We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain Barry is the BEST”

Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Barry'sBack Bay Cruise is an INTERACTIVE skill building experience. We are a floating classroom, a research vessel with HANDS-ON FEET-WET lessons. One of the many things we do is get off the boat on the sandbars to go DIG IN THE MUD FOR CLAMS. Maybe we can catch some to eat. Then it's back on the boat to cruise to a crabbing spot where you will Pull CRAB-POTS on board to identify and see the days catch. If you have the courage I will teach you how to HOLD A CRAB without getting pinched. Navigating our way to Shell Island Beach, we stop and get off the boat for some SHELL COLLECTING than back on the boat for Capt. Barry's favorite activity... hunting for jellyfish. we will then HAUL in the trawler net and will see that it is full of Marine life and sea creatures.... this is always a challenge! Time to slow the boat down to enter the shallow waters.... how many birds can you identify? we use all of our senses-SOUND,TOUCH,TASTE and SMELL- to make our cruises informative and fun. They are is never any pressure always lots of fun.. you can relax, sit back on the boat and be the official photographer, or you can get into it. This is the real deal to get your hands dirty and feet wet so you will experience the life of a Chincoteague Waterman.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Bluemont, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Captain Barry is the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've taken both Champagne and Wildlife cruises with Captain Barry. He never disappoints. He has an incredible professional and personal knowledge of the island. Captain Barry knows everything there is to know about the locals, wildlife, and geography of the island. Money well spent!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cat2268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forget the pony tours and live a little.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went to Chicoteague last minute. No real plans. What to do? Ummm...what's a sea life expedition? It's an adventure you will never forget. I took my son, his girlfriend, my husband's 4 yr old great grand son, and my husband on this trip and we had a blast. Captain Barry was full of knowledge which he willingly passed on to us. Made me realize how much we take for granted. We saw so many little critters, from shells to crabs to clams and birds. I will always treasure holding jellyfish and sinking in "quick sand". For those of you who say yuck to nature, this is a hand's on experience. Go along and take pictures and I bet you'll end up doing more. There is something for everyone to enjoy. Loved the personal touches and can't wait to go back with the older grandchildren.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank faithburton731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Champagne attracted us, skill and knowledge impressed us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The 'champagne' made this Sunset Cruise stand out from the others as an attention grabber. Even if there had been no champagne, we think we chose the absolute best of all cruises. Captain Barry's knowledge and obvious care and concern for Chincoteague and the surrounding environment are evident and passed on to his passengers. He tailors the cruise to match his knowledge and the passengers' interests, mixed in with a lot of fun and liveliness. Certainly the true high-light of a day in Chincoteague.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joi_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful sunset plus great island info!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Captain Barry's Back Bay Sunset Cruise is fantastic. We had perfect weather and the timing of the cruise for the gorgeous sunset was right on target. Captain Barry is awesome. As we got a water view of the island and back bays, he shared all sorts of details about the history and culture of Chincoteague, and he had cold bottles of champagne that he poured generously!! Plus he is super nice and very funny. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
“Champagne Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked Captain Barry's cruise for a pre-wedding girls sunset cruise. We had such a great time and Captain Barry was terrific! It was a beautiful way to see the island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nshanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing