We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fond memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oaks Victorian Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fond memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I prefer to stay at B&B's. Why stay at a dime-a-dozen chain hotel when you can meet terrific folks - both hosts and guests - at a unique B&B. But of all the B&B's we have stayed at around North America, this one - hands down - tops all the others. The home is exquisite, the breakfasts sumptuous, and Bernie and Linda are wonderful hosts. The thoughtful attention to all the extra little details is the icing on the cake. It has been 3+ years since we were there and we dearly hope to one day pass that way again! (Tripadvisor insists I selects a travel date, but doesn't go back far enough, so I picked the oldest possible option. Actual visit was May, 2010 and I still think about our wonderful stay there!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
That's so sweet that after 3 1/2 years you still have fond memories of us. We had only owned The Oaks for a month when you stayed with us and we were just starting to get the hang of innkeeping. So much has happened since then. We've done some redecorating, discovered lots more things to do in the area and we just published our cookbook "Inn-dulgences Culinary Delights from The Oaks Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast" We hope you can stop by next time you head south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
134
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent one night at the Oaks Victorian Inn. My only regret is that we didn't plan more time there. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated. The hospitality was superb. Breakfast was a treat to the eye and palate. We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Read the reviewd
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yitchokgadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return. There is a lot to do around here. We are always finding new things for our guests to enjoy. The Center for The Arts at Virginia Tech just opened and they have some wonderful programs in the offering. There is also great music at Radford University. Watch our Facebook page for specials and things around town. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

On our drive south we stayed one night at the Oaks Victorian Inn and it was wonderful. Very friendly couple manage the Inn, the room was large and comfortable, soaking tub and stand alone walk-in shower, set back from the road (i.e. quiet). An amazing three course candlelight breakfast. This will be a regular stop on our trek north and south. There's more to do in Christianburg than we knew and will try to spend two nights and do so some sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMB297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Being from the Boston area it's always fun for me to have fellow New Englanders stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your future north/south, south/north migrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Once again Linda and Bernie were wonderful hosts. We made our annual trek to Blacksburg in the fall to watch a Va Tech football game and once again we stayed at The Oaks. Its such a great place...unique and interesting rooms, beautiful house with a lot of character, wonderful gardens and two of the best inn keepers in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCarr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I love Virginia and decided to explore this particular area for our anniversary when we came upon this gem on line. There is no false advertising here. This place is just as pretty in person. Linda and Bernie are walking tour books for the area. They are full of wonderful suggestions. They are helpful but not intrusive and Linda does an amazing gourmet breakfast. Their helper is a wonderful lady who is also sweet and friendly. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fawn1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bernie and Linda have created an incredibly beautiful, warm and comfortable B&B. Their attention to detail is wonderful. My husband and I had dropped our daughter off at college and wanted to spend a few days vacationing in Virginia before heading home. We had never been to Christiansburg before so we were thrilled to have hosts that new the area so well and could inform us on the best things to do and places to eat. We so enjoyed our lovely breakfasts and delicious homemade cookies. (my favorite were the coconut!) After touring during the day we loved sitting out on the front porch talking with our friends and our hosts while enjoying a cool breeze. Bernie and Linda (and Edie!) were just great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdelans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Oaks when all the area hotels were booked (we were taking his youngest son back to Virginia Tech). For just a few dollars more a night, we enjoyed an amazing room, a delicious breakfast, homemade cookies and sherry, and the company of the very delightful hosts. The house is immaculate, beautiful - well, breathtaking really. The food was out of this world, and the hosts were incredibly accommodating. So much attention to detail! I was delighted in checking out the art around the house. We stayed in the cottage, which has a hot tub and sauna, and is a bit more private. It was truly charming; however, do be prepared to climb a fairly steep ladder to the bed! We will most very definitely stay here again at any opportunity. We are very frequent B&B guests, and I can honestly say this is absolutely one of the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ca2va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Lucky for us that the hotels were booked. We love hosting VT parents. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
6.8 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
6.6 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Property: The Oaks Victorian Inn
Address: 311 E Main St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-3030
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Victorian Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing