We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location, Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights, on business. Excellent location. You can walk to the Outback Steakhouse (across the street) or the Japanese restaurant (beside the hotel). Many other restaurants in the vicinity.

Rooms were nice, very clean. Beds were comfortable, with plenty of pillows and fluffy duvets. The room had a mini-refrigerator, coffee pot (good coffee) and a microwave.

Excellent cable tv channels. Breakfast was very good, not crowded. Cookies in the afternoon, free newspapaers, and pre-bagged breakfasts to go were all very nice touches.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

An excellent hotel - and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2Southerners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    111
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
277
115
39
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

We needed a hotel for family weekend at VT. There were no hotels available in Blacksburg but we were able to reserve a room at the Hampton Inn in Blacksburg-Christianburg. The hotel was clean and well maintained. It was an easy drive to VT via the highway. We were able to do some shopping for our freshman son since it was close to the big box stores.

Helpful?
1 Thank JanetDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Stayed at the Hampton Inn in Christiansburg to attend a wedding on October 13th. Very impressed with the hotel. Clean, well laid out lobby and breakfast area. Very clean rooms. Very comfortable King bed. Excellent continental breakfast with biscuit, eggs and sausage. Very near the mall & shopping (for when you forgot socks for your suit). All and all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kldough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed here as a stop while traveling on I-81. The hotel had only three rooms left 2 weeks ahead of time so I booked a King Suite instead of the usual double queen we would book as a family of 4. For $135, the clean room had a lot of room, table w/ 2 wing chairs, desk and chair, pull-out couch, lounge chair, TV, true King sized bed and separate bathroom with sink, cosmetic table, whirlpool, two-head shower, and toilet. The furnishings were nice and there was a significant amount of room. It seemed clean except that there was a slight funky odor in the toilet area and I could not find an exhaust fan. There was a complimentary breakfast with a hot option of previously frozen egg and sausage patty. The kitchen server was overwhelmed by the steady crowd on a Sunday mornig and kept working hard to keep up with the demand. She apologized several times for not being able to keep items properly stocked. The property seemed fairly new and was in an area of shopping centers and hotels. I would recommend staying here. This was rated high by others on this site and many other hotels in this area of I-81 were also booked during the peak travel time we visited.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAfamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

The staff is extremely frrendly and helpful. They insisted on calling a taxi for my wife to go to the nearby mall. The hotel iteself is first-rate. Breakfast is good. No complaints!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daytona084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

This hotel was a great stay. It has a small "semi-boutique" feel to it from appearances. The room was bright, clean and decorated with a modern "Regency" feel and had new white duvets and plenty of pillows on the beds. The mattresses were very comfortable and the bathroom was nice and large.

My only complaint is the 1980's style BRIGHT white overhead lights in the bathroom -- too harsh, especially first thing in the morning (besides, these lights don't make anyone look good in that plate glass mirror). However, it's a minor issue in comparison to the comfort and price ($105/per night).

The pool is outdoors, which was disappointing for the kids since we arrived on a day when the temps were in the 60's.

The continental breakfast was very sufficient with several types of hot and cold cereals and beverages, fresh fruit, eggs, muffins, and biscuits/gravy. The only food item missing was sausage or bacon. There are also several major chain restaurants located nearby.

Note that this hotel is probably the closest to I-81 in this town, but it is still about 4 miles off the interstate. The check-in was very friendly and quick; chocolate chip cookies are offered on the front counter.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank cwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

I stayed here for three nights with my family of four for a job interview in the area. I was told by people that we met that this is one of the nicer places in the area.

The hotel room was clean. The staff was helpful for all of the questions that we had. The beds were comfortable enough. The high-efficiency toilet seemed to have a problem flushing toilet paper, but the bathroom was otherwise fine.

The complementary breakfast was poor. The fruit selection was previously frozen fruit that one would get from Costco (fit to be blended up for a shake but not to be eaten plain). The "hot" items of the breakfast are all frozen and are to be microwaved by the guests as they eat. Thus, the waffles are soggy, the egg/cheese/bread-product thing is soggy, and the pancakes are soggy. If a hotel is only going to make a half-hearted attempt at a hot breakfast, then it just shouldn't make any attempt at a hot breakfast.

  • Liked — Close to highway
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PoorStudentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christ...
#3 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Property: Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Address: 380 Arbor Dr, Christiansburg, VA 24073-6544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansburg
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
#1 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Christiansburg’s commercial and retail districts, the Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg is the perfect place to rest after a day of business meetings or hiking. From the New River to the charm of downtown Blacksburg, there is no shortage of things to do or places to see. While you stay at the Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, complimentary high-speed internet, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing