We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pretty bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alejandro's Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Alejandro's Mexican Grill
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife's big complaint was the service. Personally I don't care if the wait staff yells at me as long as the food is good. The food at Alejandro's is not good.

My wife's food was not brought as she asked - they forgot her dressing and tomatoes and our food came before someone finally brought us silverware.

Food is just bad. The rice looks like it was packaged and my lettuce was very browned. Skip and find another restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millionbps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt terrible after 4 times of eating here...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I was drawn to this resturant after hearing raves about the salsa bar. Well all I can say is everytime I've visited this resturant the food and service has been less than pleasurable. I didn't feel well after I've eaten here and after looking up their health dept. scores I see why. My absolute fab in the NRV is El Gran Rodeo. Eat there if you want awesome Mexican cuisine and friendly servicd.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imhapi2bme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Flavorless food, careless service but nice salsa bar!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the two enchiladas with rice and beans, chicken in enchiladas were flavorless, no spice kick, nothing. Food really lacked in flavor. I needed lots of their spiciest salsa to put on but still didn't help. The server seemed like she didn't want to be there and couldve cared less if we were there or not. Salsa bar was nice, there were a few that tasted icky but most were good. Place looked like an old warehouse, they need to decorate and clean the place a bit. I love Mexican food but I don't call this place real Mexican. I don't think I'll be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeAlways7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“There are better Mexican restaurants, but none with salsa bars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have eaten here several times in recent years. Always reminds me of the greasy spoon type establishment - can never put my finger on the reason though. Prices are competitive, portions are large, nice salsa bar.

Recently had taco salad with shredded chicken. Te chicken turned out to be large chunks rather than finely shredded. This other ingredients were added a glop at a time. By the time I stirred them into the taco shell I had a gooey mess. My part per had a similar experience with her meal.

This pace has been around for several years. It's in a cavernous room with TVs giving it a sports bar ambience. They continue to make minor modifications.

I prefer any of Reuther local Mexican establishments to this place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love love love the Salsa bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My dad always wants to go here when he comes to town. They always have great food, we normally order two of the specials that are for two people and get to take leftovers home. Everyone loves the salsa bar that has a lot of different kinds of salsa, my favorite is the spicy white one. Of course we always fill up on the awesome chips. We have been here a lot and have never had a bad experience. Employees are always friendly and put on a show carrying four plates or more on one arm and singing to you if its your birthday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5Freebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alejandro's Mexican Grill also viewed

Christiansburg, VA
Christiansburg, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing