We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tastes great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Due South Pit Cooked BBQ

Due South Pit Cooked BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tastes great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

First of may times I will go! I have lived in area and have never stop. I have been missing out. Its different kind of place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avenjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    119
    35
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
372 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Ok so this is not fine dining but this was the best BBQ I have had! Each of us had something different. But everything from the hush puppies to the pork was out if this world!

You definitely have to check this little hole in the wall out!

Helpful?
Thank Hawaiiantraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

So freaking amazing! Pulled pork is to die for. Fried apples, Mac and cheese and hush puppies are deff too three must try!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Live music & great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was late and we were hungry on a Friday evening. Looked up reviews for local eateries close to our office park hotel location and headed a few miles for this well-reviewed BBQ joint. Pleasantly surprised when we walked in....guy with an acoustic guitar was playing for a sparse crowd. We had the brisket....tender and sweet. Great BBQ and live music....what a treat!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bighairproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Roadside BBQ Joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Coming through the front door, diners may be turned off by looking at the remains of earlier diners dumped in a barrel bound for the compost pile and a bucket for used utensils. Being roadside, with limited parking and nestled by a trailer park with no noticeable wood pile leads one to sense only gas or electric smokers are used. Service is almost nonexistant. It's wait yourself. I had the 1/2 rack rib special. The Cole slaw was good. The three institutional hushpies were bland. The ribs were tough and over sauced, killing any taste. There was resistance in the meat, but again the sauce got in the way. Partner had the pulled pork sandwich which was more than enough for one sandwich. Some bark inside but more than one bite retreived fat globes. Over-all an average joint. This place has potential.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PRMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Due South Pit Cooked BBQ also viewed

 
Christiansburg, VA
Christiansburg, VA
 

Been to Due South Pit Cooked BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing