We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveler rating
769
213
49
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
769
213
49
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild horses ocean city visitor center state park national seashore ocean side roam freely week pass biting flies bring bug spray senior pass crab entrance fee beautiful beach natural beauty tent camping off season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here while camping on the State side. We went to the crabbing program. It is crab and release which was comforting for our daughter. The Ranger gave a good presentation and provided all of the equipment. We quickly started catching crabs and it continued throughout our time there. The Rangers were also available when needed. It was one of the highlights of our trip - we wish we had time to do more of the programs offered. The visitor center was also very informative.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank jayneg635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a much better value than other beaches in the area. $20 for a week or free with a Golden Age pass etc. Lots to see and do. Action for kids like how to classes from canoeing to crabbing and a bunch in-between.

The horses are wondering around but heed the advice pictures from a distance. They can be aggressive and downright dangerous.
Come early on the busy summer days as it can fill up and you won't get in.

Clams are more rare to get without a boat to go out beyond were everyone else goes. Mussels on the other hand are easy and plentiful and you can get quite a few in a short time. Crabs in MHO in 30 years of coming here never saw anyone get but a couple. Not worth the effort.

Come on down

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 347chuckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our group consisted of five adults and a seven-year-old. We planned for sometime to primitive/tent camp on the beach. We read all the tips for camping on sand and all were experienced campers. Almost nothing we were told or read prepared us for this adventure. If you choose to attempt this here is what we determined to be important. 1) Carrying everything through the sand from the parking lot to your tent is exhausting. Take only basics. Don’t plan to set up housekeeping. You need a tent and a sleeping bag. Your tent should be small and sturdy and easy to set up in Gail force winds. Take plastic grocery bags to use as sandbags to hold your tent down. Don’t bother with baby powder or brooms for sand, plan on it being everywhere. You will need a flashlight, minimal clothing, possibly a chair, sunscreen, and bug spray with DEET. Plan on eating out of a cooler to avoid needing firewood and everything necessary to cook. Storms at the shore are unpredictable and often pass by however if severe storms are forecast stay elsewhere. In our experience we fought wind to set up 3 tents. Spent a lovely afternoon and evening with the ocean and horses. Went to sleep listening to the surf but woke up to a raging storm that destroyed two of our 3 tents. We finished the night out in our cars, retrieved our belongings in the morning, threw the destroyed tents dumpster and booked a motel. Considering the intensity of the storm I was surprised that the Rangers did not do a wellness check in the morning. Oh yeah, I had thought sleeping between the dunes would have offered more protection but when sun set the mosquitoes there were terrible. We intend to try it again but with a different mindset and equipment.

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank juppole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

We came for the beach and had the added bonus of seeing the horses. The beach is fantastic, with hard packed sand making it easy to walk for miles. Did not experience any bugs during our visit. Arrived before 10 AM and had our choice of parking spots. When we left at 2 PM people were circling the lot for spots. Great shell collecting beach. One of the better beaches we have experienced. Water is perfect for boogie boarding. You can rent nice Tommy Bahama chairs for $10 and umbrella for $20.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Can’t go to Ocean City, MD without a trip to Assateague to see the horses. Such. Peaceful spot to view free roaming horses. The kids and adults will love it!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank junecpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews