We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay and like it as before”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second stay and like it as before”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

my second stay and will be back again. It was a nice stay for the price paid. Front office and hous keeping stuffs were very friendly. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast is not that big but I can understand it's econo lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    19
    11
    27
See reviews for
44
30
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent the night of 07/05/2014. The room and facility was very clean. Looked like everything had been recently updated. The bed was very comfortable and the AC was one of the best we have had in motel. Had to set it on a low setting all night...very unusual for us. We asked Brendan at the Front desk for a Restaurant recommendation, he gave us one and it was wonderful BBQ. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy3hamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The sleep is the best. No noise and the place smelled good, good mattress but costs are obviously being looked at closely as evidenced by a couple large holes in the blanket, the mini fridge freezer needed defrosting for me to get a small refreeze ice pack in it, there was a mess in the walkway which needed attending to but was never noticed by mgmt, cigarette butts in the walkway up and down the walk in front of the rooms, a phone not working because it was plugged into itself and housekeeping never caught it, all clocks had been removed some time ago -again saves a lot of money but a real inconvienience as it's used more than setting an alarm in the morning. This is the usual motel we've experienced thru out America as the take over owners have redefined how little will be given to the guests as in , well, look at what used to be given for breakfast compared to what is currently given. It's pathetic. One good thing is the coffee was almost drinkable for me but I thru it out. Years ago most motel coffee was great. Here it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Always check out the room first for what you want out of a good nights sleep, i.e. a working TV remo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion Station, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed in this motel April 26, 2014. Woke up 2 am to find I had bite marks all over me. After showering I slept in the car the rest of the night. When talking to manager he denied the complaint. I have a medical report verifying they were bedbugs. This is the only place I stayed away from home. If this is how they respond to people that come to their town 4 to five times a year and need a place to stay, then I recommend you to stay away. Especially after getting off the phone with him to look at past reviews. I notice a lot of flagged reviews on their sight. But this one reports a similar incident in 2013. It is obvious they are not serious in taking care of this problem or their guest. They only care about the money. We also found rice in a bowl still in the microwave the next morning before leaving.

Room Tip: Don't stay at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A good nights stay in a comfortable bed, in a clean room, with good internet, and plenty of hot shower water. For a good price! The manager helped me out by printing a doc I needed from a fwd'd email!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel was fine for the price. They didn't promise fancy, and we didn't expect it. They provided clean sheets, friendly people, and good coffee. The room was clean and did not smell. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in this motel on October 8, 2013, room 121. After checking in at 8 pm, I laid down to sleep. Around 1am I woke up with bites all over me! Tiny black specks were on the top sheet. I first tried to phone the office, using the room phone. The phone had so much static I could faintly hear a ringing, let it ring a long time, no answer. I got dressed and walked to the office; I told the clerk about the bites and even showed the ones on my arms. His response was basically “people who stay in these rooms bring bed bugs in and there is nothing we can do”. My response to that was of course; “wrong answer, unless this is a self service motel, it is simply your responsibility to insure your beds are not infested with bugs or fleas, plain and simple”. I was given another room.
I could not sleep after being bitten, bites were welting. I went to the front desk at 6am and asked for a receipt and asked to see the manager. I was told the manager is the owner, Kabir Uddin, and that he was out of town.
I made contact with the owner the following Friday by phone. His response was simply amazing. He said he had heard of my complaint and he had PERSONALLY checked the room for bed bugs and found nothing to support my claim. When asked what qualifies him to inspect, he simply said he knows what to look for. Then he said “therefore I do not believe this happened”. I was shocked to hear that! I told him that I was not trying to get a refund, only to let him know of the problem. He was rude and defiant.
I assured him I was reporting this to the County Health Department. I did file the complaint with the Count Health Inspector. I strongly advise anyone reading this; do not take the risk of staying at this motel. All this motel owner had to do was to accept responsibility and tell me he would make sure the problem of bed bugs were addressed, but he refused to do even that. DO NOT CONSIDER STAYING AT THIS ECONO LODGE IN CHRISTIANSBURG, VIRGINIA!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PilotDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
250 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
235 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2430 Roanoke St., Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge hotel in Christiansburg is easy to find, easy to book and easy on your wallet. We're conveniently located near Radford University. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our pet-friendly Christiansburg discount hotel, some of which include: Dixie Caverns, Montgomery Regional Hospital, Dedmon Center, Roanoke Regional Airport, and Virginia Tech. You can also easily get to Jefferson National Forest and the New River Valley Mall. We offer an experience that simplifies travel, as well as amenities that will meet your budget like: Free Easy Starts continental breakfast, Free WiFi, Seasonal outdoor pool, Free coffee, and Restaurant. Each guest room offers a coffee maker, TV and more. Hate hunting for outlets when you’re at a hotel? We make it easy with convenient outlets at the night stand in every room. This Christiansburg hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Make travel a little easier on everyone by staying at the Econo Lodge hotel in Christiansburg. We’re an easy stop on the road and a great place to stay, all at a great rate. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiansburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing