We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Picking up from college” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picking up from college”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had forgotten to book our "regular" hotel in enough time... it was graduation weekend at Radford. We needed to pick up our college kids and this was the only property I could find with rooms available. A tad bit far from Radford, but I had not choice. I was extremely pleased with the hotel, the room and the staff. I had booked only 1 room but needed another as my college kids wanted to stay in the hotel rather than in their apartment one last night. I was happy to find they had another room available. There was no "hotel" smell, everything smelled fresh and clean. Rooms were both very clean and bathrooms had no issues. Breakfast was hot and good. Plenty of food available and good variety. Plenty of hot water in the shower too so if there was a problem before it has been resolved. I would stay here again if my "regular" hotel is unavailable. There is an exercise room, pool, hot tub and walking/running track on the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVUMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We strive to give every guest a great room and a great stay, and are pleased we gave that to you. Hopefully you will continue to stay with us in the future, and maybe we can become your "regular" hotel!

Thanks!
Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    91
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
114
48
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Courteous and helpful staff. Lobby, room and bathroom were very clean. Temperature of the room easily maintained. There is a walking track behind the hotel. Complementary breakfast is served, and a Cracker Barrel is across the street. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCD-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Staff was very nice and helpful. Lobby, room, facility clean and new. Hot breakfast was filled with many options, food was tasty. Would stay at this hotel again. Plenty of parking, that was well lit, big plus since we arrived late at night. Never had to wait for someone to help check us in or check out. Market at entrance had cold drinks, hot coffee, and snacks, and other odds and ends just in case something was forgotten at home, feather free room was a easy accommodation made to prevent an allergy attack.

Room Tip: just request away from ice makers/vending as they were noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all reviews and we are pleased you found your stay so enjoyable! If you are in the area again, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Have been going to Christiansburb and environs on a regular basis for a couple of years for family busines--illness of father, etc. Have stayed at 3 places off I-83 at Rts. 460/ and 11 heded north towards Roanoke. Gave up on the Quality Inn there becaue of uneven "quality" and the lack of an elevator to the second floor. The Holidy Inn Express is nice but expensive. Tried the Fairfield Inn this time and this is my new place to stay. Rooms are clean and well mintained, the free breakfast each morning is one of the best around. It will get you out the door and on the road quickly. The staff makes the difference. Friendly, helpful nd cring for those of us with our own physical needs. One of the few places I have stayed on various trips in the last couple of years where there were no maintenance issues in the room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you need grab bars in the bath room, make the reservation online (better price) then call the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review. I am very pleased we were able to make your stay so enjoyable! I look forward to having you stay with us again, and continuing our excellent service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was visiting my son at Va. Tech for the weekend & usually stay closer to the school. Unfortunately, everything was booked & I had to stay in Christiansburg. I was very leery about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews; I am very picky about hotel rooms and easily get "grossed out." We had a total of 3 rooms, and everyone was very satisfied with the accommodations. The people at the front desk were extremely friendly and accommodating, the rooms were very clean and the breakfast buffet was great. The only thing I didn't like was that there isn't a full-length mirror in the room. Other than that, this very picky guest was VERY satisifed and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgilbert62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very glad we met your standards on a clean, comfortable room. We hope you will consider us again when you are back in the area!

Thanks!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was hesitant to review this motel because I thought it may have been a bad day when I stayed there and am reluctant to make that bad day worse. Then I read another person's review and they had the same problem - no hot water. It may be more than a coincidence. I will say when I complained they offered to take some off the bill but I was not looking for a cheap room without hot water - I was willing to pay for a room with what I consider basic necessities. I am starting to question the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandMdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you had issues with your hot water. We have since had the problem looked at, and are confident you will not have this problem again. Please consider staying with us again so we can prove it to you.

Thank You,

Njeri Kershaw
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

What a nightmare. We checked in around 2, and were given a room right next to the EXTREMELY loud elevator. We called downstairs, but they didn't have anything else ready. Fine. We went to Blacksburg and came back and got a room on the third floor away from the elevator. The gentleman at the front desk wore a blue fuzzy hat thing as well--how unprofessional.

The room is okay--two beds and a lot of awkward space with nothing. A standard LG tv, some lamps, and that's about it. Pantene products in the bathroom. Now here comes the problem.

Imagine you're renting a car. You pull out and it dies--"Ohhh. You wanted a car with gas? Sorry we didn't tell you". At the Fairfield Inn, it's "Ohh. You wanted a room with hot water? Sorry we didn't tell you it's not working." Wait. What? No hot water? Yep. We found this out at 10 pm as I stepped in the shower. The shower was lukewarm at best. The gentleman at the front desk said they had been "working on it" but "not tonight". This small error hadn't been mentioned to us at checkin. Are you kidding? That's the point of a hotel. A safe room and hot water. It's absurd we hadn't been told on checkin. Trying to pull a fast one doesn't work with hot water. Management doesn't really seem to care. Oh well. Avoid this hotel like the plague. Stay at the Courtyard in Blacksburg instead.

Way to go, Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adscram14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I know we have spoken with you privately about this and have hopefully handled your issues to your satisfaction. Please come to the hotel again and we can show you the problems you experienced are not the norm of our hotel.

Thanks,

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christ...
#4 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
9.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Address: 2659 Roanoke St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2607
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Christiansburg
Fairfield Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing