We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and comfy place to come back to after a day...”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
side view porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Front of house
side view
porch
bedroom 2
eating area
kitchen
kitchen w/granite counters
bathroom
bathroom
entry
living room
master bedroom
master bedroom
bedroom 2
bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chincoteague Island, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BoardingP...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and comfy place to come back to after a day at the beach.”
Reviewed September 30, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cute little neighborhood off Main Street. It's an easy walk to the shops and restaurants downtown. Of course, the main attraction for us is always the beach at Assateague. We did have a strange little problem with the touchpad front door lock that Nick addressed for us right away. Can't wait to visit again!

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2018
Thank you for the kind words. We are always happy to help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location near town and quiet area.”
Reviewed September 4, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Nice location walking distance to town and to the pier for fishing. Located on a quiet street. House was cozy and decorated nicely.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2018
Thank you for staying. Fishing is free from the two town docks :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C
1 review
“Poor maintenance”
Reviewed August 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We enjoyed our stay and overall the house was adequate and convenient for enjoying the town. The low rating is due to quite a few maintenance issues.
- The doors do not open and close properly. They are so difficult that some people would likely have difficulty opening them in the event of an emergency.
-Ceiling sagging in the main living area
-Shower head not properly attached and leaking
-Threshold in main bedroom not attached. (My 3 yr old tripped on it and sliced her toe significantly).

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2018
Thank you for the feedback. Many items have been addressed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanniytow...
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The minute we opened the door we were disappointed. There was a strong musty odor and trails of ants through the dining area and kitchen. Drooping ceiling tiles in multiple areas. We were afraid we might get hit in the head by a falling ceiling. Water damage and smelly mold in the shower. We had to leave the bathroom fan running continuously to manage the smell. We never used the screened porch. It was covered in spiders and has a lovely view of the neighbors hvac unit. Dishwasher wouldn’t latch closed to wash dishes. Leather sofas very worn. Really poor air quality. Many deep ditches all along road. You feel like you’re on a bucking bronco every time you drive in and out. I would not recommend this house to those visiting Chincoteague.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. This is a house not a hotel. There is great value in staying ,as in your case two hotel rooms would have been necessary with an au pair(nanny) in tow. Unfortunately we need to rely on people for housekeeping and maitnanance. Both are extremely hard to find on the island. Many things have been addressed such as the light in the kitchen that was slow to turn on,one of the issues you asked about. Spiders outside are out of our control. There is water damage in the shower.There is no mold. The previous owner used board paneling in the shower. What the guest thinks is mold is actually wood. This guest did email me and I did respond to her to offer housekeeping to return as they may have done a poor job. The guest didn't respond to my email. Therefore no chance was given to remedy the situation. We strive to make the house as clean and comfortable as possible. Damages may occur from guests especially during the busy summer season. At these times it is difficult to address. I am sorry for the experience that you had as we strive to have every guest happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camie L
1 review
“A+”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

It was great little place for getaway all the appliances are up to date an nice kitchen. The ac works great so that's always a plus. within walking distance of the ropewalk for when you cant drive too haha

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2019
Thank you for staying at Bayside Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllBonn
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, cozy, and comfortable”
Reviewed May 24, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
3
people found this review helpful

I rented this house initially with the idea of just me being there (to cover a rocket launch), but had 2 close family members join me for most of my near week-long stay. And how we all loved it! The house is far enough from the main street to hear not a thing, but close enough to town and bayside views to walk, dine, and see sunsets. There was little road traffic, and the neighbors were quiet. The kitchen had everything, right down to salt and pepper shakers. Other amenities and aspects we enjoyed and appreciated were the screened in porch, fast wifi, comfortable seating in the living room and spacious dining area, and having full size laundry facilities. Booking, checking in, and checking out were easy and trouble-free. I recommend this rental, not only to TripAdvisor members, but to my friends and family, and when I return to the area, I'll be looking first to rent here rather than even consider a hotel or other rentals.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2019
Thank you for the kind and well written review. I hope that you got to see the rocket launch. We would welcome you anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was a good location, very close to a lot of stores and attractions. Very cute layout, with a stocked kitchen, screened porch, and a lovely breakfast nook. The beds and blankets were comfortable and it was nice to have the washer, dryer, and coffee maker. The only issue was that one of the upstairs beds has a metal frame and was horribly creaky which made it hard to sleep. The slats on the bottom of the bed would fall out too, which can be very startling during the middle of the night. The dishwasher took a little finesse to get it to work, you have to push in just the right spot for the latch to activate.

Overall a very pleasant stay, my family and I had a wonderful time in Chincoteague and visiting Assateague, so many nice things to do and see.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you for the feedback.We will address the bed frame soon. Thank you for staying at Bayside Retreat come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing