We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just terrible”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I was traveling alone with my puppy, after driving 13.5 hours driving home from MS to PA. I was issued a room in the 2nd building last room on the end. I travel often alone & all the hotels Ive stayed once they learn I am alone they issue me a room close to the lobby for my safety. I had to park at the 1st building because of no parking in the back then walk to my room with my personal belongings and the pup. There were men staying there apparently working in the area that were drinking & carrying on outside. I get to my room the carpet was so messed up it was even pulled up by the door. The wiring was totally a fire a hazard. See pictures attached,

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angielirette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

We've ever stayed in. Don't be fooled by the lower price and pictures. The hotel looks unkept when you drive up - we would have left then if I hadn't had a reservation. Rooms are small and the service is extemely poor. The grounds appear unsafe to include backpackers camping in a vacant property across the street. The service was so poor the hotel couldn't provide any extra towels except a couple of pool towels. The extra money for a roll-away bed was a joke - the bed couldn't be opened in the room the room was so small. The roll-away mattress was so old you could feel all the springs in it. Take our advice and drive by this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Traveling south on 81 and needed to rest for the night. This hotel was convenient to the highway, lots of food options nearby, and it was clean and safe and just what we needed. Other than less than great water pressure in the shower, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

After reading the previous reviews I thought I'd "take one for the team" since from the outside it looked like the motel had been through some renovations. 2 story property, all exterior rooms, no elevator. Lobby had been renovated and was very nice. Check in was quick and easy, requested a ground floor room and that's what I got. Room was very clean, had obviously had a makeover. Carpet was clean, but loose in places. The clerk told me that carpet replacement is next on their to do list. Refrig, microwave, hair dryer. A rather worn recliner but the rest of the furnishings were in good condition. Wi-Fi internet worked very well. Pillows and mattress weren't as firm as I would have liked, but were OK. TV was fine with a decent selection of stations. Breakfast consisted of 2 types of cereal, coffee, juice, donuts, toast. Enough to get you going in the morning. There's a Waffle House right next door and several restaurants within easy driving distance. Overall a good stay, a very good value for the dollar. Just for an overnight stopover I'd have no problem staying here again. The clerk did tell me that not all of the rooms have been renovated yet, so if you don't like what you see you might try asking for a different room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Ordinary room. Poor breakfast. Barely comfy and clean. Smelly. Your low standard hotel by the highway. The one you catch when you are too tired to look somewhere else. Expensive for what it's worth.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Well we were comin home and stopped at this econo lodge only for the night what a let down. the only good things were the pool and the staff were nice enogh. When we first got there they gave a a smoking room which we asked for non smoking. we called the front desk and they said "sorry we forgot to tell you" so we were pretty turned off by that. The rooms did look clean so that was another upside. But there was a drunk guy in the parking lot who was acting weird and threating to beat everybody up SCARY RIGHT so we called the front desk and they told the police who never came down and the drunk guy ran away in his car probably not the most smart thing. The whole place looks more like a motel than a hotel. Also cont. breakfast so small they only serve donghnuts and juice. I would not recommend this hotel or even as I call it motel.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelReviews411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I went to pick up my son from VT for the summer. Most nearby hotels almost doubled their rates for that week. Econo Lodge was a couple of miles further out, but their rates were very good. Too good is what I thought, but I thought I would give it a shot. I was impressed. The room was clean and very large. It had a microwave, fridge, and an outdoor pool. The room was very clean. It has exterior hallways. The breakfast was a minimal continental. The wireless was excellent. My only real complaint was with the room keys. There is a problem here that they attribute to cell phones and credit cards, but I think it is something else. The most I ever had a card key work was twice, then I would have to go to the front desk and have them re-key it.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WxProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
260 reviews
9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
249 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Christiansburg
Days Inn Christiansburg
#10 of 14 in Christiansburg
373 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2430 Roanoke St., Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range: $46 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge hotel in Christiansburg is easy to find, easy to book and easy on your wallet. We're conveniently located near Radford University. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our pet-friendly Christiansburg discount hotel, some of which include: Dixie Caverns, Montgomery Regional Hospital, Dedmon Center, Roanoke Regional Airport, and Virginia Tech. You can also easily get to Jefferson National Forest and the New River Valley Mall. We offer an experience that simplifies travel, as well as amenities that will meet your budget like: Free Easy Starts continental breakfast, Free WiFi, Seasonal outdoor pool, Free coffee, and Restaurant. Each guest room offers a coffee maker, TV and more. Hate hunting for outlets when you’re at a hotel? We make it easy with convenient outlets at the night stand in every room. This Christiansburg hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Make travel a little easier on everyone by staying at the Econo Lodge hotel in Christiansburg. We’re an easy stop on the road and a great place to stay, all at a great rate. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiansburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing