We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We arrived for granddaughter 's Virginia Tech Graduation!! As we walked in, we were very WARMLY welcomed by the staff at the Front Desk!!! They made us feel at HOME!!! We had three rooms and they were very cozy, very comfortable beds!! A compliment I must add :: another daughter was arriving with husband and 7year old son!! I asked at the Front Desk if they would please make the sofa-bed for grandson, so when they checked in everything would be ready! IT WAS DONE AND THEY FELT EXTREMELY WELCOMED!!! Grandson used the pool, and LOVED it!!! Our continental Breakfast was AMPLE AND VERY GOOD!!!WE were treated ROYALLY by THE ENTIRE STAFF!! I recommend this HOLIDAY INN WITH JOY IN MY HEART!!!Rhonda, Alex and Jackie, Mary at restaurantand TO ALL. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!! God bless you!!

Room Tip: If going for children's Graduation from Virginia Tech,this is the place to stay in Christiansbur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    61
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
123
24
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pounding Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

nice and new, clean and attractive hotel - we stayed there in Feb. 2014 and again April 2014 twice when in town for VA Tech activities with high school students.

They offer the standard complimentary, continental breakfast that is bare bones and does not include milk - and a better hot breakfast buffet for $8.00. The hot buffet isn't worth the $8 and I think they should just throw the whole thing in as a complimentary breakfast.

When traveling with our kids or students, we look for a good breakfast as this is a lifesaver for time and expenses - other hotels at the same room rate are just as nice with a better breakfast than this one. AAA found this one for me, but next time I'll look for something else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripeeblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear tripeeblonde,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's good to know that our location suited your needs, and that you enjoyed the overall look of our property.

I see that we fell short in meeting your expectations about the complimentary breakfast. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Your comments regarding this are taken note of and hopefully on your next visit, we can give you 100% satisfaction. We appreciate all your feedback and hope to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on way through, not our usual hotel chain but it was close by restaurants and had good reviews. Hotel is clean, mostly because it is newer. The sheets had nubbies on them from over use. We asked for a quiet room because we are both light sleepers, they put us near the outside air handling system, NOT quiet. When we called the front desk the clerk said, huh, no one every complained before. No offer of assistance or resolution. wanted to order a hot breakfast but no one to cook it at 8 am, the cold breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. I agree with other reviewers, amateurs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Barb D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you love green, you will like this hotel. It is all green inside. If you've never stayed in a green hotel, now is your chance. The decor was kind of interesting and the room was much bigger than the average room for this type of hotel. Since it is a brand-new property, everything was clean and in good condition.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night with my family and was pleasantly surprised. Quick check in and check out with very friendly staff. Room was huge (2 queen beds) with ample space to spread out. The room and bathroom were extremely clean as well. The entire room/bathroom appeared to be relatively new. Beds were soft and there was a microwave and refrigerator. The kids loved the indoor pool and my husband enjoyed the treadmill in the exercise room. There was a breakfast included in the stay--it was ok. Just cold items--cereals (large selection), yogurt, bagels, fruit, and small muffins. There was an option for hot items (sausage, egg, etc) but it was $8.95 extra. The only con to the stay was that I could hear everything going on out in the hall/next door. I will say that a baseball team was staying in the hotel that night and I'm pretty sure they were the ones I was hearing, but other than that I would most definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The room was a good size. The king bed was in good condition and comfortable. My room had a microwave, a safe, and a refrigerator. The room was clean. They must have remodeled recently. The toilet was the old type that is very low to the ground, not ADA height.

My complaint about this hotel is the "free breakfast." They had little boxes of cereal, bread and bagels. This is bait and switch to travelers who stay at Hampton Inns and Fairfield Inns. Either put out a breakfast spread or don't. They also offered a breakfast buffet for $8.95. At 8:00am on Monday morning there was nothing on the buffet. Not even empty steam dishes. I bet some bean counter decided that a bad free breakfast would send travelers to the buffet. Wrong. There are way to many good hotels in Christiansburg to put up with misleading hype.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabbit1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Rabbit1945,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you mentioned the good quality of your room. I was disappointed to read you did not find the breakfast satisfying, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was in the Christiansburg area on business this past week. The Holiday Inn was very clean, rooms were modern and very comfortable beds. Great flat screen TV. My only complaint was with the staff with regards to a continental breakfast order. The breakfast provided by the hotel in the restaurant is substandard with only some cold cereal, milk, yogurt and whole apples. So my 2nd day I ordered Juice/Coffee/Toast/Fruit for the room via door hanger provided by the hotel. I asked that the order be delivered at 6:45am. At 6am the phone rang and it was the hotel wanting to know if I wanted the breakfast charged to my room or pay cash. I could not believe that they called and woke me up for just a stupid question. So wide awake I could not get back to sleep. I read until 6:45 and no breakfast. So I waited until 6:55 and called the front desk. I was total irritated now, so I explained by displeasure with the 6am phone call...that it woke me up the man at the front desk said, "that was me". I told him it wrong to call someone at 6am...then I told him that the breakfast had not been delivered, what is the problem...all I ordered wasuice/Coffee/Toast/Fruit. He said he would check and hung up. He did call back and said they were on their way. At about 7am they arrived and the woman said she had cut the cantaloupe just for me several times, I asked that she just put the tray down, once she did so, she opened her arms and said, "Honey, give me a hug", I found this to be stupid and odd...I said, "no, please, that is enough".

The simple Juice/Coffee/Toast/Fruit was unreal, no butter, cold toast, only 2 coffee creams for a whole pot of coffee and the fruit tasted odd.

This hotel needs to know how to treat business travelers and have common sense, who calls anyone at 6am! People on a schedule, working out of town shouldn't have to deal with any of the above.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christ...
#3 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg

Property: Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Address: 99 Bradley Dr, Christiansburg, VA 24073-1156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing