We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This was no Diamond in the Ruff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Budget Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list
Budget Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   304 W Main St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2948   |  
Hotel amenities
Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This was no Diamond in the Ruff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The manager seemed friendly but then left after checking us in. The outside looked decent but was deceiving. The carpets were so dirty that we were afraid to take our shoes off. The tub had nothing to keep you from slipping. The bedding appeared clean. One of the rooms was under construction but we got conflicting stories on what happened. The location is good as you can walk to get something to eat. There were refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms but no coffee makers. The room was non smoking but smelled musty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
7
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You can't beat $50 and sometimes $40 for a room and its location is super convenient, 2 minutes walk to Burgers King, 4 minutes walk to Dollar Store.

And a small microwave is really handy when you feel hungry late at night and don't want to go out.

Now, trust me, I'm picky too... the window curtain appears slightly broken, but hey, you have no secret to hide, right? So, no big deal. I say, go for it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank justagoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We asked for a non smoking and he assured us it was. The room stunk so bad! The window was busted out(probably becouse the last people couldn't stand the smell!). The ac window unit was built into the back wall and didn't have a cover. We stopped in the middle of the night and thought we had no other options. The shower curtain was covered in mold. In the daylight we discovered the paint was pealing and the curtains were barely hanging over the windows. We paid for 4 ppl and they would only give us 2 towels. Just aweful all the way around! I wouldn't even reccomend this dump to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeachandHomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

There are not a lot of luxuries, but it was clean enough. not moden, good for prices, close to downtown, every thing nearby, i am stay agan, staf is very kindly,

Room Tip: top corner room is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank komal d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel twice in a week, as it was halfway on my motorcycle trip from GA to PA, was only $48. Is it old? Yes. If you post up pictures, will someone ask you why you decided to "vacation in the 1970s"? Yes. Yes, it needs some work, and the smoking rooms smell like they've been smoked in for the past 50 years, but the paint in my room was fresh and overall it was actually very clean. Bath and light fixtures were new(ish) and clean, the linens and bed were clean. Bed was a little stiff, and the TV was old and picture grainy and red, but hey it worked. A/C was also nice and cold, the internet was free, wireless, and halfway decent, and the owner/manager/front desk guy was really nice and accommodating. Would I stay here for a week? No. But for one night stay, just to rest and be refreshed, it's definitely worth it for $50. If you want Marriott quality, go stay at a Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadMadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton Ma
Level Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Paid $48 and even THAT was too much. Just flat out a dump. Old , rotted wood. Ceiling falling...no reason to say more...I stayed here because I couldn't find anyplace else and it was late...My mistake...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimfromDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

First, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! We left after the first 10 min. Smelled like mold. The style was not modern and very ugly. The reason we stayed the first 10 min was to go to the bathroom. The staff was very rude and found out that we left over an hour later they were definitely not watching after us. All in all, if you need to go to the restroom don't pay $55 to go stay at a rest stop.

0 Stars

Room Tip: Make friends with the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AppleMac1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Property: Budget Inn
Address: 304 W Main St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2948
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing