We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Five stars for The Oaks !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oaks Victorian Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
446 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Five stars for The Oaks !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lucky us that the B&B we had chosen firstly had no vacancies: another B&B recommended the Oaks, we had a brief chat on the phone with Bernie, the innkeeper, and we ran into a wonderful experience ! Athmosperic house in great state, wonderful rooms, fantastic food, and above all, Linda and Bernie as innkeepers very caring and full of hospitality from the bottom of their hearts. Every moment we felt how much they love their business and the place they run. Every detail in perfection. We spent two nights we will always remember. Including nice and funny conversations on the porch until deep into the night. No doubt: worth visiting by all means !
PS: Do not miss Linda's cookies !

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent: nicely decorated and cozy. You cannot be mistaken !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Gabi, Anna and Eberhard

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Vielen Dank .We too were happy that the other Bed and Breakfast was full. We enjoyed our chats on the porch as well. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to the beautiful state of Virginia that you will once again stay with us. Who knows, there may be another kind of cookie for you to enjoy.

Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
125
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Prepare to relax and be pampered at The Oaks Victorian Inn. Innkeepers Linda and Bernie welcomed us to the inn, gave us the opportunity to enjoy the architecture and provided information about local restaurants. After dinner
we enjoyed conversation on the wrap around porch and an opportunity to meet their amazing cats. The evening ended on a sweet note. We returned to our room to a treat of decadent chocolate ganache and enjoyed every bite. Soft towels and comfortable linens insured we had a good night's rest. A relaxed yet elegant breakfast was served in a beautiful sunroom with garden views. Before leaving we were provided directions, reccomendations for an art gallery in Floyd, and two homemade chocolate chip cookies. Bernie and Linda understand the importance of details. We immensely enjoyed our stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the glowing review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains. Future guests, please be assured that the cats are not Inn cats. Our Maine Coons, which are the closest breed to a hypoallergenic cat reside in our private quarters and come downstairs only by guest request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a wonderful experience. Beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable and very gracious Innkeepers and beautiful gardens. Despite the extreme heat the porch was breezy and very comfortable. We can't say enough! Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Definitely will make a point to stay here again. Truly gracious hospitality. Cheers to both Linda and Bernie Wurtzburger.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Julia Pierce room. Lovely comfortable and the jacuzzi for two. How Lux!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Jo and Richard

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you. We also appreciate the inscription in Richard's novel. We look forward to reading it. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Blue Ridge Mountain area.

Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I take a few days each summer to get spend some time together. This year my wife wanted to try and B&B for the first time. Looking at the reviews for B&B's in the area, the Oaks stood out well above the rest,so we booked the Major Pierce room for 2 nights. We were not disappointed.
Linda and Bernie (owners) greeted us at check-in with a brief history and tour of the house. Each room was gorgeous and exceptionally clean. Our room was beautiful and had a lot of nice details. We loved the large front porch and garden, both great places to relax. We slept exceptionally well on the comfortable beds and each breakfast was delicious.
Linda and Bernie were very knowledgable about the area and gave us a lot of ideas of things to do.
My wife and I both agreed that the Oaks was our favorite getaway so far. The Oaks definitely makes for a very lovely romantic/relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms, and the Major Pierce with the large King Bed and His/Hers bathrooms is d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are thrilled that we made your first experience at a B&B memorable. We strive to make each and every guest leave here relaxed and refreshed. The Blue Ridge mountains and the New River Valley are exceptionally beautiful and have so much to offer visitors. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

During a severe storm which rendered a good chunk of the mid atlantic states dark, we found ourselves driving through Virginia with reservations in Roanoke at a hotel with no power! I frantically started calling every place my IPad could find only to keep hearing they were sold out or no power. We were prepared to just drive through the night to Tennessee through the scariest lightning I had ever seen when I called the Oaks and was shocked and delighted to hear they actually had power AND a room!
That was just the first of the wonderful surprises. we were greeted at this gracious mansion by Linda and Bernie who made us feel right at home. We chose the Major Pierce room which was magnificent. There was not a single detail that was missed. After our very harrowing drive we were delighted to relax with the complimentary sherry. The room was plush, comfortable, gorgeous! breakfast the following morning was beyond wonderful. I don't think there are enough superlatives to adequately describe this amazing gem. We are so lucky the storm brought us there and we HIGHLY reccomend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for that glowing review. It was our pleasure being your safe haven during the storm. We hope to see you in the future when Mother Nature is behaving herself and you are able to enjoy the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains and The New River Valley. Next time we are in the New York area we will search you out and try some of what we know will be your wonderful chocolate....Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Best relaxing and stress free weekend ever. Friendly innkeepers. Wonderful 3 course breakfast. Lovely porch to read and relax. Made for cool summer evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marylouise4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found the room to be spotless, as well as the common grounds. The gardens are very pleasant. We never had a problem with parking. The food was excellent. We carry a Bible with us when we travel, so if you read your Bible daily, you will need to carry one with you. It is very quite and a nice neighborhood. The Blue Ridge Parkway is about a 45 minute drive away, but well worth it. Take hwy. 8 to the parkway and turn south. The first visitor center you come to will be a few miles on the right. Drive through the picnic area and you will probably see some deer and maybe a bear.

Room Tip: Get the generals room, if you like plenty of room in the bathroom. There is a tub and a shower. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemson80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
6.8 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christ...
#4 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Property: The Oaks Victorian Inn
Address: 311 E Main St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-3030
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Victorian Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing