We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfectly Adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our family stayed here, like other folks, while visiting our daughter at VT. We had our schedule change, and this was only place that had rooms for a home game at the last minute. While I wasn't thrilled with having to do a minimum 2 night stay with no cancellation, apparently that's standard at this time of year. Like another reviewer, this hotel was far enough away as not the be in constant traffic but only about an easy 20 minute drive to the campus. I drove to Chick fil A on Saturday morning for breakfast without a problem. No traffic since I was not on or around the campus. I was surprised how quiet the hotel was as it was sold out for homecoming weekend game. We used the breakfast bar on Sunday and it was kept full and had a great selection of foods. Even a waffle maker with flavored batter. My son is a teenager and we got a double room that was perfectly adequate for our needs. A place to sleep and access to VT campus. The room was clean, the elevator was always available and the check in and out were easy. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momw2va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great weekend in Christiansburg, while visiting your HOKIE! We take great pride to provide the best all around! We wish you many more safe travels and hope to see you again on your next visit to Virginia Tech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    78
    39
    13
    20
See reviews for
86
46
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Space prevents me listing the full details of our horrid stay. We reserved a block of 25 rooms to accommodate a family wedding. The door locks on at least 2 rooms didn't lock - we came back from dinner to find the door to one of our rooms wide open. One room had urine on the bathroom floor and one of our family members refused to tell us what she found in her bathroom. The hotel hallways and elevator are not cooled or heated so rooms tend to be sweltering or freezing...all night long. One family in our party was charged $100 because one of their comforters was missing ...only a desperate soul would ever steal hotel linens, especially from a place like this. The manager twice said he would refund the fee and both times charged this family of 5 from our home church an additional $100 for a total of $300. This took nearly 2 weeks to remedy. Much of the wallpaper observed in the entire hotel seems to be peeling and almost every room among our group of 25 rooms smelled of cigarette smoke and some sort of masking agent like Ozium. We were all supposed to have "smoke free" rooms. I have to say that hands down, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NovaTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank for your stay and review. On behalf of the entire staff, I apologize for your unpleasant stay. We strive to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable experience and we deeply regret it when we do not exceed those expectations. We invite you to come visit us again so that we may have another chance to provide you with the exceptional experience that we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christiansburg hotels

Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was thinking it was close to Christiansburg almost did not use them because I needed to near Sinkland Farms for a wedding, well i worked out being only 4 min down the road, just perfect. On downside was the check in was different, the young lady did not ask for ID, Credit Card verification or auto tag number, which was a first for me, The Hotel was full and they did not have any extras i.e. pillows, The breakfast was very slow, many they I one person trying to keep up with 3 coffee bins, four cereal type, four juices, eggs, sausage, toast and on and on, she needed help. Things were clean. One complaint...the door was opened to the bed room, found out it was HARD TO CLOSE...

Room Tip: If you need to quick stop of I-81 or a place near to Radford University or Sinkland Farms Great..Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review! We love hearing the feedback from our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our staff and our hotel. It's a shame you did not get to enjoy our amenities such as the pool! We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and your room! We are looking forward to seeing you again! Wishing you many more safe travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Christiansburg while visiting our daughter at Virginia Tech. The hotel is located right off the highway about 15 minutes from campus. I think the distance kept us away from hotels packed with college kids and families, which is great as we like things on the quiet side. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. I have to admit that I was very impressed. The common areas were all clean and the breakfast area was kept well stocked. While we did not swim in the pool we stopped in any everything looked as if it were well kept. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to visit our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay and review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, we love to hear feedback from our guests! We are always trying to make your stay with us pleasant and memorable and will welcome you back soon so we can try to make your next trip as exceptional as the last!

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I would have to say this is one of the worst Comfort inns I have stayed in. The service not there, the shower had mold in the corners, shower hmm ead full of build up, bad beds, up all night with people running the hallways. The next morning went down to breakfast had to wait 15 minutes for coffee and the hot food. And this was only 30 min after it opened. Would not stay there again. Back to Holiday inns.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. Please understand we will not sweep these comments to the side and they are all being address. We strive to be the best and provide everything everyone wants and needs in a hotel. We wish you many safe travels and hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived at this location around 8pm. We were traveling here for my daughter's freshman visit to VA Tech. It was only 10 - 15 min to Tech. The room was not filthy but due for a DEEP clean. The breakfast was just below average. The staff was friendly and helpful. We pulled the sheets back and checked closely for bedbugs and found none. The bed was comfortable. I might look for a different hotel in the area, but I could stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abrownraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am sorry to hear that it was not up to the standards that you expected. Please rest assure that we are taking your comments to heart and working to correct these issues right aways. I am glad that the staff took great care of you and we hope that you will travel and stay with us again on your next visit to the area. We wish you many more safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is the kinda place that all motels should be measured to. The facility was excellent and the staff was great. The breakfast was great also. Cannot begin to say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. Mary on the front desk went out of her way to help us secure a room. We had been on motorcycles all day and was dead tired,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenney30132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review with us! We love to hear the feedback from our guests! We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and that the staff took great care of you! We will you many more safe travels and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
9.4 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#11 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
7.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
9.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 2331 Tyler Rd, Christiansburg, VA 24073-6325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the dazzling beauty of southwest Virginia and within easy reach of classic destinations like the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Comfort Inn & Suites, Christiansburg, provides guests with an unparalleled lodging experience.We offer free hot breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and are located directly off I-81 at exit 109. We are located within 5 minutes of Radford University, 10 minutes from the Christiansburg Aquatic Center, 15 min to the NRV Mall, and 20 minutes from VA Tech, home of the Hokies!WE ARE 100% SMOKE-FREE AND PET FRIENDLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Radford
Comfort Inn Radford
Radford Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing