We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rodeway Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Chincoteague(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chincoteague Inn(Chincoteague Island)
$79
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages(Chincoteague Island)
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Waterside Inn(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Chincoteague Island(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$130
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Chincoteague Island(Chincoteague Island)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Refuge Inn(Chincoteague Island)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveler rating
68
121
55
34
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
121
55
34
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanhard boiled eggsmake your own wafflesstaff was friendlyfree breakfastnothing fancycomfortable stayright next doorfridge and microwaveair conditioneroff seasonyogurtponychincoteagueislandironponies
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 307 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I chose this hotel because they were dog-friendly and the location. This was my first visit to Chincoteague/Assateague Island. Firstly, the bathroom was not cleaned after the previous visitor. There were used soap bars and shampoo bottles lying around the shower. The walls are a barf-inducing pepto bismol pink and the bed sheets were stained. When my boyfriend and I drove up to the Wildlife Preserve, we were informed that NO PETS were allowed (not even if they stayed in your car!) When I made the reservation and said I had a pet, I would have expected the hotel staff to inform me of this before my visit. They did not. In addition, I was overcharged at check-out for a pet fee which they didn't tell me about upon check-in. Overall, terrible experience. Best thing about this place is the Homemade Ice Cream Parlor next door. If you are looking for somewhere to vacation, keep looking!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliAdventureSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2009

We do apologize for any inconvenience that you had while staying with us. We have a new housekeepers and they have assured us that type of problem you discribe will not happen again. Had we known at the time it would have been taken care of right away.

We are a dog friendly hotel and as other hotels we do charge a small non-refundable nightly fee. Our signs are posted on the top of both ends of our reception counter in plain sight. They state the charges and penalties for unreported pets. It is also noted on the registration form signed at check-in. Also, we understand the disapointment you must have had when you were not permitted to take your dog to the beach, however, the beach is on a National Seashore that is under the care of the Federal Government and no pets are allowed at all and it is ultimately the pet owners responsibility to ask about the rules.
Again, we do apologize and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to let us help you with your hospitality needs. Thank you for your understanding.
Sincerely
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for five nights as part of an Elderhostel event. The hotel was clean and undergoing renovation. Perhaps that is why the internet connection did not work in our room. We had to go into the office to get a good connection. When we asked for help we were told to call the provider.

Beds were comfortable and the rooms were kept clean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edshome41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2009

We appreciate and thank you so much for your comments. All of our guests are important to us and it is always nice when one gives us compliment such as you have. Thank you again, we hope we will see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Janet
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We booked a one night stay so I could visit a friend who lives on the island. We have stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites everytime we stay here. This was over the weekend of the oyster fest and when I went to book at Hampton, you had to book two nights. The Quality Inn was the only place that had single nights available.

The Inn looks nice from the outside. That's where it ends. The staff was nice. Check in was quick. Our room was ready at 2:30 when we arrived. We were taken to room 145 on the first level, behind the office off to the right. When we arrived, we first noticed the flooring around the window had no support and the floor was sagging. We also noticed a strong sewer odor in the room. Supposedly, the room was non smoking, but also stunk to high heavens of smoke. Someone left beer in the fridge, which was not noticed when the room was supposedly cleaned.

We left immediately to go to our friends house and alerted the staff of the floor/odor. When my husband returned an hour later to retrieve something from the room, he noticed a panel on the wall fell off and sludge seeping up into the floor and pouring out the wall!

We were then promply moved to room 211. Evidently, I did not have enough wine at dinner to prepare me for the "decor" of the room. Only thing missing were moose and deer heads from the wall. Someone tried to recreate a hunting lodge. Bad idea.

The bathroom was quite a surprise as well. You could not open the door without it hitting the tub and to get to the toilet, you had to either hunch in the corner while you closed the door or stand in the tub. I'm 5'6" and I had to squat to take a shower as the shower head is placed for someone who is ideally under 5 foot in height.

Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalbert74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2009

We are very sorry you were not happy with your stay with us in October. Unfortunately, the air conditioner was left on in the room you were given and because somehow the AC was leaning into the room and and not toward the outside, water was dripping on the carpet. As soon as the problem was realized we offered to move you. Your Husband was given the choice of another room just as you had reserved or be upgraded to a more expensive deluxe room with a cathedral ceiling, wooden beams & lined in cedar. After seeing each of the rooms he chose the very popular upgraded deluxe room. Again, we do apologize for any inconveneince you incurred.
We value all of our guests and sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were upgraded to a wonderful, beamed ceiling wood panneled room which we loved. The room was extremely inexpensive, which had us concerned, needlessly. All of the rooms seemed very good. The staff were extremely helpful, and kind. This place is well located, near attractions in both directions. The breakfasts were very good, although I would guess that the room would be crowded at busy times.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noralyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Janet, Guest Relations at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Your wonderful review is very much appreciated! It is always nice to hear good things...and we thank you! Sincerely, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed here for the Labor Day weekend. It was easy to initially book and the staff is extremely friendly. We brought along our dog, and this place is one of the few pet friendly hotels. After a sunset cruise and nice dinner, we got back to the hotel to find our A/C had stopped working. We called the front desk and someone came to our room immediately to try and fix it. Unfortunately because it was just about 11pm there wasn't much they could do. We were unable to move to a different room because everything was packed for the Labor Day weekend. They did provide us with fans and did discount our room to about half of the original price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gs7045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Janet, Guest Relations at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

All our guests are very important to us and we do our utmost to ensure they are comfortable. Some things are not always in our control and we do appreciate your understanding when there is a problem. Thank you so much for your nice comments and we hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews