We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oaks Victorian Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent two nights here on recent Carolina's trip. We arrived during a storm and were a bit dishevelled when we arrived but hosts Bernie and Linda soon sorted that out.

Warm welcome, beautiful property, first class bedroom and breakfast top notch

Recommend without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wighton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We hope you enjoyed being our guests as much as we enjoyed being your hosts. Sitting on the porch in the evening and talking with you was great. One of the perks of being innkeepers. So pleased that you chose to stay at The Oaks while visiting the US. Thank you...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
142
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, Md
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 19th anniversary at The Oaks and were very pleased with our stay. We had reserved the cottage with the hot tub, but we were given a choice of a room in the main house with a jacuzzi. Since I am a tad claustrophobic and hubby has balance issues, we felt the ladder leading to the loft bed would be too much, so we opted for the lovely Julia Pierce room. Plenty of space and huge bathroom with separate shower and two person jacuzzi. The house itself is absolutely stunning! Each room holds little whimsical surprises and fascinating art work. The innkeepers, Linda and Bernie are delightful and were eager to share stories and history of the inn and their collections. Breakfast was terrific, with scones, smoothies and Oaks Benedict (Linda's creation using a potato pancake) YUM! The grounds of the house are beautiful and I took many pictures in hopes of creating a painting of the magnificent Victorian gem. We hope to return in the future and would highly recommend The Oaks Victorian Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

June 12, 2013
My wife and I stayed here on a trip through the Skyline/Blue Ridge Parkway last week. The hosts Linda and Bernie greeted us and filled us in on all the pertinent information. They had menus and directions to several restaurants. The place was pretty neat with gardens in the back yards; private parking off the street for easy access to the house; good beds. Breakfast the following morning was first class. This place was priced more than I normally pay except for special circumstances. I've stayed in several B&B over the years and have enjoyed all of them without exception. The hosts set the atmosphere and make it an inviting stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank river7sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night while driving from the DC area to Nashville for Christmas. I only wish we could have stayed longer. This is really one of the most gorgeous Victorian mansions I've seen. I thoroughly enjoyed walking around admiring all the architectural details of the house. It was especially fun to stay in a Victorian mansion decorated for the holidays.

We stayed in the Julia Pierce room on the second floor. I must say despite being a very full inn, we never heard a peep the entire night. That is really impressive for such an old house. The room was furnished in Victorian style with a stunning antique bed. Without a doubt, my favorite part was the large bathroom with a separate oversized jacuzzi and shower. The only problelm with the tub was it took a bit of time to fill because it was so large. I would hardly call this a problem as the enormous tub truly was meant for two.

Bernie and Linda were very kind hosts. They were helpful without being overly intrusive or nosey. As for the amount of rules some reviewers have mentioned, I found them to be fairly standard for bed and breakfasts. You pretty much always get a tour on check in at bed and breakfasts. Since many bed and breakfasts tend to be older homes where noise easily travels, you must be more considerate of other guests and that requires a few rules. Perhaps it should be expected that when you are staying in an innkeeper's home they will naturally be more protective than the anonymous environment of a hotel. While there are more rules, you also get the benefit of thoughtful details, much cleaner rooms and personalized attention.

I especially appreciated Linda asking if we prefered any types of food for breakfast. I tend to prefer savory breakfasts and Linda complied the next morning with an egg souffle that was very tasty and filling.

I will definitely stay with Bernie and Linda again when I'm in the Blacksburg/Christiansburg area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jechath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for that fabulous review. Coming so soon after one that was disappointing really made us feel that choosing to be innkeepers was a great decision. We love staying in B+Bs and hope we make our guests feel the same. So pleased that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi though it takes a little longer to fill because it is made for 2. It’s Bernie’s favorite bathroom in the house. If you choose the Garden Cottage next time you come, we guarantee the hot tub will be full and ready for you. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm sorry to say that I did not enjoy my stay at this B&B. The house is really a beautiful. Overall, the decoration was fine, but some areas need updating and others are not suited to the age of the home. Hosts were nice enough on arrival but boy, oh, boy - it's worse than staying at your picky mother-in-laws. In the notebook there was an extensive list of do's and don'ts. Then there were little signs all over the room - don't turn up the TV too loud, use coasters, please use the black wash cloth to remove make-up and no shoes on the bed. Really? I was not born in a barn and I know how to behave indoors. The kicker was "don't turn the refrigerator tempature up" - yes, I go all over the USA turning up refrigerator knobs in random B&Bs. And what if I wanted to go out to dinner and wear perfume - no perfume allowed - there's a sign!! Too bad all the rules and regs spoil the atomsphere. Went here for a relaxing weekend but after I had read all the rules, I just couldn't relax. The breakfast was good - but don't expect seconds. And the sherry was a nice touch. This place was pretty pricey and not worth it. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vatravler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We too are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The Oaks is a Queen Anne Victorian decorated with many antiques and period pieces as well as more current ones. At one time our parlor and library had Victorian chairs and couches. While they may have been lovely to look at they were not very comfortable. We have tried to make The Oaks a more homey environment and replaced the common room seating with “green friendly” over stuffed couches for the comfort of our guests. As you stated, there is a welcome notebook in each guest room. Every B+B we have ever stayed in has one. Ours contains a welcome letter, dining recommendations, activity recommendations, a TV station listing guide, and a policy page . While the vast majority of our guests are more than respectful of our home and a delight to host, there is that rare guest that leaves wet towels all over our period furniture, blasts the TV, destroys white wash cloths with black mascara etc. It is for them that we have a few common courtesy requests listed on our policy page. As to signs all over the room, there is one 4 X 6 inch sign in each room that reads as follows. "Welcome to our home. Breakfast is a single seating at 9:00. If that time does not work for you please let us know. Coffee and hot water are available on the buffet in the foyer at 7:30 am. Should you need assistance and can’t find us please call 540-381-1500. We hope you enjoy your stay." There are two small 3 X 5 inch laminated index cards in each bathroom. One accompanies a black washcloth that has the word Make-up embroidered in white. It reads as follows. "Dear Cherished Guests, On behalf of Edie, our goddess of the laundry…may we request that you use this beautiful ebony cloth for removing makeup. We, and all of our future guests will be grateful that you have spared the white towels." We don’t, but many B+Bs actually sell these little black towels in their gift shops. The other index card rests in the lower left corner of the bathroom mirror and reads as follows. "For the comfort of our other guests, please refrain from wearing strong fragrances. Thank you for your understanding." We do not prohibit perfume. I wear a light scent myself. It is that rare occasion when a guest wears excessive amounts of perfume making it difficult for other guests to breath that we try to avoid with our little reminder card. Even with the use of ceiling fans and open windows the scent may linger in a room for several days making it uncomfortable for future guests. Each guest room does have a mini refrigerator with complimentary beverages. The board of health does have temperature guidelines that we are required to follow There is a small thermometer in each that helps us stay in compliance with their rules. A guest once turned the temperature cold enough to cause a soda can to explode. We hope that never happens again. You also mention a sign about no shoes on the bed. We searched high and low throughout the house and couldn’t find that sign. Maybe you were thinking of another place where you stayed or perhaps you confused it with the statement on the policy page of our welcome book that reads Please note: The health department requires the wearing of shoes within the common area of the inn. We hope perspective future guests will not be swayed by this review and we look forward to being their hosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It has been awhile since we have stayed at a B&B and after staying at the Oaks, it will be hard to stay at a hotel again! It is a beautiful home both inside and out! Linda and Bernie were extremely accommodating...8 members of our family stayed at the Oaks to attend Radford University's graduation. They were willing to provide our family with breakfast earlier than the scheduled time so we wouldn't be late for commencement. During the first day, Linda and Bernie noticed that our son didn't eat as much breakfast and offered to make something that he would like the next day. Linda also made sure that there was sugar-free maple syrup for one of our family members who had diabetes. The great coffee and cookies made fresh every day were awesome too. The attention to detail was unbelievable. The stay at the Oaks made our son's graduation most memorable! We hope to come again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikefan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Just left today. Stayed for 2 nights. Had 2 rooms. Major Pierce and Bonny "something". We had a busy schedule and didn't get to spend a lot of time hanging out. The outdoors here are beautiful. Weather permitting. They thought of the little things here, examples plenty of soap, towels, beverages, wine glasses, qtips+, lots of outlets for chargers, list of tv channels, restaurant listings with comments, etc. Breakfast is at 9:00 sharp (no flexibility here). It is nice and they serve you 3 small courses. Very nice. It is what I call the "classic definition" of B&B, i.e. Chatty with guests. (I saw the owners sitting with the guests on the porch. Nothing wrong with it of you like to talk to strangers!). The rooms were both very nice. We could hear the people below us talking on their cell phone and could hear the owners above us (think they have a pet up there because we could hear it running). We will go back. You pay a good bit for this place so you should carve out a little time to enjoy it. We will next time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WOF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Oaks Victorian Inn. Hopefully the next time you are here the weather allows you the opportunity to enjoy all the Blue Ridge Highlands and New River Valley has to offer. There are several great wineries, spectacular hiking trails, wonderful music and more. As you stated, we do serve a 3 course breakfast at 9. You may recall when we were showing you the dining room we did ask if the 9 o'clock serving time worked for your schedule. If you had told us that you needed an earlier or later breakfast we would have gladly accommodated you. That's why we ask. We have served past guests as early as 7 and as late as 10. As owners of a B+B, we do treasure the many travelers who arrive as strangers and depart as friends. Our large wrap around porch allows us the pleasure of sitting with guests at the end of the day, sharing a bottle of wine, and enjoying a pleasant evening's conversation. Please keep in mind that The Oaks was built 120 years ago before modern soundproofing materials existed and many guests have commented that they have been pleasantly surprised as to how quiet the house is. We have put down thick carpeting in rooms on the 3rd floor and extra padding under the rug in the room you chose to make guest rooms as quiet as possible. We apologize if we or other guests disturbed you. The Alexandria room has no rooms above or below and may be a better choice for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Property: The Oaks Victorian Inn
Address: 311 E Main St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-3030
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Victorian Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing