We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Room was clean & comfy. Housekeeper, Sandy, found a coffee pot for our room. The wi-fi was a little wonky. The floor lamp bulb was burned out, one bedside lamp had no place to plug in. The breakfast "claim to fame" is 3 kinds of Krispy Kreme donuts. No eggs, no fruit, only one kind of bread and a small toaster.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    15
    10
    24
See reviews for
30
16
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were here for an event and stayed three nights. My room was clean, the bed was comfy, the bathroom redone. Can't complain. It looks like the bad reviews, and there are a lot, are old. Maybe it changed management? I don't know but I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our room was very clean and fresh smelling, the bed was comfortable, and they put us in the back building that was designated for pet owners. There is a large, grassy field behind the hotel that was great for walking our dog. The continental breakfast provided hot and cold cereal, choices of juice, a variety of breads and pastries, and very good coffee. The desk staff could not have been more accommodating. By using my Choice Hotels and AAA memberships, the room was extremely affordable.

Room Tip: Select back building if you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRPATTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's old and nasty. Poorly maintained. And an overall ripoff. The next town is not much farther, keep going.If for some unfortunate reason you do end up here the mexican food down the street is pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardensville, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were in the area attending a high school football game, and decided to spend the night. We went in with a coupon from the visiting center. We were greeted with the "we can't honor this coupon, Virginia Tech has a home football game tomorrow....(Although the hotel was half empty.....and VT was playing Austin Peay!!!!!). So the $40.00 coupon shot up to $80.00 even when they honored AAA. The front desk gentleman was very nice, but we were greeted by another individual who saw our West Virginia plates on the car and said we "had no business there." Anyway, concerning the room.....the mattress was very thin, you could almost feel the box spring under your body. The sundries in the bathroom were almost nonexistant. The air conditioning was excellent. We did not use the swimming pool because the water was brown. The continental breakfast was very sparse...cereal, instant oatmeal, doughnuts, orange juice. The internet service was so slow I gave up. The maid was extremely nice and, in spite of everything, we left a tip. To be honest, I probably will never be in the Chistiansburg area again, but if I am, I will not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Pretty nasty place really. Sorry, but that's my gut feeling. But what really bothers me is that when I think of the place we stayed the nights before (Radisson, Carteret, NJ) for only about $10 more/night than this fleabag I just cringe.

Now, I'm not saying it's the worst ever hotel I've stayed in. It is tolerable, we slept and had no nasty shocks or anything. But it's really not a good place to stay. However, the area around the hotel is not bad at all. Kinda generic interstate-exit area and walking distance to a Waffle House and near a Ruby Tuesdays. I won't say much more - they were able to accomodate 3 roooms for us and no one really HATED it, but we were happy to leave too. I didn't have reservations as I was trying to go as far as possible that day and this exit happened to also be near VT that we wanted to visit so it sufficed. At, say 50/night it would be about right I guess and the area isn't dangerous or anything like that. But expect a fleabag-style old hotel (with a nice lobby! If only we could stay in the lobby!)

Room Tip: Here's a tip to help travelers choose a good room: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1BlueDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is horrible. We checked in at 4am we asked for a 1pm check out. We called the manager to comfirm in the morning he was so rude and said we need to be gone by 12pm. The room was bad it smelled like someone had died in it. There was hair all over the pillow cases. The air didn't work well. U r better off sleeping in your car. BEWARE STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tgrace3997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
17.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
19.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2430 Roanoke St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiansburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing