We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the nicest stay...”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Wardensville, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not the nicest stay...”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were in the area attending a high school football game, and decided to spend the night. We went in with a coupon from the visiting center. We were greeted with the "we can't honor this coupon, Virginia Tech has a home football game tomorrow....(Although the hotel was half empty.....and VT was playing Austin Peay!!!!!). So the $40.00 coupon shot up to $80.00 even when they honored AAA. The front desk gentleman was very nice, but we were greeted by another individual who saw our West Virginia plates on the car and said we "had no business there." Anyway, concerning the room.....the mattress was very thin, you could almost feel the box spring under your body. The sundries in the bathroom were almost nonexistant. The air conditioning was excellent. We did not use the swimming pool because the water was brown. The continental breakfast was very sparse...cereal, instant oatmeal, doughnuts, orange juice. The internet service was so slow I gave up. The maid was extremely nice and, in spite of everything, we left a tip. To be honest, I probably will never be in the Chistiansburg area again, but if I am, I will not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    18
    11
    26
See reviews for
40
28
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Pretty nasty place really. Sorry, but that's my gut feeling. But what really bothers me is that when I think of the place we stayed the nights before (Radisson, Carteret, NJ) for only about $10 more/night than this fleabag I just cringe.

Now, I'm not saying it's the worst ever hotel I've stayed in. It is tolerable, we slept and had no nasty shocks or anything. But it's really not a good place to stay. However, the area around the hotel is not bad at all. Kinda generic interstate-exit area and walking distance to a Waffle House and near a Ruby Tuesdays. I won't say much more - they were able to accomodate 3 roooms for us and no one really HATED it, but we were happy to leave too. I didn't have reservations as I was trying to go as far as possible that day and this exit happened to also be near VT that we wanted to visit so it sufficed. At, say 50/night it would be about right I guess and the area isn't dangerous or anything like that. But expect a fleabag-style old hotel (with a nice lobby! If only we could stay in the lobby!)

Room Tip: Here's a tip to help travelers choose a good room: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1BlueDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is horrible. We checked in at 4am we asked for a 1pm check out. We called the manager to comfirm in the morning he was so rude and said we need to be gone by 12pm. The room was bad it smelled like someone had died in it. There was hair all over the pillow cases. The air didn't work well. U r better off sleeping in your car. BEWARE STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tgrace3997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I will not use your service again. I booked my room online, only to find out it would have been $20.00 less if I had just walked in and paid the regular rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is one of the worst MOTELS we have ever seen. We walked into the room and it smelled like smoke, dog, mold.... I immediately began sneezing and went to the front office to inform them that we could not stay in the room. They did nothing to correct the situation and refused to issue a refund for both of the two nights that we were scheduled to stay. Not clean, walls had stains and poorly patched drywall, mold and dirt in bathroom, old and tattered linens. Do not stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: Please find another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here for a V-Tech graduation. The reviews were off putting but it was reasonably close and the price was right. There are 2 buildings-we were in the rear. Although they were booked solid we never heard outside noise. There are no indoor hallways. I was fearful of the carpet before arriving yet it was nicer than other pricier hotels. The room was spacious, no complaints about cleanliness. Our room had a microwave and refrig-both operational. There is a free newspaper daily in the reception area. Breakfast was donuts, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, bananas, apples, juice coffee and milk. Hey what do you expect for the low price? Everyone was friendly. There were 4 pillows on the bed but you will only get two sets of linens for 2 people-i.e. no extra towels. Pool not functional. Too few tables in dining area. All in all, the stay was surprisingly pleasant. I felt we received more than what we paid for.

Room Tip: Choose the building in the back for a quieter stay and ask for first floor so you don't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pittwildfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

All things considered, room was not awful. A bit musty but clean. Continental breakfast sparse but good for dieters!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faulkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
240 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Christiansburg
Days Inn Christiansburg
#11 of 14 in Christiansburg
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2430 Roanoke St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiansburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing