We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant in interesting setting”
Review of The Farmhouse

The Farmhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Farmhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Farmhouse is proud to return to the New River Valley under new ownership and management. The Farmhouse is a casual fine dining restaurant featuring Certified Angus Beef steaks and Premium Seafood. We have private restaurant seating, a full lounge and bar with an extensive selection of beer, wine, and spirits, and a brand new courtyard to enjoy the beautiful outdoors. A portion of the courtyard is enclosed and heated for winter time dining. Our Banquet Hall and Private spaces are equipped to accommodate anything from small business meetings and family gatherings to full scale wedding receptions, rehearsals, and graduations. Come join us here at The Farmhouse where we are much more than just a restaurant!
Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in interesting setting”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The restaurant is in an old farmhouse. My son loved the setting. The food was very good and the service was attentive. I was hesitant to go there but I am glad we did.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarylandMdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    34
    23
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have been here for for multiple holiday dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and each time I walk away with the same feeling: This is overrated

There are times where other restaurants in Christiansburg are so crowded and this is a good option that others may overlook but it is overlooked for a reason. I dont think we have had a meal here that we were really impressed by or felt that we could not get anywhere else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Odd Experience; Odd Place”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We made reservations and we were asked if a booth was OK. Well, we had never been there, so it seemed like it should be fine, but it was a very dark wood booth with high walls in a hallway. There were table next to ours, but you couldn't see the people, which isn't necessary bad, but it felt odd. Also, the waiter couldn't see us unless he walked right up to our table so he never had any idea when we needed refills or were finished with our meal. The restaurant is in an old building with many hallways, so finding the restroom was interesting. There was no one at the front when we entered, so once again, we had to wander around to find the right person so we could be seated. Then there is the food. Mainly it's a steak house and we were all interested in such. However the steak was not seasoned, the vegetables were over cooked and the potatoes were wrapped in foil. (not bad, per se, but a sign that it's not an upscale place) and our NY strips were $28. Sorry, way too much for that type of food at that type of restuarant. I gave it 3 stars because the quality of the meat was good, the french fries were good (so says the kids), the waiter was nice and tried. We won't be back, though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamallama09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very unusual restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place has its tables in what used to be horse stalls. So, most every table is in effect in a small private room. The food was terrific. Service was excellent -- very attentive. A little pricey. I had the ribs which were great. One dinner companion had prime rib. She said the taste was great but it had quite a lot of fat on it. Their French Onion soup is a speciality and very good. Their on-line menu doesn't have prices listed, but expect to pay high $20s to mid-30s for a main course. Appetizers were reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnAshburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Local Crowd”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My co-worker and I stopped in for a couple of cold beers after our first night in town. It's down a side street next to the recreation center. It was karaoke night so there was a decent draw of folks and a lot of fun. My only regret is that we didn't stay to eat - everyone said the food was locally produced and terrific! Grrr... NEXT TIME! Oh, and one thing we thought was odd... It was a Friday night karaoke thing, so they wanted a $3 cover charge. I told the guy we just wanted a beer @ the bar and he let us stay w/out the cover charge but I felt rushed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungryMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmhouse also viewed

 
 
 

Been to The Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing