We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and Excellent Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Service and Excellent Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

When I began my relocation to the Christiansburg area at the end of March of 2010 I was thrilled to find the Microtel Inn in Christiansburg, VA. It was an excellent value for the money, with weekly rates. It was my home, during the week, until June. I had the pleasure of getting to know the hotel staff. Ruby, at the front desk, did an awesome job of keeping the breakfast area very well organized and clean. Checking out with her was always very fast! I am very appreciative for the hotel and the staff for their friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSilliMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    279
    185
    66
    33
See reviews for
422
116
75
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights because we got a great deal on Kayak. It was not that great. The room was clean but VERY SMALL! THe beds were HARD AS ROCKS! The continental breakfast was a carb fest and not much variety. They has cereal, donuts, danishes, bagels and juice. No fruit or anything healthy. The front desk staff was pleasant. Free HIgh speed internet did not work well at all! Overall- not bad for one night if you don't mind a hard bed with bad breakfast. But it was cheap- 47 dollars per night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyja44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Once you find the large white building off the beaten path, one finds very clean, friendly and basic needs! 20" old fashion tv, basic bedding, furniture and decorations. The cost reflects, "what you pay is what you get". would stay again, for that simple fact.

Room Tip: call direct to hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarusbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stopped for a quick overnight in route to Shenandoah. Small austere room. Spotlessly clean. No sign of bedbugs. Has some wear on it, marks on the wall someone unsuccessfully tried to remove, cracked mirror on wall above the bed (wonder how THAT got there...). For Memorial Day weekend, remarkably quiet. Watch Travelocity. Booked me into a smoking room, which front desk graciously corrected. Lots of chain restaurants and shopping close by.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

I am a long term customer of this hotel and checked in on April 22, 2011, for a two night stay. My stay was very disappointing. I specifically asked for a quiet room. When we arrived the room was over 80 degrees and it was a hot day outside and air conditioning had not been turned on. Room did not cool down until midnight.

Between 1 and 3 am the room above made noises with their cabinets. Other folks in my room are heavy sleepers and slept through it so I did not wake them with a phone call to the front desk. Big mistake! In addition, strong light shone through the window curtains keeping the room too bright all night long.

On Saturday morning a con man approached me in the parking lot asking for money to pay for his room at the Microtel. As he was menacing I gave him $20. Another guest said this had happened before at the Microtel and went inside to tell the manager. When I went in Ruby said she did not have time to call the police. How could this be? So Isked about the noise, she said it did not count as I have not called the front desk! No solution for the bright light in the room.

Because this was such a bad set of circumstances, I asked Ruby at the front desk for a discount consisting of one "of" the two night stays. On Sunday when I checked out I found a $13 discount was applied to one night. Ruby said I had asked for a discount "on" one night. I disagreed and Ruby then attempted to convince me that I had not asked for a full discount "of" one of the two nights. I chose not to argue.

I then sent an email to the manager, at the email address Ruby gave me, but no response was provided. This used to be a good place to stay, but I guess with teh recent purchase by Wyndam it not a good place any longer!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCTravel091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised! This is VERY clean, VERY friendly, and quite new (which helps). I think the franchisee has taken extra steps to make sure this is a good place to lay your head. But they should look into the flat, hard mattresses! I woke up with a back ache, but everything else was top notch. It's definitely budget, but clean as a whistle, close to restaurants, shopping and Virginia Tech in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toowoomba97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Well you know what you are getting with Mircotel, this is pretty standard. No fill just a room. I really didn’t have any complains as the location is pretty serviceable. Rooms are fine. I am a fan of the window seat all Mircotels have. Breakfast is cheap carb city so don’t expect much. It does have an exercise room with 3 pc of equipment ( two of which were broken). There was enjoy space to P90X so I was a happy. Ok area to run in off hours.
Warning kids sports teams dominate the weekends so beware.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#8 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Address: 135 Ponderosa Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansburg
#4 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Microtel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing