We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icky, ick, ick!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shayona Inn Extended Stay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shayona Inn Extended Stay to your Saves list
Shayona Inn Extended Stay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Bristol Drive SE, Christiansburg, VA 24073 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Icky, ick, ick!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The female manager was very friendly - she was the best thing about the place which is in extreme need of being fixed/updated. The male manager guarded the ice machine, which was clearly the best thing about the place: it must have worked, or he wouldn't have guarded it! The waffe house is across the street so that was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkstsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Altoona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

stayed here overnight on drive back home. the only 2 complant I have is the suicide lane and the road hard to find to turn. 2nd one is -all you have to do to check out is leave room key in room or on the front counter. lots of places to eat within 5 min of hotel. waffle house accross street, wedy's, hardees, ruby tuesday. turn left from hotel and go under bridge you'll find a olive garden and denny's, texas BBq place. clean room

Room Tip: after going under the bridge,go slow. the road you need to turn is at the end of the BP gas station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank civilwarloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

First couldn't find the place, behind car dealership, wish we hadn't. When we checked in, key machine broken, every time we had to enter our room had to go find desk person. Rooms were in bad shape, and most people staying there were long term day laborers. Will definitely find another place next time we're going through southwest Virginia.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Old and dilapidated would be an understatement. Bed was uncomfortable. Furniture broken. TV ancient. Loud, smelly. Simply a place to avoid. Did I mention overpriced?

Room Tip: Avoid the place entirely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here following a VA Tech game- so this would never be our first choice to stay, but did in a pinch because of our last minute plans.

This is a motor lodge- pull up to the door type hotel. Noise wasn't an issue for us as we came in late from the game and went right to sleep.

We almost broke our ankles coming in and out of the room because of the step up into the room and the step out of the room sends you flying - so be very careful !

Besides a roof over your head - plan on pillows that are along the same lines as a sandbag.

The water pressure was very low- can't imagine we all took showers at the exact same time, we were up early to drive home.

Towels were of poor quality-- more like heavy duty paper towels.....

The room was clean so that was a plus.

The hotel served its purpose- just beware if staying there this is certainly a budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amylkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Run-down and poor overall. AC was not on when we got to our room, so it was hot. The door barely opened, you really had to shove your shoulder into it. The beds were fine, bathroom was small, tub handles turned in same direction, which was a bit tricky. Breakfast was very poor, you pressed the handle for apple juice and all you got was water. The TV remote control was from the 70s. This place is a really cheap motel, and it needs major renovation.

We slept fine. Friendly waitress at Waffle House across the highway.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

First off, this is as no-frills as you can get. There wasn't even a clock in the room. The bed wasn't very comfortable at all. There was a microwave and fridge in the room. It was a king room, actually quite spacious. It was fairly clean. All the rooms are ground floor, parking in front of the room. That was convenient as I had 2 dogs with me. Easy access to I-81, food available handily in the neighborhood. Internet access. The place looks old, and could stand to be updated. If you need bare bones sleeping accomodations, this will do. Just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. They do have breakfast, but since I don't partake, I can't tell you how or what it is.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#8 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shayona Inn Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shayona Inn Extended Stay

Address: 100 Bristol Drive SE, Christiansburg, VA 24073 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Shayona Inn Extended Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shayona Inn Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Christiansburg
Christiansburg Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing