room Tip: Ask if they've fixed the problems in room 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Easy to find off the interstate. Just down the street from a Cracker Barrel, which is one of our favorite places to eat when on a road trip. The front desk was very cordial, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathtub was very slippery. There was no mat to place in the tub. I mentioned this to the front desk clerk upon checkout and she said she would pass this on to the manager however they were totally remodeling this motel in the next few months and she felt that would be part of the remodeling process. Overall the one night stay was pleasant. Slept right thru the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This hotel is pretty new, and definitely is super clean!!! The rooms are more spacious than normal (which is GREAT) and were very clean and well appointed. The staff were very courteous and offered to help with restuarant recommendations or any other assistance I needed. There are laundry facilities on site and a number of restuarants just down the street.

It is super convenient to the Interstate, and not too far away from Virginia Tech (maybe ~6-7 miles).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0112CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Over the years we have stayed at almost every motel in the area and this is by far the nicest...Seems all the others have ended their maintenance programs and are allowing their facilities to become run down...Even though this facility costs more, it is worth every dollar......

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drummerbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Located just outside of town and easy to find off I-81, the Holiday Inn Express in Christiansburg does not disappoint. We stayed there as we were in town for a funeral. Room was clean, comfortable and was up to snuff with other Holiday Inn Expresses we stayed at.
Our room was a King Jacuzzi mini-suite, the weekend we arrived was Radford University's parent's weekend and when booking this room on short notice the website listed the hotel as full. A call to the hotel put us in touch with a very pleasant desk clerk that told me they had just had a cancellation and one room was available. We jumped on the room as we needed to find something close to town.

The cost was a bit pricey but at $145 +/- for a few hour advance time was acceptable. The room did not disappoint although the wall paper over the bathroom door was peeling and the ironing board was broken (but still usable). After a long day of driving and attending the 1st night of the funeral the jacuzzi was a welcome sight. It worked perfect and was more than enough room for two.

The hotel was packed with kids and parents but remained mostly quiet except for the kids running and jumping in the room over our head. We called the front desk and they addressed the situation.

Hot breakfast was good with meats, eggs (omelets), cereals and breads. The coffee was good as well. Could not find a full juice bar 24/7 like other HI Express we have stayed in but the coffee was available in the lobby.

If you are staying in or around Christiansburg, the Holiday Inn Express is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Travelling_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Nice clean large rooms that made a good home base for a visit to Virginia Tech for a football game. Our room on the first floor was a little noisy, primarily because of kids running and screaming to/from the breakfast room. As for the breakfast, it was standard hotel chain continental fare; nothing special. Front desk and cleaning staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikencarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Address: 2725 Roanoke St, Intersection I-81 & Exit 118C, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Christiansburg is nestled in the beautiful Virginia Mountains along Interstate 81. The hotel is located minutes from Virginia Tech and Radford University. Blacksburg, Roanoke and Salem are easily accessible from the hotel. Enjoy the Southern hospitality of the area without sacrificing business conveniences. We have a very friendly staff that will make your stay feel like you are right at home. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Christiansburg, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Christiansburg
Holiday Inn Christiansburg
Christiansburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing