We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great room, comfortable bed only topped by great front desk service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, comfortable bed only topped by great front desk service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Traveling north from Atlanta to Pennsylvania, the Hampton ( preferred hotel when on driving trips) was in a wonderful location - a break from Route 81 and an opportunity to finally see the Virgina Tech campus. The room was very clean and comfortable. I was very surprised to receive an unrequested 5:30 a.m. wake-up call, which was 90 minutes ahead of my own alarm. I did mention this to the front desk clerk at checkout, thinking more about the person who had requested it and still snoozing blissfully who might be late for a meeting. Imagine my surprise and delight when the clerk reduced my overnight charge substantially for the inconvenience. I appreciate this thoughtful customer service and would have returned here even without this smart and kind gesture!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OJMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    111
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
270
111
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

First rate, very comfortable. We booked a king jr suite. At check in we were warmly welcomed. The room was huge, well appointed, very clean and quiet. The breakfast area is attractive, the staff friendly and they offered a wide selection. I will stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Milesaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice stop while traveling through. Lobby and main floor are quite nicely decorated and staff was super friendly. The room was dated but clean. Bed was more than adequate and the hotel itself very quiet. The only thing that stands out as a negative was the morning breakfast. It was truly horrible. The staff was in their little prep room discussing weekend plans while guests tried to figure out if this was the actual food or a joke. Egg and cheese omelette were cold (like possibly straight from freezer), bread stale, hard boiled eggs frozen, fruit salad soupy and sausage type product was flavorless. Lots of restaurants nearby just to one of those instead.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommyWentBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This Hampton Inn was a pleasant surprise. Right off the highway, but quiet. Near malls and shopping and restaurants. Wonderful beds and linens. The workout room overlooks the outdoor pool. But the real treat was the covered patio near the back of the hotel. Just lovely to have coffee outside in the morning and get some fresh air.

Room Tip: Stay on side of the building away from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCburgMgt, Manager at Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear biztrvler,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay- especially our outdoor patio! We look forward to welcoming you back to our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Several of us stayed at the Hampton for my niece's wedding in Christiansburg. (We had 3 rooms) The location was very convenient for us. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfy and the rooms were quiet. The kids swam in the pool. It is a nice pool. The water was still cold but that was because the weather was wonderfully cool while we were there. I used the gym a couple of times. It had 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical and 1 recombant bike. It also had a cable weight machine and medicine balls. The breakfast every morning was good. The hotel also had a very nice seating area outside near the pool and gym. The weather was so cool and dry we really enjoyed sitting outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hestia_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCburgMgt, Manager at Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Hestia_55,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are so glad your family selected our property for your special trip to the area. Our top priority is ensuring that the entire family enjoys their stay with us. We certainly hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Hampton Inn Christiansburg for two days in May while visiting a family friend. The hotel is located in a newer area of Christiansburg (box stores and businesses - an Outback Steakhouse is just across the street) and is accessible to both Christiansburg and Blacksburg via 460. The property is very well kept and the room was very comfortable. We had stayed in two other hotels on our trip and my mother commented how nicely decorated the room was - very calming colors. The room and bathroom were very clean and the room had no odor at all. We had two dogs with us and the hotel is very pet friendly. Fridge and microwave in room, and a nice grassy dog potty area complete with a bag/trash station. When I checked in they said that guests with pets are on the first two floors, although we did not see anyone else with a dog. The elevator is very fast and the door closes slowly, both good when traveling with dogs. All of the outside doors (except front) are locked at all times and you had a feeling that the hotel is very secure. We did not use the outside patio area/pool/lounge but many guests were using them. Coffee/hot water are available 24/7 and the breakfast was very nice. Our only complaint (very minor) is that you rarely saw the person manning the breakfast area - at other Hampton Inn's I've stayed at this has not been the case. But all the meal choices were available and we did not need anything - just an observation. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets, all of the rooms on the first floor have king beds, so if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calisto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCburgMgt, Manager at Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Calisto18,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property! We really appreciate your feedback. I'm so glad that you and your mother (and your furry friends!) were all able to enjoy the hotel. Some of our first floor rooms do have 2 beds, so if you prefer that room type in the future, please let us know and we'll be sure to take care of you. I hope to welcome you back to the Hampton Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
318 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I were heading to Washington, DC and stopped to visit friends en route. The Hampton Inn and Suites motels are usually very good but this one is excellent. It is super clean, super sleek and the staff are very friendly. Hampton Inns have larger refrigerators than most motel chains and the room was large and comfortable. Microwave, desk, sofa, cocktail table and large tv made us very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very good and they even offered "to go" bags. They offer coffee free of charge 24/7 in the lobby. Great location. I would stay again. It is also close to restaurants.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christ...
#4 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Property: Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Address: 380 Arbor Dr, Christiansburg, VA 24073-6544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
#1 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Christiansburg’s commercial and retail districts, the Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg is the perfect place to rest after a day of business meetings or hiking. From the New River to the charm of downtown Blacksburg, there is no shortage of things to do or places to see. While you stay at the Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, complimentary high-speed internet, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing