We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Best fish tacos we've ever eaten”

Right Up Your Alley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Food Truck Serving Brazilian and Mexican food!
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I had read about Right up your Alley on TripAdvisor so we gave it a try. What can I say... clean kitchen, nice staff, awesome food with the freshest of ingredients. We had fish tacos, french fries,
guacamole & chips so delicious. We told some friends about Chincoteague Island and the ponies and said you have to eat at Right up your Alley. They stopped and enjoyed it immensely. We all
can't wait until next year when over vacation trip takes us through Chincoteague Island. It's 7 hours from our home - otherwise we'd be back for more sooner. Tip.... take it go and enjoy it across the street at the park or bring it to the beach with you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunshinesmiles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Thank you for that very gracious review. While Trip Advisor is an excellent source of information for people in general, we are extremely flattered that you would even mention and recommend us to your friends when discussing your vacation on Chincoteague.

Taking your food across the street to the town park is an excellent tip, especially if you have young children.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and personal recommendation.

Humbled,

Geno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 235 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a food truck restaurant serving up Mexican food beside an alley. The alley has comfortable benches and stand up tables with umbrellas so you can eat your food there or take it with you. The food was delicious. I especially enjoyed the fish taco. I would recommend this restaurant for lunch or a casual dinner.

Thank soulonthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Thanks for stopping by and trying our fish tacos. We're pleased that you enjoyed them and humbled with your recommendation.

V/R

Geno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The food is delicious, but the wait is ridiculous. Yeah, you are making it all fresh - we get that. Now get this: look at the line waiting to get in. Figure out the percentage who order fish tacos or chicken burritos or whatever. Then throw the food on. Food trucks are famously fast as well as good. Also have drinks and salsa available while people wait. Then you will prosper ( and we want you to prosper).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frequenttravails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Firstly, thank you for the compliment on the food being delicious.

Now to address wait times, we struggle in this battle daily, it is indeed our nemesis. While your suggestions have merit, please refer to the review titled "BUMMER", that situation occurred by making assumptions of our top selling items you mentioned. A disaster not to be repeated.

I can't accept degraded quality over quantity and neither should you.

Providing chips, salsa, and water to our waiting customers is a great idea and we've also considered this. It's just that there's a cost associated with this that needs to passed on to the consumer. I try to keep our prices as low as possible by keeping the overhead low. But I am still considering the pros and cons. Further comments from future reviewers will determine the value of it.

Thanks for your suggestions and patronage. (We want you to be happy patron)

V/R

Geno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This was just what we were looking for after a long drive to the island from NY. The truck has vegetarian options for me which makes me give it some browny points. Servers are polite and knowledgeable . Loved the concept of having lunch while seated in a neat and clean alley.

Thank Raindrops10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

I genuinely want to express my gratitude to all the reviewers who take the time posting about their visits with us. We take everyone's experience to heart so that we may continually improve our small operation. We sincerely value your critiques.

V/R

Geno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Great new edition to the island! After eating dinner elsewhere one night we stumbled upon this amazing Mexican food truck off of Main Street. After sampling a few of their tacos, we were hooked! One of our new favorite take out places....must try anything with the carne asada or pork! Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alirags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thanks for trying us out and reviewing us, however, we're still operating as RUYA 1.0, next year we'll launch the RUYA 2.0 edition.

(Sorry, I have to have some fun with these responses)

Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Geno :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Right Up Your Alley also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Right Up Your Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing